We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very informative!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Roads Naval Museum

Hampton Roads Naval Museum
Ranked #12 of 62 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Monroe, GA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very informative!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the museum and especially the large IMAX theatre housed there. Excellent display of war birds and vintage space capsules. Seniors get a discount on the tickets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jds754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Naval museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I love military machines and history and this combines both. There are airplanes hanging from the ceiling, there are interactive stations for children, it is set up with plenty of space and amazing things to see. Never crowded and always interesting

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hampton Roads Naval Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a great place to visit in the winter since it s indoors. If you want to see and learn a lot about the Navy and ships, this is the place to be. This trip is good for a half day of reading and learning with props.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Monumental heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Owned and operated by the United States Navy it's located on level two of "Nauticus". The museum houses a rich collection of authentic uniforms, weaponry, underwater artifacts, detailed ship models and artwork.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HospitalityConsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blast To The Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I recently visited the museum and it was amazing learning and hearing and seeing what soldiers went through and experienced years ago. I had a amazing time learning some wonderful history. I love going to museums and every time I go I try to learn something new. It was amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Roads Naval Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hampton Roads Naval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing