We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute must see”

Victory Rover Naval Base Cruises
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NAVAL BASE CRUISES ABOARD THE VICTORY ROVER. Your front row seat to the Naval Fleet. 2 Hour Narrated Naval Base Cruises depart daily from Nauticus, home of the Battleship Wisconsin. The Captain provides a fascinating and entertaining commentary aboard this Coast Guard inspected vessel. Cruising the smooth waters of the Elizabeth River you will see the sights of one of the world’s busiest sea ports including the world’s largest naval base, home of the Atlantic Fleet: Destroyers, Guided Missile Cruisers, Submarines, Aircraft Carriers and more. Up to 150 guests enjoy plenty of comfortable seating, air conditioned enclosed deck, open air shaded upper deck, snack bar and souvenir shop. $20 Adults, $12 Children. Summer Schedule (June – August): 11 a.m., 2 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. daily. Spring (April-May) and Fall (September-October): 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. daily. 5:30 p.m. available on certain days. March, November and December: 2pm every day but Monday – 9:30am Inland Waterway Tours on Select Days
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Absolute must see”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I will say that this is a must see. One of the most interesting tours I have been on in. You see examples of every navy ship up close, with excellent guides. I don't see how you could get much closer unless you are actually in the navy. For the $20 it was money well spent. Very thorough.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Deltraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    48
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very informative cruise!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great way to see the harbour! The captain had something to say about almost everything we passed. Lots of information about the history of the Norfolk area and the Naval Base. Bundled it with entry to Nauticus and the USS Wisconsin, which made it that much more affordable!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tbweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun and informative!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our four kids on this tour today. It was well worth the money spent. The information provided about Norfolk, Portsmouth, and the naval ships was very informative and interesting not only to us but to our kids as well. You definitely don't want to miss this!

Helpful?
Thank ctet0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great View of Norfolk”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I thought this was an informative and thorough way to see this great port city. The boat is comfortable and has an open air deck as well as climate controlled interior space. The captain knew the history of the area and the many naval ships as well. The crew were very friendly, talking with passengers and answered any questions. They made sure everyone enjoyed their tour. This was my second time taking out of town guests on the tour and will do it again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imsothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“See OUR Navy”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our visit was on a cold blustery day. The Victory Rover was a stable craft with plenty of places to sit inside as well as outside. The Skipper knew his ships and told us about each one as we went past it. I was so impressed with the tour as we went by about 20 major warships including Distroyers, Subs and an Aircraft Carrier. Some were in huge dry docks either being repaired or updated. The voyage gives one a very clear view of this major nautical area which has many shipping docks as well as the Naval presence. If you like ships this is the place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ProvenExponent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Rover Naval Base Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Victory Rover Naval Base Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing