We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and consistent for Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Another time where I wish there were 1/2 stars and would have given this hotel 3.5 stars.
The front desk service was efficient but not hospitable. never made eye contact with me while checking me in and seemed a bit angry. The linens were very fresh and the hotel was clean. There was a lack of hot water and really did not get past lukewarm for a minute or two.
This Courtyard is consisted with others I have stayed at but I am still not a huge fan of the breakfast choices and I was not aware of any other breakfast choices in the immediate area.
Hotel was very quiet. Great location to the office buildings I was traveling to. Valet parking put a nice dent on the rental car and then denied it. no big deal but the experience is a sum of the parts. Hotel lobby was very clean. I would still recommend the hotel but there are some other options in the immediate area at Marriott or Sheraton. Good location to the mall and arena.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will personally look into the desk clerk service issue and will retrain them on making eye contact! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving your future lodging needs when in Norfolk.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 374 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

I loved the friendliness and helpfulness of the employees it made our overall stay 10x more enjoyable! The food at the little bistro in the lobby had absolute delicious food and amazing service as well. The valet was also very helpful and courteous! Definitely will be visiting again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamaster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We appreciate the feedback and will be sure to share it with our staff. We look forward to serving all your future lodging needs when in Norfolk.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Barbara and the entire staff at the Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown couldn't have been more wonderful! We had a large group of dancers and their families in Norfolk for a dance competition. Barbara offered and provided us with our own Breakfast Buffet each morning and each evening we were offered a large meeting room where we were able to come together with our group to review the day. We will be back in Norfolk again and this is the only place we will stay!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay. I will be sure to pass them along to our staff. We look forward to serving all your future lodging needs while in Norfolk.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The staff was excellent. They knew I had a hectic day and called to remind me that my late check-out time was approaching. They were happy to work with my schedule. Special thanks to Erica and Charleen!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzyhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us! I will be sure to pass them along to our staff! We look forward to serving all your future lodging needs!

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We searched for a reasonably priced hotel near Chrysler Hall and MacArthur Mall and found the Courtyard Norfolk Waterside. We would highly recommend it! Very nice front desk help; large, comfortable, and spotless room. And it was very reasonably priced. We will stay there again and recommend you do too!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom23vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our staff! We focus on providing exceptional product and service to our guests. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving all your future lodging needs while in the Norfolk area.


Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I wanted to like this hotel. The location is close to the Norva where my husband and I see concerts from time to time. The walk to and from the venue is managable and feels safe, even at late hours.

On the positive side, the location is great in relation to the Norva and the mall is right behind the hotel for food and shopping. The staff was friendly and responsive to our needs and the valet parking is a great bonus. I also thought the price was very reasonable. The room and hotel were both clean and comfortable.

On the negative side, there is no in room safe and very few safe boxes at the desk. I usually travel with my work laptop and need to lock it up when out of the room. I wasn't able to do that at this hotel because the few safe boxes that would fit the laptop were all taken. That is a deal breaker for me for business travel. I'll be more selective about what I bring if I visit this hotel again.The bistro food is very limited but I don't consider that a big issue with other food venues so close.

Finally, the hair dryer actually sparked when I used it and caused the room to smell like smoke. I called the front desk and they brought up a new dryer within 10 minutes and were very friendly and apologetic. I thought the staff was very responsive considering the late hour I had the problem.

I will probably stay again because the price and location outweigh the negative aspects for this type of trip.

Room Tip: There are some meeting rooms on the second floor so keep that in mind if you want to sleep late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amymjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate the feedback you have provided. I would like to personally apologize for the issue with the hair dryer and will immediately investigate this issue. I am glad to hear that our staff was responsive and friendly during your stay. Our goal is to be prepared when things like this happen and to quickly respond and resolve issues that may arise from time to time. I will be sure to share your experience with our staff members.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This Courtyard hotel is an average member of the chain. Although it was a nice, quiet hotel, there was not any one thing that I could say really stood out a good or great. Would I stay here again, yes, but it would not be my number one choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to provide exceptional service and product to all our guests. I will share your comments with our staff at our next associate meeting.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $102 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing