We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Spirit of Norfolk tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Spirit of Norfolk
from $78.48
More Info
from $59.83
More Info
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
200
91
43
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
91
43
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinner cruise dance floor top deck the wait staff crab legs our waiter jazz brunch romantic evening dinner buffet private table birthday celebration the staff was great dining room elizabeth river hour tour naval ships naval base
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 373 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Excellent cruise food was delecious as well! Staff excellent.Had a wonderful time. Looking forward to another cruise.

Thank tiffanymmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

I booked this excursion for my husband's birthday. I purchased premium drink tickets when I booked it (the only way to go!) so we enjoyed some top-shelf liquors. (Had a hotel booked within walking distance.) We did the dinner cruise from 8-10pm so it was dark out but you could see all the city lights. They recognized everyone celebrating a special day and all the people who served/are serving in the military since it was Veteran's Day weekend. They had a DJ and a good buffet.

Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

I booked the cruise for my husband's birthday and it was great fun. It was the dinner cruise from 8-10pm so it was dark but you could see all the city lights. Nice cruise with DJ and good buffet. We bought premium drink tickets (the only way to go!) so we enjoyed some top shelf drinks. They recognized everyone celebrating a special occasion and gave the birthday guests a special dessert.

Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The food buffet was scrumptiously delicious, the DJ's music selection was all Top 10 Hits and our waitress had and outstanding personality *****

Thank Excursion62593678434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

very good cruise. My fiancé really enjoyed everything about it. I waited until she went to the restroom and to go sight see and I started playing the video game. lol great attraction. We loved the games and the food was great. Music was great also. Funny Dj and the waiters/waitresses were great.

Thank Flyer39996562580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This event was going to be very crowded up and below deck. The staff on duty made sure we were at the right party. Their buffet was delicious,the ladies restrooms were clean,service was slow because of so many people but the party was great, and we will be back.

Thank jazzaffair2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the spirit of norfolk is not a particularly pretty boat; it looks like a ferry with multiple decks. the crew greeted us as we boarded 30 minutes early, and were very friendly. we walked up to the middle deck dining room and were seated at a very nice table. since the walls are glass, there really are no bad seats. with the exception of the poor folks at tables for 2, most tables had room for guests to move around.

each table is called to a VERY tiny corner buffet so there weren't long lines but guests are elbow to elbow. we waited probably 30 minutes to be called. they did announce that when all guests had been thru the buffet, if you wanted seconds to help yourself.

the food: good, bad and ugly. our entrees were cod, beef and chicken. the cod was dry but flavorful, the beef very tender and delicious, parts of the chicken were dry and parts were moist. salads looked nice but the bread was dry and crumbly. desserts were nice to look at but not very tasty.

our wait staff was attentive and professional. tea looked like water, coffee was AWFUL.

the only thing worse than the dj was the sound system. what the dj played, aside from the everybody-dance classics like cupid shuffle, for the most part the dance floor stayed empty. if he had played varying selections from the 50's to the bops of today, more of the younger (and older) crowd might have stepped out. very disappointing.

all told, i see why tourists might enjoy the spirit of norfolk, and we might even go back since our teens liked the scenery. but, as a local, i only give it a 6.5 out of 10.

1  Thank ceabrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great Trip with Great Rate!I always Look Forward to Trip Advisor to provide me with the Best Rates available.

Thank Wander13746252599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a two hour harbor tour with a lunch buffet included. The buffet was served about one hour before the actual tour began so no scenery was missed. The buffet itself was well supplied and very good, The tour was quite interesting with many visible features explained over the intercom.

Thank jamitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our treat for our anniversary! Let them know you have a special celebration and they bring you a special dessert! We did not do the special seating where you are guaranteed a window seat, and you really don't need it either. We were seated at a table for 7, but could still see all the windows. Food was a buffet, several choices, the corn casserole was VERY good, but all was good, but not like fine dining. Go expecting an average meal, and you will be happy. You can start eating as soon as you board, so get there early. We were done eating about 10 minutes after departure and went out on the upper deck. The boat side is slow, so there is not a lot of movement. The view is mostly industrial until you get to the navy shipyard, they you see military ships. It was a pleasant ride and the captain narrates what you see. If you choose to stay inside, its a real party going on! The DJ plays music and there are sing-alongs and dancing, and booze to make you want to!

Thank HarvestDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews