We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to stay in the city near the Waterfront (but not on it)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very nice hotel, sweetly greeted as we walked in, the valet was accommodating to allow us to temporarily park while we got stuff unpacked. The hotel is nice and new feeling, and very good value for what you get. We stayed only very quickly but the room and bathroom were very nice. Too bad the view isn't a little better.

In the morning checkout was no problem. The starbuck's express in the hotel leaves a little to be desired, but best bet is to go walking and find a more unique place for a meal.

Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquilaTheEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay here with us at the Courtyard Downtown Norfolk. We appreciate the feedback so that we can use it for training our associates on how to better serve our guests. We are currently updating our Starbucks menu to give our customers more options. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 376 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice proper hotel, with all facilities available.
Bistro in the lobby is serving excellent breakfast and coffee.
Valet parking is very handy as well as the lobby market for late night shopping.
Rooms can be blinded completely for a good nights rest.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, however the city train could ring a bell off the hotel ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubbiedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments! We appreciate your business and strive to make each and every guest 100% satisfied. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff at our next staff meeting. We look forward to serving you again for all your lodging needs.

Wesley Dove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Marriott Courtyard for two days in May and truly enjoyed the convenience and proximity to our destination. Rooms and services were top notch and the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. It is close to everything of interest in Norfolk. As a handicapped traveler, I can state that their ADA accessible room was well appointed and close to the elevator and indoor ADA parking spaces. Management did a fine job of answering any concerns, so we are very pleased with our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hello,

We are so pleased to hear of the wonderful experience you had at the Courtyard Norfolk downtown. We certainly hope to see you again when you are in Norfolk. Thank you for staying with us and the positive feedback.

Warmly,
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

They had the most wonderful staff and the rooms were very clean! Also, the pool and fitness center were never crowded and very modern. I enjoyed the views of Norfolk from the terrace as well. I would recommend this hotel to a friend! I can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyWaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi Ruby,

We really appreciate the positive feedback, so glad you enjoyed the nice views of Norfolk from the terrace. We thrive on exceeding our guests expectations and cleanliness here at the Courtyard!

Hope to see you soon at the Courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking for a great quality facility, with friendly professional staff - you've found it!

I handle the travel arrangements for our company, and I book many reservations. The Courtyard in Downtown Norfolk management team are great to work with - they handle all of our paperwork quickly and efficiently. The managers I book to stay here are always happy with their accommodations!

I would rate their facility and staff a 10 out of 10 hands down!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Dawn,

Thank you so much for the kind words. We love having your travelers stay with us. Thanks as always for using the Courtyard Norfolk downtown.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is a real mix of the good and the not so good. The hotel has a good location - proximate to a large shopping mall, downtown Norfolk and the riverside locations such as Nauticus. The staff are great - helpful, courteous and efficient. The rooms themselves are also fine, though there are not any 'views' one can recommend - the front of the hotel overlooks a large parking garage. The downside is the lobby - which seemed soulless in its attempt to be modern and, worst of all, the parking. It is probably best to just park in the lot across the street because the valet parking is a mess. Vehicles line up trying to get in and, during my 3 night stay, there was only ever one valet in charge. He was great but the system is a mess. If you need to go to your car for something - it's a problem. If you need to go in an out several times during the day parking becomes an issue. Just not the quality and ease of service one would expect from a Marriott. Overall I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Peter,

Thank you for staying with us while in Norfolk. i do apologize about the valet, we have met with our staff to improve this process. I am glad you enjoyed the location, the room and the staff.

We certainly hope you will stay with us while in Norfolk next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My relatives stayed here for my son's graduation from NSU. The convenience of being able to walk to the mall, close to the SCOPE and close to the interstate was great for them. Rooms and rates were excellent and everyone enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Good Morning,

Congratulations on your sons graduation! We are honored that you chose the Courtyard to stay while in town. Hope to see you when you are back in Norfolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $131 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Courtyard
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing