We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like the VA Symphony” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Symphony

Virginia Symphony
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized as one of the nation's leading regional symphony orchestras, the Virginia Symphony has enriched the cultural life of the Hampton Roads community for more than nine decades. Recent great achievements of the Virginia Symphony under the baton of Music Director JoAnn Falletta include five compact disc recordings for national release, a performance of Peter and the Wolf which was aired on National Public Radio, and groundbreaking performances at the Kennedy Center and New York's Carnegie Hall. Performances are held in various venues: Chrysler Hall, Norfolk, Sandler Center for the Performing Arts, Virginia Beach, Regent University, Virginia Beach, Harrison Opera House, Norfolk, St Bede Catholic Church, Williamsburg
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nothing like the VA Symphony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I used to go all the time. My daughter even worked for them in sales. There is nothing to say but perfection at its finist. I love Symphony music and I love what they do with the instruments. It comes alive. And they can make music that anyone age can enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pines of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Incredible. Joanne Falatta is a godsend to this group, and to this area. She is unlike any other conductor I've ever seen — warm (she hugs every soloist), talented, and a great speaker.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank susanbranchsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The PB&J series is wonderful for children and the musicians are first rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I took my young sons to the Up, Up, And Away performance at the Sandler Center and will definitely be planning to see another performance. The musicians are top quality, the conductor really engages the audience, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Be sure to arrive early to enjoy the pre-performance activities, including a chance for kids to play many instruments.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessicaM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Positively The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have the best Symphony in the country . Anyone who doesn't tae advantage of it , is definitely mssing out .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Radiating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I often visit the VS. Am pleased with the time dedicated in putting shows together. Talent a def. plus. Administratively, lacking some in organization. New group...with some time...I know it will be a much greater program. Keep up the good work.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAAReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Symphony also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing