We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and polite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and polite.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I arrived late on a Wednesday night. Tired. Staff helpful. Surroundings safe. Went to suggested bar for dinner, serving food to 1:00 AM. Walked. Room clean, efficient, but not overwhelming. While the price was good, I did not appreciate the $19.00 extra charge for parking. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in the upper floors. The trolley is loud in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Robert H,

Thank you for your feedback, so glad you a great time in Norfolk!

We continue to provide the best price in the market for the valet service.

Hope to see you again soon!

Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    98
    67
    21
    11
See reviews for
70
64
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A thoroughly satisfactory stay at the Marriot Courtyard. Good sized rooms, excellent service and everything clean and tidy. One minor gripe is the "one-cup" coffee machines - OK for a single person (just) but would always prefer a pot.
Very convenient for the MacArthur memorial (for the historians) and the mall (for the shoppers)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chienvieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment and recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that the coffee didn't meet your expectations. Please consider us again for your future travel in the Norfolk area.

Best,

Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

During my 5 nights at the Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, I had many positive experiences. The service was great, the room was clean, and the location was perfect. However, some things were just frustrating, like the fact that parking is $19.00 a night, valet parking only. Bringing my total parking costs to almost $100!!! I hated to be forced to valet park. I would've much rather spend $9.50 a night to park the car myself. Also, skip the in house restaurant. Food was not good, service was slow, and D'egg Restaurant is right down the street and is easily 50 better (and more affordable).

I will be traveling back to Norfolk in two weeks, and I honestly think that the cost of parking will have me looking for another hotel to stay in. Considering I mostly stay in Marriott's when I travel, this is disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BToad2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on one of his business trips. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. The location is fantastic. The McAuthor Center mall is a block down the street. Many great restaurants are within walking distance. We do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwo4cabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Hotel was clean but unless you are staying for something specific downtown I just was not that impressed. Cox Communications was also having issues with delivery of television service and was of poor quality and pixelated. Normally Marriott International has a higher standard. Also if you want more than a thimble of the coffie they give you in your room before 6:30 am forgetaboutit! Some deal they made with Starbucks frowns on us business types who have to leave the hotel early in the morning to do our deeds and return late in the evening. You'd think a business hotel would get the whole brown speed thing.

Room Tip: I'd say higher up is better. I was on the 2nd floor and got a great view of a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aboxoffrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The problem with the cable company has been resolved. I apologize that Comedy Central was down during your stay. I’m really glad I was able to speak to you about this before you left and that we were able to get it fixed in 24 hours. I wish that it would have been working during your stay! Aside from having a Starbucks in the restaurant, we have the complimentary coffee in the rooms. We will make sure that plenty of extra coffee is available at the front desk to be sent up to early risers like you and I. I completely understand and appreciate the feedback! Thank you very much for your business and feedback, Tony Parrow, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I understand stuff happens, however, wall paper peeling off is not suppose to be happening at all. Im not sure if the staff doesn't know or care to fix, but wow, i expected more out of the room. also the agent was a tad stuffy. I understand the hotel is non-smoking, but seriously she didn't have to snub a simple question.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012freqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! I apologize for the peeling wallpaper. We are finishing up our fullscale renovation and the wallpaper is our final item. 95% of this is complete and we will be completely done in the next couple weeks. We truly appreciate your business and important feedback! -Tony Parrow, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Lobby was clean and redesigned.
Valet was slow but very nice.
The front desk was attentive, but not anything special.
I tried using the phone to call the front desk on 4 occasions, not once did it connect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown. I am glad that you found the lobby to be clean and a nice valet and Front Desk. I apologize for the issue with the phone in the room. I will make sure that this is something that we focus on checking each day. We sincerely appreciate your business. Have a fantastic day! Tony Parrow – General Manager, Courtyard Norfolk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#6 of 37 in Norfolk
115 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Property: Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing