We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for a one night stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
759 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Just fine for a one night stay....”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Older hotel that could use some room updates, but fine for one evening. Staff made the stay above average on that aspect. Service in the morning in restaurant was really nice. They offered a nice buffett and menu ordering.

One of the few Holiday Inn's I have been in that actually has a bar past 9pm!!

Pool was extremely small - not a place to stay with family if you are looking for pool time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear orreo5859,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    45
    15
    14
See reviews for
61
23
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
visalia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Probably the most polite and personable wait staff, housekeeping,shuttle service and front desk I have ever had the opportunity to be with. All had a wealth of information on sights to see and wonderful places to eat. Very clean and well maintained. Good location near the airport but not so close that air traffic was a concern. Definitely the place to stay when in the Norfolk, VA area

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor front and weren't bothered by either airport or street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john15018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
John15018,
We are so pleased to hear about the wonderful experience you had at our hotel. We have taken great pride in being able to give our guests a positive experience, not only in our hotel, but our city. It is nice to hear that our recommendations are well received and that you found them helpful. Also, thank you for adding the tip about the fifth floor, I know some of our guests will find this useful.
We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stranded in Norfolk for two days on our way home from Florida to Chicago. Once we found out that our flight was cancelled I used trip advisor to figure out where we were going to stay. Based on reviews, and free shuttle I chose this Holiday Inn and Suites and boy was I glad.

Shuttle was there to pick us up asap. We had 9 people and 12 pieces of luggage and we all fit in the large van just fine. Excellent cookies and lemon water in the lobby for free. (we were starving and thirsty!) Our shuttle driver, Caesar recommended several restaurants and places to go, so once we got settled in our 3 rooms Caesar shuttled us to a steakhouse... for free. He then came and got us, with a very small wait on our part, and dropped us right back off at the hotel. Excellent man, and very knowledgeable of Norfolk.

Rooms were clean and extra cot was brought up immediately on request. Breakfast the next day cost 6 of us 15$ including tip. I didn't get the woman's name who ran the restaurant but she was super friendly and helped us out with the cost.

The next morning, based on Caesars recommendation they shuttled us to the nearest light rail station ( $3.50 for an all day pass ) and headed down to the water front and took in Nauticus, a very nice naval museum. Held interest for all of us... ages 9-47. We spent a few hours there and then walked to the mall and took in a movie. Had dinner at the mall, took the light rail back to the station and waited for the shuttle to get us again.

We had 3 drivers, all of which were very courteous and helpful. Front dest was always accommodating.

Thank you to everyone at this hotel for making Norfolk a successful unplanned stop!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaubow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Gaubow,
It is not easy to be stranded somewhere. We are so happy to know that we made your situation the best it could be. Our staff is so pleased that you were able to get around downtown Norfolk. We hope that it was enough to bring you back for a personal vacation. There is so much more to see and we would really enjoy seeing you again in the hotel.
Let us know if there are anymore recommendations you would like on your next trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hotel Location: Holiday Inn
Confirmation or Cancellation Number: 66009418
Check-In Date: Dec-25-2013
Check-Out Date: Dec-31-2013
Comment Type: SUGGESTIONS_COMMENTS
Spoke With Management: Yes
Comment: I have already brought this matter to the attention of the Hotel
Manager, Bruce, but nothing was done. He only apologized. We stayed at this
hotel for a week. Our reason, so that my husband could spend Xmas with his
6 year old little girl that currently resides with her mother in Norfolk.
He only gets to see her once a year during xmas but we have to travel from
Houston to see her. This is our second year staying at the Holiday Inn. It
was terrible. The room keys kept going out, we had to keep recharging them
at the front desk and when we did, we would get a 5 minute lecture about
how to treat the room keys so that they wouldn't mess up again during our
stay. The pool chemicals were way off. Too strong. We missed out on
swimming for 3 days because of this issue. We finally got to swim on the
28th. We tried to swim again the 31st at 5:30am but all the doors were
refusing the room key cards. Front desk said that the doors need to be
reprogrammed and that an electrician was coming to the hotel to work on
that but they were not sure when they would be in since it was New Years
Eve. The front desk clerk, Amber, was very rude to us when explaining the
situation. She even continued by belittling us and complaining about her
personal life and how she had to work on New Years Eve. We didn't need to
hear all of that. Also, during our stay, we noticed maintenance men
sleeping on the couches in the lobby area and asking us for money. We are
going back to Virginia in Xmas of this year again to visit my husband's
daughter but this time, we are going to be staying at a different hotel
that is probably not even under the IHG umbrella. We are very disappointed
in our recent stay at the Holiday Inn Select Hotel Norfolk Airport, 1570 N
Military Hwy Norfolk, VA 23502 The only people that were wonderful to us
were April in H/R and Lindsey in the Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebeelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear beebeelc,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Making a quick trip to Norfolk, VA. on family business I wanted somewhere to stay that was near all the places I had to visit. The Airport location was perfect for all the places we had to go while there. The Hotel staff was first class and the rooms were nice and clean. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again on any return trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhais28374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
jhais28374,
Even though it was a short trip, we appreciate your feedback. Cleanliness and guest service are so important to us and knowing that we have succeeded in this area, make our staff proud. We hope that in the future you will be able to experience the wonderful sites of Norfolk and we are able to accommodate your overnight needs again.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEWOOD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very comfortable and well appointed. Very, VERY clean. Found traffic in town surprisingly heavy, but hardly the hotel's fault. Desk & other staff were above and beyond helpful.Hot breakfast buffet was delicious and wait person Lauren juggled so much responsibility so artfully. It was a pleasure to watch a true professional-gracious, efficient, sensitive to accommodating several visually impaired customers at a time and all without missing a beat for excellent service to all.
My only complaint was the dreadful bathroom hardware of the Mansfield brand push button toilet. Found it difficult to accomplish the button push on one try and NOISY to boot. Unbelievably noisy for a hotel situation. Somebody did a heck of a snow job to sell these to a chain. Hopefully it is discontinued. I can not imagine how someone with arthritis could cope with that push mechanisn. As others mentioned, alot of stuff (Target/fast food) nearby but not necessarily upscale in any way. We dined a wonderful meal at the Chop House but that was a bit of a distance away. Well worth it. The airplane noise from the near by airport was not a problem at all, much to my surprise and relief. I would return without hesitation. Beds comfy. TV was annoying to negotiate but so many hotel ones are. Fire alarm kept tripping one evening and the story it was 'being tested' didn't match the annoyance it created. Found the wifi annoying and disappearing, too. But overall, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay. We are glad that the service and cleanliness overcame some of the other issues you encountered. The toilets can be hard for at times and we apologize for the troubles.
As far as the smoke detector, it was actually alarming us of a battery needing to be changed. There are no excuses as to why we continued to let the alarm bother you throughout the night. We apologize and promise that in your future stay, there will be no issues.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, clean hotel. The suite has a balcony. Wedding packages are also available. The staff was awesome! If you want snacks you may want to purchase them before you arrive, a small bag of chips are $2.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elabosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Elabosha,
Thank you for the wonderful reviews. We work very hard to think of all the little things guest want need or want during their stay. We are so happy that you found our little store convenient and satisfying.
We look forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
Address: 1570 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. The Holiday Inn Select Norfolk Airport, Virginia is easily located only two miles from Norfolk International Airport and central to every city in Hampton Roads including Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Norfolk Downtown. The prime location is near several office and industrial parks, including Lake Wright Executive Park, Norfolk Commerce Park and Norfolk Industrial Park. Local companies include: Boeing Norfolk, Northrup Grumman, Booz Allen Hamilton, CMA CGM, HDR Engineering, USAA, Zim Shipping and Nextel. Nearby government facilities comprise of Little Creek Amphibious Base, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station and the Norfolk Naval Station and Shipyard. Other local attractions within close proximity of the hotel are Nauticus, Norfolk Cruise Port, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens and Virginia Wesleyan College. The hotel feature s 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and banquet accommodations for up to 400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing