We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The staff was excellent. They knew I had a hectic day and called to remind me that my late check-out time was approaching. They were happy to work with my schedule. Special thanks to Erica and Charleen!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us! I will be sure to pass them along to our staff! We look forward to serving all your future lodging needs!

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    98
    67
    21
    11
See reviews for
70
64
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnsville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We searched for a reasonably priced hotel near Chrysler Hall and MacArthur Mall and found the Courtyard Norfolk Waterside. We would highly recommend it! Very nice front desk help; large, comfortable, and spotless room. And it was very reasonably priced. We will stay there again and recommend you do too!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom23vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our staff! We focus on providing exceptional product and service to our guests. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving all your future lodging needs while in the Norfolk area.


Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I wanted to like this hotel. The location is close to the Norva where my husband and I see concerts from time to time. The walk to and from the venue is managable and feels safe, even at late hours.

On the positive side, the location is great in relation to the Norva and the mall is right behind the hotel for food and shopping. The staff was friendly and responsive to our needs and the valet parking is a great bonus. I also thought the price was very reasonable. The room and hotel were both clean and comfortable.

On the negative side, there is no in room safe and very few safe boxes at the desk. I usually travel with my work laptop and need to lock it up when out of the room. I wasn't able to do that at this hotel because the few safe boxes that would fit the laptop were all taken. That is a deal breaker for me for business travel. I'll be more selective about what I bring if I visit this hotel again.The bistro food is very limited but I don't consider that a big issue with other food venues so close.

Finally, the hair dryer actually sparked when I used it and caused the room to smell like smoke. I called the front desk and they brought up a new dryer within 10 minutes and were very friendly and apologetic. I thought the staff was very responsive considering the late hour I had the problem.

I will probably stay again because the price and location outweigh the negative aspects for this type of trip.

Room Tip: There are some meeting rooms on the second floor so keep that in mind if you want to sleep late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amymjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate the feedback you have provided. I would like to personally apologize for the issue with the hair dryer and will immediately investigate this issue. I am glad to hear that our staff was responsive and friendly during your stay. Our goal is to be prepared when things like this happen and to quickly respond and resolve issues that may arise from time to time. I will be sure to share your experience with our staff members.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This Courtyard hotel is an average member of the chain. Although it was a nice, quiet hotel, there was not any one thing that I could say really stood out a good or great. Would I stay here again, yes, but it would not be my number one choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to provide exceptional service and product to all our guests. I will share your comments with our staff at our next associate meeting.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Courtyard is conveniently located in downtown Norfolk, blocks away from MacArthur mall (complete with a Nordstrom's and 18 screen theater), a great Starbucks and the Elizabeth River. The rooms are very comfortable (our favorite is 604) and the staff are friendly and accommodating. We have stayed at the Marriott downtown, which is just a few blocks away, but prefer this property better. Thanks to the staff, we had a great time.

Tip for travelers--avoid renting a car and paying $19 a night for parking; take a cab from the airport (~$25) and enjoy the trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the 8th floor and rooms close to the elevators (too noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and I will be sure to pass this along to our staff. Robert is truly an amazing associate and I will ensure he gets due recognition for his efforts. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a couple nights because we were seeing a show at the Norva and thought it would be fun to get away for a bit. I will say that the room was very clean and thank God for that because if you read my other reviews I've had some nightmares in the past.

When we could get someone's attention at the front desk, they were not rude but one night (and it was maybe 9pm) the woman had her head down in the back room. I couldn't tell if she was sleeping or reading People magazine but either way, couldn't she do that creatively behind the desk?!!

Perhaps I sound high maintenance but I really don't think it's a lot to ask for someone to be engaging and ask how they can help you. When we first checked in, the woman barely made eye contact. The valet guy barely spoke, it was as if the employees (all 2 of them we came in contact with, the rest of the time the place seemed deserted) were unhappy.
So that's my rant, but the room was nice and served its purpose.

One other thing - the pool smelled a bit odd. We stuck to the hot tub but the smell floated over there as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank acampion17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay. We strive to make every guest's stay as comfortable and accommodating as possible. I am personally investigating your concerns and will ensure they are addressed. I appreciate your feedback and please feel free to call me at 757-576-2374 to discuss further if you so desire. I reached out to you via email but have not received a response.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very pleasant hotel with great customer service. Room was large and comfortable, and there is a very nice living room-like lobby, with a small bar, that was great for socializing. Best part was the great staff. Very nice, friendly people who anticipated our needs. Good location downtown near MacArthur museum, Freemason Historic District, and MacArthur Center Mall. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable during their time with us. We look forward to serving all your future lodging needs while in Norfolk.

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#6 of 37 in Norfolk
115 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Property: Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing