We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, good waitstaff”

Capt. Groovy's Grill and Raw Bar
Ranked #7 of 712 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Grill and raw bar offering fesh local seafood. Funky eclectic decor with outside dining on covered patio. Weekly Chef Specials created by award winning chef David Watts. Monday-Saturday $6 lunch specials, daily Groovy Daddy specials 4-7pm and brunch on Sunday. Something good is always happening at Captain Groovy's.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“good food, good waitstaff”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Split a dinner with my mom as portions are very generous. Other entrees selected were fried oysters and Catch of the Day fish. All portions were generous and tasty. The outdoor patio was very pleasant, AD we got extra hushpuppies when one of the meals was slightly delayed. Extra tasty morsels are always welcome!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TawnyaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    104
    42
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best SEAFOOD Enchilada EVER!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

An East Beach local restaurant with TASTY SEAFOOD.

***Ordered the SEAFOOD ENCHILADA --- it was the best ever (even beats San Diego, CA)***

After my 1st dining experience...I love this place!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantastic4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best lunch in town!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place is great! The 6.50 lunch specials can't be beat!! The lunch special is offered 11 - 3. They are different daily and include a soft drink. Today was fish tacos with beans and rice. It was delicious. The regular menu and bar offer lots of choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best she crab soup”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We plan a stop at Capt. Groovy's whenever we are passing through Norfolk. So far it's always been lunch time or mid afternoon. The best she crab soup and onion rings anywhere. Split one of the delicious and generous sandwiches. Add a cold beer and enjoy a most satisfying meal. There is a great menu board with daily dinner specials. We'll go for dinner another time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MWCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had never been to this part of Ocean View.The seafood was delicious especially the crabcakes and flounder.We enjoyed our visit and had great service.There were many unique dishes to choose from off the menu.It is a real happening place but the service was great..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lutricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capt. Groovy's Grill and Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing