We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
Nearby Hotels
$175
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport(Norfolk)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$137
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$142
Courtyard
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
77
51
47
15
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
51
47
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorfolk airportthe shuttle driveran early flightva beachroom was largebed was comfortableparking lotlobbywalmartinnsclerk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 207 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very comfortable and well appointed. Very, VERY clean. Found traffic in town surprisingly heavy, but hardly the hotel's fault. Desk & other staff were above and beyond helpful.Hot breakfast buffet was delicious and wait person Lauren juggled so much responsibility so artfully. It was a pleasure to watch a true professional-gracious, efficient, sensitive to accommodating several visually impaired customers at a time and all without missing a beat for excellent service to all.
My only complaint was the dreadful bathroom hardware of the Mansfield brand push button toilet. Found it difficult to accomplish the button push on one try and NOISY to boot. Unbelievably noisy for a hotel situation. Somebody did a heck of a snow job to sell these to a chain. Hopefully it is discontinued. I can not imagine how someone with arthritis could cope with that push mechanisn. As others mentioned, alot of stuff (Target/fast food) nearby but not necessarily upscale in any way. We dined a wonderful meal at the Chop House but that was a bit of a distance away. Well worth it. The airplane noise from the near by airport was not a problem at all, much to my surprise and relief. I would return without hesitation. Beds comfy. TV was annoying to negotiate but so many hotel ones are. Fire alarm kept tripping one evening and the story it was 'being tested' didn't match the annoyance it created. Found the wifi annoying and disappearing, too. But overall, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay. We are glad that the service and cleanliness overcame some of the other issues you encountered. The toilets can be hard for at times and we apologize for the troubles.
As far as the smoke detector, it was actually alarming us of a battery needing to be changed. There are no excuses as to why we continued to let the alarm bother you throughout the night. We apologize and promise that in your future stay, there will be no issues.
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, clean hotel. The suite has a balcony. Wedding packages are also available. The staff was awesome! If you want snacks you may want to purchase them before you arrive, a small bag of chips are $2.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elabosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Elabosha,
Thank you for the wonderful reviews. We work very hard to think of all the little things guest want need or want during their stay. We are so happy that you found our little store convenient and satisfying.
We look forward to your next stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Needed a hotel in the Virginia Beach area for Labor Day. Most of the decent hotels in Virginia Beach are quite expensive this time of year so I decided to get an inexpensive room near the airport.

The Pros. Inexpensive compared to hotels in Virginia Beach. Close to the airport. Very convenient to the freeway. Safe location. Clean room with microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Staff was exceedingly friendly; gave directions, recommendations for eating out, and provided extra coffee and sugar upon request. Hotel has indoor pool and hot tub, as well as a decent exercise room. Near IHOP, Target and Wal Mart, so if you need to grab something that you left at home it is right down the street.

The Cons. Norfolk, with the exception of downtown, is a working class town that does not really cater to tourists. I am from a poor town and found myself thinking of just how much Norfolk reminded me of a bigger version of my hometown. I didn't see any nice restaurants near the hotel. Housekeeping did not clean my room either of the three days I was there. I did not ask for housekeeping to do so but found it peculiar that it did not. No hair dryer in room.

All in all I found this hotel very good, especially for the price and recommend it to people on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyHenceforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback with your stay at the Holiday Inn Norfolk. I was pleased to see you found value in our hotel and recommended us to others. The City of Norfolk is growing by the day and and has changed over the last three months!! You would be so shocked to see it now, as oppose to September.
We also want to apologize for the lack of housekeeping service in your room. We have placed our staff through training in December to remind of the things that matter. Hopefully, you will be able to stay with us again and we can showcase our new housekeeping standards.
Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your next trip to the area!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was fine. Though the 2 beds promised were not delivered. Apparently this is an issue with all 3rd party bookings: priceline, hotwire, etc. Maybe not their fault but still not as promised. Not the way to end a day when you are tired to have one or more people sleep on the floor.

Room Tip: Call ahead to guarentee rrom typw. Also research neighborhood for safety.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudge282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Smudge282,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

During my vacation to go to Virginia Beach we stayed here. As far as it's location it was very convenient there was plenty of food and shops in the area and the beach was at most 20 minutes away. They rooms were very well updated and clean as well as the hotel itself. The only issue I had with the hotel was the bed was a little uncomfortable but other than that I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarathough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Norfolk. We were happy that you find the hotel a great value and up to date. We continue to look for ways to keep our guests happy and satisfied. We are definitely looking into options of bedding for the upcoming years, we will keep you updated on that change, so you can come back and check them out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews