We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

For the most part, I enjoyed my stay here. All of the staffers I talked to were very helpful and nice.

I did, however, have a friend who stayed in another room during this visit and was awaken early in the morning by the loud bells from the light rail system, which is very close to the hotel. I, however, did not hear it. I did receive an email from the manager after my stay apologizing if I heard the bells and assured that he's been told that those bells will decrease in frequency as the people and the city get used to the system. If you're a light sleeper, I would suggest that you request a room as far away from the light rail system as possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RegePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    95
    63
    21
    10
See reviews for
68
61
20
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I travel often and wish every hotel that I stayed at was like this one. I recently stayed at the Courtyard Norfolk Downtown on business and was so impressed with the service that I returned to the area and stayed this week with my family. The staff did not disappoint. The front desk and valet went out their way to direct us to some great local restaurants and entertainment that we would not have found otherwise. They printed out directions for us and recommended what times to go to avoid traffic. Our room was very clean upon arrival and the housekeeping staff took the time to talk to my 4 year-old which thrilled her and one housekeeper even remembered her name the next day. We ate breakfast each day at the restaurant and were pleased with the prompt and friendly service. The valet was also very efficient with getting our vehicle for us and we never had long to wait. I don't normally post reviews but when a business is doing all the right things, somebody should say something and get the word out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel is beautiful, clean, and affordable. They are centrally located to everything in down town Norfolk. They provided me with valet parking, a very friendly front desk staff, and even allowed me to check in early as I had arrived ahead of schedule. I have been to Norfolk several times and have stayed at different hotels in the area, and this by far is the best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatDuffy997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I was in town on short notice for the weekend. They were available at a great price. The hotel is in the heart of downtown Norfolk, walking distance to a myriad of things to do.
The staff was always upbeat and smiling.
Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scot1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Although I have stayed at Marriott Courtyards in the past, the Marriott Courtyard in Downtown Norfolk Virginia exceeds any previous experience.
The entire staff from the valet's to the management were hospitable and a joy to deal with.
As our wedding anniversary occurred during our stay, I arranged a small reception for friends and family. Without hesitation the staff performed a miracle and made it memorable.
They are without a doubt the most friendly, courteous and professional group of dedicated persons that I have ever had the privilege to know.
THANK YOU EVERYONE AT THE MARRIOTT COURTYARD DOWNTOWN NORFOLK!!!!! .

Room Tip: Pick the 5th floor for it's access to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark48564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hello!

It was so much fun having you guys at the hotel! I am so glad that it worked out so well. Hopefully your dads amazing Naval history is shared with the world! By the way, Happy Anniversary again! What a fun time. We hope to have you as our guests again in the future.

Tony Parrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I was in Norfolk this weekend (Sep 16-18 2011) for a Navy reunion and decided to stay at the Norfolk Courtyard. This hotel is centrally located to everything in downtown Norfolk with the new light rail across the street. My room was impeccable and cleaning staff did an exceptional job. The front desk staff was very professional and went out of their way to help. Tara and Kayla were exceptional with giving me recommendations and answering all my questions. They also showed me how to use the Go Board. I have seen them before but never knew you could use them to get directions.

For the lobby I was impressed that you could print actual boarding passes. The Bistro has a great selection and was the perfect way to start my day not to mention having a great staff also. The business center area is in a central location that allows for privacy and people watching at the same time. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the Tidewater area that wants to be close to many attractions but not pay tourist prices.
Gerald Gilbert

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbertgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hi!

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Courtyard Norfolk Downtown for your Navy reunion. Tara and Kayla are rock stars and I am so lucky to have them on the team. The Go Board is pretty cool isn’t it! I am glad that the Bistro met your needs too! We look forward to the 2012 reunion and any other visits you may have to the Hampton Roads area!

Tony Parrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed in hotel Sept 7 and 8th. It was clean and convenient to all downtown. Nina (hopefully spelled right) was there at every turn with a helpful smile and actions to match. Would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49463Vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hello!

Thank you for your business! I am really glad that Nina and the food and beverage team were able to exceed your needs! We look forward to your next visit!!!

Tony Parrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Property: Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing