We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My friends and I stayed in Virginia Beach over spring break and had the amazing opportunity to spend our last vacation day at the Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast. Lesley showed us incredible hospitality through preparing decadent meals and providing us with a comfortable and luxurious room to stay in. Lesley's hospitality comes so naturally, you feel as though you are simply staying with a close friend rather than a business owner. This trip was an amazing experience which couldn't have ended better than with us staying at this fantastic place. I would recommend the Freemason Inn to any and all of my friends and family! I definitely plan on returning again very soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sir York Suite, which was an incredible room--I recommend it to anyone who plans on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
28
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Oh My! What a wonderful Inn and perfect get away spot! We loved walking all over Norfolk from this great location and Leslie helped us pick two excellent restaurants within walking distance for our two dinners. After her amazing breakfasts, you only need dinner - I promise! She is a gourmet chef and her combinations are amazing!! We ate one breakfast outside on the patio - sooo lovely!! We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celebrateus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We always stay here when my husband gets home from deployment. Leslie makes a wonderful 3 course (!!) breakfast each morning. My husband and I hosted our rehearsal dinner there as well, and Leslie remembered 6 months later that I didn't like mushrooms. Love this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and I decided to stay at the Freemason Inn Bed and Breakfast to celebrate our first anniversary. When we travel, we love to pick locations that are central to downtown and activities so that we don't have to use our vehicle during the trip. The Freemason B&B was in a prime location for this. There is plenty of parking, and you are right next to public transportation via the rail ("the Tide") and steps away from the cobblestone streets of downtown Norfolk. Popular tourist activities are a few blocks away. The B&B is situated directly in front of the rail and a busy street, which does allow for some traffic noise. However, we hardly noticed it during our stay.

We stayed in the British Tea room, which is among the most spacious B&B rooms that I've ever stayed in. There is a beautiful fireplace and a bathroom with a massive jacuzzi. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great throughout the whole weekend. The air conditioning unit can be a little loud during the night and it leaked while we were there. There are large, beautiful windows that really brighten up the room (so bring a sleeping mask if you need it to be pitch black at night).

As other reviewers have noted, Lesley is a wonderful chef and the breakfast was delicious and filling. The breakfast table is large and bright, and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with Lesley and the other guests during our stay. We even ate outside in the nice backyard one warm morning. The house itself is clean, warm, and charming, and the backyard is perfect to enjoy a bottle of wine or read a book on the patio.

I'm not sure if it is because we visited so early in April, but there were hardly any people around, especially tourists. We spent the whole weekend walking around the cobblestone streets around the corner from the B&B and rarely ran into other people other than a few locals walking their dogs. It was very quiet, relaxing and romantic. We loved our visit to the USS Wisconsin - a volunteer named Greg went above and beyond to answer all of our questions and take us around the battleship. It was amazing. The Pagoda is also steps away as well as tons of restaurants and historic houses. There is a walking tour of 35+ victorian houses that you can view as you walk a few blocks near the B&B (including the Hunter Victorian House that you can tour for $5). The streets are very easy to navigate.

For dining, we recommend 4-5-6 Fish - the food was incredible and reasonably priced. We also liked the atmosphere in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The British Tea room did have slight A/C unit noise and traffic noise from below. Large bay windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I did not stay here overnight, but I did use one of the guestrooms for a wedding. The interior is very nice and the decor was gorgeous. They had it decorated really nice for Christmas. They served food as part of the reception and it was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquaphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were married on October 13, 2012 at the newly renovated Freemason Inn Bed and Breakfast. Lesley, the innkeeper, did a phenomenal job catering our romantic, Parisian inspired brunch. Every detail was carefully crafted to our own personal taste and desire. We couldn't have asked for a more grand experience on a small scale. The Inn is a quaint, accomodating, Victorian b and b centered right in the heart of historic downtown Norfolk. Our family raved over their b and b experience at Freemason and we could not have chosen a better place for them to stay for our wedding weekend. They enjoyed Lesley's creative, delicious array of foods for breakfast. My wedding party stayed with me the night before in the Wishing Oak suite, the largest room at the Inn. It was quiet, cozy, and has a view overlooking the beautifully landscaped courtyard. The bed was comfortable for a good night's rest before the big day. I want to do it all over again :) The rooms are spacious, clean, convenient to entertainment and food is literally steps away with a small grocer around the corner. Within a mile radius of the Inn is the Chrysler Museum of Art which features a glass blowing studio, Nauticus with the Battleship Wisconsin, MacArthur Center Mall, Harrison Opera House, and Colley Avenue and Granby Street feature upscale and casual dining, just to name a few. The Inn's location has a lot to offer without needing a rental car. There are several Tide stops, the rail system in Norfolk, all over if you prefer not to walk. Great value and offers packages for groups, anniversaries, holidays, etc. A real hidden gem!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and quiet despite being in the city. The Wishing Oak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We wanted time in the city to start our trip and see the waterfront, history and nightlife. We had all three and never started the car. Everything was closeby and we used the rail, The Tide, easily. All the ships to tour, the old streets and historic houses and the dance place and sports bars were great with lots of cute lunch places too by Leslie's recommendations. Our B&B was lovely, inviting and best of all, it had Leslie. She was a great host and she cooks some great food too. Flexible time for breakfast was nice. Glad we chose the beautiful Freemason Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#6 of 37 in Norfolk
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 411 W York St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step Back in Time…Cobblestone streets, quiet neighborhoods, tree lined walks, and breathtaking sunsets just a block away…and you’ll be at The Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast, a completely renovated turn of the century Victorian home, in the Historic Freemason District of Downtown Norfolk, Virginia.Centrally located in Downtown Norfolk, the Freemason Inn Bed and Breakfast is just a short drive from Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Portsmouth, Hampton, Newport News, Yorktown and Williamsburg. A stay at the Freemason Inn Bed and Breakfast guarantees that you'll be treated like part of the family, while enjoying a private suite beautifully appointed to suit the era, fully-equipped with fireplace and jetted Jacuzzi.Come, visit us at the Freemason Inn Bed and Breakfast. A truly delightful experience!We're Waiting for You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing