We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints what so ever. Beautiful modern lobby.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Very straight foward, efficient hotel. Just a bit surprised that the only staff on the premises was the front desk and valet persons. Very helpful person (Robert) in charge at the front desk. I thought they could have had a person helping you to your room with the luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your recent stay here with us at the Courtyard Downtown Norfolk! We do not have bellman at this hotel but normally try and schedule additional staffing during peak timeframes to help guests with their luggage, etc. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 375 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I travel to Norfolk a lot and normally stay at the Sheraton. This last time it was booked. My Platinum Status with Starwood couldn't bump me in so I had to search elsewhere for a hotel in downtown Norfolk. I was quite impressed with Courtyard Norfolk, so much so that if it wasn't for my status would Starwood, I would consider switching loyalty to Mariott. The staff was as welcoming as any 5 star hotel, even stepping around the counter to hand me my key card. The rooms were very spacious and quiet for a downtown hotel. I really enjoyed the electronic board locating local attractions and the breakfast had many healthy options.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank TheWanderingGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay here with us. We pride ourselves in delivering superior customer service and comfortable accommodations. I would invite you to stay with us for all your future lodging needs. We would love to have you join the Courtyard family. If there is anything I can do for you, please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Wesley Dove
General Manager
757-963-6000 ext 6003

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My overall stay was excellent i would definitely refer my family n friends to stay at the Courtyard Marriott Downtown Norfolk va 520 Plume St. They whole staff was so nice to i couldn't of stay at a better hotel thanks everyone for ur excellent service. Sindella Colunio.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenya50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay here with us! We pride ourselves in ensuring that every guest has a pleasant and comfortable experience. We look forward to serving all your future lodging needs.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We decided to stay overnight in Norfolk on a Saturday so we could enjoy the Bayou Boogaloo music and food again on Sunday at Waterside Park. We booked a room at the Courtyard Marriott because the other two hotels where we had stayed in the past were already full. We were very happy with the Courtyard hotel, and will definitely stay there next time we spend the night in Norfolk. It was a bit tricky to find (our GPS must need an update, it told us to turn the wrong way on one-way streets) and we drove past Plume Street the first time, but easily made a U-turn and found our way to the hotel. All staff were efficient and friendly at the front desk and valet parking. Room was very quiet, clean, and comfortable. Nice to have a refrigerator! Bath was roomy and there was plenty of closet space. I didn't give it an "excellent" rating because the cafe has such a limited menu and the prices were too high. However, we walked a couple of blocks over to the Jewish Mother Backstage and had a great breakfast with Bloody Marys on Sunday morning. Plenty of excellent restaurants up and down Granby Street within easy walking distance. Hotel is within easy and safe walking distance of Waterside Park, the Scope and the National (sports and music venues). It's also right next door to the MacArthur mall with excellent shopping. There is also a big indoor pool and hot tub but we didn't have time to enjoy these amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with us. It is our goal to satisfy each and every guest. I regret that the price points in the Bistro kept you from eating with us. Our desire is to offer quality menu items at a reasonable price and easy accessibility. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving all your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Picked a great spot to start our vacation! We decided to get into our beach vacation mode early this year by stopping in Norfolk two days early. Court yard Marriott was a great pick! Service, cleanliness and location was perfect. Several things very close to do as well if interested. USS Wisconsin is close, Maritime Center as well. You can even catch a baseball game at Harbor Park and see the Norfolk Tides AA team play. Highly recommend this stop if you are looking for a great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay here with us at the Courtyard Downtown Norfolk. Our goal is to make each and every stay a memorable one! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We traveled to Norfolk to visit a critically ill friend. After a seven hour overnight drive, we were exhausted and needed a place to crash. The first hotel we checked was too expensive. After explaining our situation, the front desk manager referred us to Courtyard. I couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel! We travel frequently and by far, this was the friendliest staff we have ever met! Everyone from the front desk, to the valets, to housekeeping were so hospitable. We were constantly greeted with smiles and every need was met quickly and cheerfully. We were even given a discounted rate!

If we ever have to travel to Norfolk again (hopefully under better circumstances), we will definitely choose Courtyard!

Amy
Linden, PA

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aislyn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us about your recent stay at the Courtyard Downtown Norfolk. Our goal is to ensure 100% customer satisfaction to every guest. I am proud of our staff and will share your comments with them at our next staff meeting. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel was great- clean, comfortable, and friendly. The crappy Starbucks in the lobby is a different story all together. Expect lackluster, surly employees to serve you undrinkable coffee and charge you $6 for oatmeal becuase they know you don't have any other choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Our goal is to ensure every guest is 100% satisfied. I would like to personally apologize for the issues in the restaurant. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff at our next staff meeting and use them to better train our associates.


Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $111 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing