We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I had read this before my stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
NYC area
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wish I had read this before my stay...”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I so wish I had read these reviews before our stay. While everyone here was very pleasant and competent, I have one major complaint. The beds were about the most uncomfortable I have ever been on. It is pretty obvious that the mattresses in our room should have been replaced long ago. As soon as we got to the room, I called the front desk and commented on the mattresses. They really were that bad. I was told that all the rooms had the same mattresses. If I had read these reviews first, I definitely would have insisted on a different room. We were in room 412. For me, comfort of the mattresses ranks second only to cleanliness. Hence the low rating. This hotel was very clean though and the staff was wonderful, except for the person who did not tell me that some rooms had been upgraded when I called to complain about the mattresses.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in one of the upgraded rooms. Avoid room 412 if it has not been upgraded yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OceansBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for the review. I'm glad you found the hotel to be very clean though and that the staff was wonderful. I sincerely aplogize for the mattress issue. All of our mattresses were replaced this summer. I will look today at room 412 to see if this mattress is defective. I can understand why this is so important and I can guarentee that it'll be taken care of. I apologize again for the inconvenience.

Thank you for your business!
Tony Parrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    97
    66
    21
    11
See reviews for
69
63
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
341 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night while on a business trip. The makeover has made the place look very nice. The location is good. Service was good. The room was nice as well. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hello! Thank you for the review. The renovation came out wonderful. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to be able to serve your travel needs again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at this location (for the second time) on the weekend of August 24, 2012. The hotel is located close to many attractions in downtown Norfolk with almost everything in walking distance. The front desk staff was always very helpful with providing answers to all my questions and giving directions to everywhere I wanted to go.

The Bistro had a nice breakfast selection (I enjoyed the healthy options myself) with lots of seating areas and booths with televisions. The lobby area in general was exceptional, has a business center, boarding pass area, Market with a large selection of snacks and lots of seating areas.

Room exceeded my expectations, very comfortable bed, sofa, computer desk and chair. Room had wired and wireless internet available, flat screen TV, mini-fridge and all the standard things you would expect in a hotel of this level.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbertgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We were glad to have you back for the reunion again. I’m so glad that everything went well for you during your visit. Until next time! Tony Parrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The service was excellent and the staff was extremely helpful and they truly possessed ideal customer service skills. We held a family Reunion at the Courtyard and my family said I made a great choice in choosing the Courtyard. The food was superb as we had a Banquet in the MacArthur room. SERVICE WAS PROVIDED WITH A SMILE!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello! Service with a smile is our favorite way to work. The team truly enjoys what they do and I’m excited that this was reflected during your family reunion. We hope to host you and your family again in the future. Thank you very much, Tony Parrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have now stayed at this hotel on several occasions. They remain consistent with the exceptional service provided here. From the staff at the valet area (Josh) to the front desk (Erica) to the manager (Tony), everyone was attentive to my needs and delivered quality service. The room was very clean with nice luxurious bedding. The overall facility was beautiful with a lovely area on the first floor for meeting/greeting friends or colleagues. They also had a nice dining area for light breakfast or sandwiches throughout the day. I love Marriott properties and I will definitely return to this location again and again. Thank you, Tony, for exceptional customer service!!!

Room Tip: Try the suites; lots of room and really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SummerTime65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! You mentioned Josh who is a former winner of Valet of the Year for the City of Norfolk and Erica who is one of our biggest assests. I’m really glad that everything went so well for you during your visit. We look forward to serving your travel needs again in the future! Tony Parrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

What a nice surprise. This hotel has been renovated and my room was just wonderful. Quiet and clean. And the bed was so yummy comfortable. Had a great night's sleep. Wil definitely return . Staff people I encountered we're all super nice. Three cheers for Marriott.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank K1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello!
As an avid TripAdvisor user, your review means a lot! Thank you for the kind words. I’m glad that you found the bed to be so comfortable! We look forward to serving your travel needs again soon!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I won't be coming back to this hotel again. I came here for work and they have been renovating a room across the hall. It has been a week of loud hammering and electrical grinding. When I asked for this to stop or a different room I was told they were trying to resolve the problem and i could not have a different room. Only when I complained a second time did they stop. Very inhospitable and unpleasant customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are at the very end of an extensive room renovation. The final rooms are being completed and unfortunately we had to chip away concrete for about an hour and a half this week to finish a room. I’m really sorry that this wasn’t completed faster and that we did not get them to stop the first time you mentioned it. We tried to complete this during the middle of the day to have the least impact on our customers since the hotel is at its least capacity during this time. I can certainly understand why this was frustrating to you.

The renovation has turned out amazing. As you stated, the lobby and rooms are very nice. We now feature Courtyard’s Refreshing Business lobby concept (designed to give travelers the flexibility to work and socialize however they choose while on the road), and completely renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms, corridors, fitness center, and pool.

The open, bright and contemporary new Courtyard hotel lobby welcomes guests with vivid contrasting colors, including blue, green, orange and red. The traditional front desk is replaced with separate welcome pedestals to create more personal and private interactions when guests check in. This will allow staff to move about to show guests the lobby features and provide assistance. Flexible seating options range from a communal table in the middle of the action, to more private media booths with high-definition televisions, to a more intimate, semi-enclosed lounge area.

A signature element of the new lobby is the exclusive GoBoard technology, a 52-inch LCD touch screen packed with local information, maps, weather, and news, business and sports headlines. Guests can navigate using the touch screen to find restaurants, local attractions and directions.

Guests can connect to free WiFi, and there are ample electrical outlets throughout the lobby to power digital devices. The enlarged business library features several complimentary computer terminals along with a free printer and separate computer stations dedicated to printing airline boarding passes and checking flight status.

Dining has been completely redesigned with The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.; offering casual, flexible seating; easier access to food and higher quality, healthier menu options for breakfast; and light evening fare, including snacks, wine and beer so guests can unwind. The Market, a 24/7 shop for snacks, beverages and sundries, is always open for late-night cravings or the toothpaste you forgot to pack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Property: Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing