We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You are flying out of Norfolk Va”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have found that spending the night at a hotel near the airport, prior to an earlier morning flight departure, makes it easier to make that early morning flight.

The Holiday Inn at the Norfolk Airport is very comfortable, with a very helpful and friendly staff.

The hotel is a 3 minute drive from the rental car return, which is a 2 minute walk from the terminal.

The restaurant in the hotel is cozy and the food is great with very reasonable prices.

The sleep quality is great and the rooms are quiet. The exercise room has all the equipment you need for a good work-out, with the pool right next to the exercise room.

From check in to check out, my stay at the Norfolk Airport Holiday Inn was a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on a upper floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. It is very true that staying close to the airport makes for a great night sleep and a pleasant travel experience. We are so happy that we were able to accommodate you and we look forward to seeing you at the hotel, for your next trip!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 201 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The first night we booked through Holiday Inn (it was added close to the time of our trip). When I booked on the phone, the lady said I could get a king bed with a pull out sofa. When we got there the lady at the front desk said I couldn't, I had to get 2 doubles, so my wife and I couldn't sleep together. The second night was booked through Hotels.com and there were no issues with that night.
The front desk staff wasn't so nice when checking in, the elevator was SUPER slow. I am not sure what the problem was with it. Room service didn't come the second day to bring clean towels. Luckily there were some at the pool we could use. The pool was okay, it was your standard indoor pool and hot tub. The food was WAY overpriced at the hotel. They wanted to serve 2 star meals at 5 star prices.
The TVs are HORRIBLE. Both TVs in our room literally took over 10 minutes to turn on once you pressed power, no exaggerating. Then once you turn them on, it's on some hotel channel and it takes another 10 minutes to figure out how to get it off of that channel onto regular tv. I am an IT guy so I am pretty smart when it comes to technology, and it even took me a while to figure out how to navigate to the regular TV. Then on the guide when you turn it on, it's VERY EASY for kids to go to the adult channels. There are previews for the adult shows, and my 9 year old very easily went to them. Not cool.
The good thing, was the hotel was close to everything. I don't think we drove more than 15 minutes to go to anywhere we wanted to in Norfolk.
If you're looking for a hotel on a budget, this is a good hotel. No more than 'good' though.

Room Tip: Get your room through a third party such as hotels.com, expedia, etc. That way you won't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teknoge3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

teknoge3k,

Thak you for leaving a review about your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport. We apologize for the issues that you endured during your time with us. This is definately not normal practice and as you can see by most of our reviews here our staff is one of our biggest assets at the hotel. Rest assured all the concerns you brought up will be addressed with the proper person for correction. We hope when you travel to the area again and chose to stay with us so you can see the other side of our commitment to serve guests. In the next few weeks our menu will be changed as well. If you would like to speak further about anything during your stay please do not hesitate to contact us. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable rooms with friendly staff , it's close to the airport but in the two days there I only heard one plane . Not far from downtown Norfolk . I would stay here again ! I was a little disappointed with the workout room , there were only 5 pieces of equipment to choose from but when you are the only one in there it's not so bad !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Johnyeye,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport. We appreciate the feedback and are glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. It is our goal for each and every guest to leave wanting to come back to us during thier next visit to town. The staff looks forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels and again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Upgrade the fitness center! There was a young man running barefooted on a treadmill when I was in the fitness center and another lone worker (custodian?) hanging out by the pool while I ran. Both made me uncomfortable. Put a lock/access key card on the door to the fitness center. Didn't feel as safe overall here as I do at other hotels. Food was good and shuttle service to/from the airport above average! I would probably not stay here again due to the uneasiness I felt in the fitness center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Searching3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Searching3,

Thank you for taking the time to write review about the hotel during your recent stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed most of the hotel but also noticed you had some concerns. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to further discuss the exact details so we can address them properly especially with the one possibly concerning our staff. For security reason the door leading to the combined pool area and fitness center does have key card access only and only allows registered guest of the hotel to enter the entire area. Thank you again for taking the time to leave comments and we do hope to see you again in the future to make it a perfect experience during your travels.

At Your Service,

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were travelling to Virginia Beach and decided to stop off and tour downtown Norfolk and Nauticus. Normally I prefer to book downtown properties but Norfolk was only a 'passing through' destination so I opted to save some bucks and stay outside of town.

The hotel was very nice, very clean, and the lobby was terrific. Our family made use of the pool., the spa, and the exercise room. All were nice but it would be great if these hotels would spring for a $10 fan for their exercise facilities.

The location was pretty convenient and there were some standard fare dining establishments within driving (not really walking) distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redjedi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

redjedi72,

Thank you for making the decision to join us at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport during your travel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us as the hotel staff takes great pride in making sure each and every guest leaves us wanting to come back in the future. we hope to see you again in the future and we will definitely take your advice and look into adding a fan into our fitness room. Have safe travels and hope to see you again in the future.

At Your Service,

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport for 1 night due to flight cancellation. I truly enjoyed my stay and was very impressed with the staff at all levels. Quick response airport shuttle gets you to the hotel quickly. Nice clean good sized room with a strong Wifi signal. I would highly recommend this hotel to be your first choice while overnighting at ORF or even when visiting Tidewater given it's proximity to the main highways.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavyGuy337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport. We are pleasured to read we were able to make your unscheduled visit with us a pleasant one. We hope next time your are in the area on a planned stay that you join us. Safe travels and we look forward to serving you again.

At Your Service,

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is great. Great food, great service, great staff, great rooms, great location, great facilities, very warm & inviting! I hit the jackpot with this stay, i highly recommend this hotel to any & everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcthemusicguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHSCSGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday inn Norfolk Airport. We were excited to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel during your stay. Please pass the word on to your friends that may be coming to the area as we would love to be of service to them. We hope to see you again in the future. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport

Address: 1570 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $118 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. The Holiday Inn Select Norfolk Airport, Virginia is easily located only two miles from Norfolk International Airport and central to every city in Hampton Roads including Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Norfolk Downtown. The prime location is near several office and industrial parks, including Lake Wright Executive Park, Norfolk Commerce Park and Norfolk Industrial Park. Local companies include: Boeing Norfolk, Northrup Grumman, Booz Allen Hamilton, CMA CGM, HDR Engineering, USAA, Zim Shipping and Nextel. Nearby government facilities comprise of Little Creek Amphibious Base, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station and the Norfolk Naval Station and Shipyard. Other local attractions within close proximity of the hotel are Nauticus, Norfolk Cruise Port, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens and Virginia Wesleyan College. The hotel feature s 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and banquet accommodations for up to 400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing