We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
180
118
76
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
118
76
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard marriott valet parking norfolk downtown front desk within walking distance room was clean macarthur mall granby street starbucks coffee lobby area uss wisconsin business trip enjoyed my stay convenient location tide waterside convenience
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 413 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice proper hotel, with all facilities available.
Bistro in the lobby is serving excellent breakfast and coffee.
Valet parking is very handy as well as the lobby market for late night shopping.
Rooms can be blinded completely for a good nights rest.

Room tip: All rooms are very good, however the city train could ring a bell off the hotel ;-)
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubbiedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments! We appreciate your business and strive to make each and every guest 100% satisfied. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff at our next staff meeting. We look forward to serving you again for all your lodging needs.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Marriott Courtyard for two days in May and truly enjoyed the convenience and proximity to our destination. Rooms and services were top notch and the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. It is close to everything of interest in Norfolk. As a handicapped traveler, I can state that their ADA accessible room was well appointed and close to the elevator and indoor ADA parking spaces. Management did a fine job of answering any concerns, so we are very pleased with our stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hello,

We are so pleased to hear of the wonderful experience you had at the Courtyard Norfolk downtown. We certainly hope to see you again when you are in Norfolk. Thank you for staying with us and the positive feedback.

Warmly,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

They had the most wonderful staff and the rooms were very clean! Also, the pool and fitness center were never crowded and very modern. I enjoyed the views of Norfolk from the terrace as well. I would recommend this hotel to a friend! I can't wait to stay again!

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyWaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi Ruby,

We really appreciate the positive feedback, so glad you enjoyed the nice views of Norfolk from the terrace. We thrive on exceeding our guests expectations and cleanliness here at the Courtyard!

Hope to see you soon at the Courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking for a great quality facility, with friendly professional staff - you've found it!

I handle the travel arrangements for our company, and I book many reservations. The Courtyard in Downtown Norfolk management team are great to work with - they handle all of our paperwork quickly and efficiently. The managers I book to stay here are always happy with their accommodations!

I would rate their facility and staff a 10 out of 10 hands down!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Dawn,

Thank you so much for the kind words. We love having your travelers stay with us. Thanks as always for using the Courtyard Norfolk downtown.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is a real mix of the good and the not so good. The hotel has a good location - proximate to a large shopping mall, downtown Norfolk and the riverside locations such as Nauticus. The staff are great - helpful, courteous and efficient. The rooms themselves are also fine, though there are not any 'views' one can recommend - the front of the hotel overlooks a large parking garage. The downside is the lobby - which seemed soulless in its attempt to be modern and, worst of all, the parking. It is probably best to just park in the lot across the street because the valet parking is a mess. Vehicles line up trying to get in and, during my 3 night stay, there was only ever one valet in charge. He was great but the system is a mess. If you need to go to your car for something - it's a problem. If you need to go in an out several times during the day parking becomes an issue. Just not the quality and ease of service one would expect from a Marriott. Overall I was disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714PeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Peter,

Thank you for staying with us while in Norfolk. i do apologize about the valet, we have met with our staff to improve this process. I am glad you enjoyed the location, the room and the staff.

We certainly hope you will stay with us while in Norfolk next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews