We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Aussie stay at the Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
A TripAdvisor Member
NSW, Australia
13
Reviewed May 6, 2004

Having booked six months in advance, was pleased to arrive after a long flight, at 10.30pm, to a smile and recognition of my name. Our room was clean and well maintained and very comfortable. The staff were always pleasant and accommodating. We stayed for eight days and nights and enjoyed breakfast downstairs in the dining room. We ate dinner most nights in the dining room - the menu was probably a little limited for an extended stay but the food was plentiful and tasty and always served with a smile.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stayed - being central to the Macquarie Centre and the waterfront. A visit to the Nauticus and the Douglas Macarthur Memorial is a must.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 375 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2003

Just spent one night at the Norfok Courtyard. I don't know how old this place is, or if it was just recently renovated, but it is extremely nicely done. The lobby area is very handsome and the rooms are richly decorated. I can't agree with the previous guy's comments about the staff, as I found them to be quite friendly and helpful. The only negative comment I can make, and this is a matter of taste, is the bed.
It is extremely soft and anyone with back problems might have a problem with this. I did not sleep well, but would be inclined to try the hotel again when next in Norfolk.

5  Thank moodyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dover, DE
13
Reviewed October 28, 2003

I tried this hotel since it is new hotel in Noroflk but I will never be staying there again! The service is so bad with staff being so rude, rooms were so dirty and breakfast area was so unhealthy. I am not staying there ever again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2003

This hotel surpsassed my expectations of a courtyard in every way. The room is very well appointed with everything you would expect in a high priced downtown room including complimentary high speed internet service. There is a full service restaurant and bar which i decided to use since it was rainy and windy out and i wasn't up to walking.
(although there are many dining choices near by to investigate on my next trip). The quality and presentation of my meal was much better than I was expecting. All staff member were friendly and helpful. My only negative would be that many seemed to be a bit on the unpolished side as if they were new hires... but there intentions were always in the right place.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
McLean, VA
38
Reviewed August 24, 2003

After a terrible stay at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott, I felt compelled to write what a great place the Courtyard is to stay. The hotel is almost brand new. The beds are some of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The staff is great and room service is very dependable. While it doesn't offer all the amenities that a Marriott does (no bellhops or concierge), its far and away the best hotel in Downtown Norfolk. Currently, high speed Internet is FREE (for all those business travelers). Not sure if Internet pricing will change in the future.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob M, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $112 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing