We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”

Capt. Groovy's Grill and Raw Bar
Ranked #7 of 718 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Grill and raw bar offering fesh local seafood. Funky eclectic decor with outside dining on covered patio. Weekly Chef Specials created by award winning chef David Watts. Monday-Saturday $6 lunch specials, daily Groovy Daddy specials 4-7pm and brunch on Sunday. Something good is always happening at Captain Groovy's.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a deceptively great place to eat. The service is fast and attentive, and the lookk from the road would make you think twice. The service is fast, friendly and attentive. The food...wow!! The salmon burger is the best I've ever tasted...I forgot about the bun (which was great BTW) and just ate the salmon paddy - seasoned and cooked to perfection...gotta try it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikecheston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    106
    43
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Had heard some good news about this place, but did not expect the full menu and diverse taste offered. Had some wonderful oysters as an appetizer and followed that up with a house specialty of little neck clams served in their own White wine, garlic, butter and other house secret spices. Kelly the bartender made us feel like regulars even though she knew it was our first visit to Groovy's. The staff was not only friendly but very attentive to our needs and the other patrons seemed like neighbors making recommendations and describing items off the menu.

We will certainly be back again - if we can get in, as Yogi said the place is sooooo busy no-one goes there anymore.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chili J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, informal, delicious experience”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We took a party of seven to Captain Groovy's and had a wonderful, delicious time. The atmosphere is very informal, the staff is knowledgeable and attentive, and they easily sat us all together and accommodated our special request to serve the birthday cake we had brought with us. Their extensive seafood menu is better priced than other local restaurants and the food was perfectly prepared with a wide range of preparation options. The fried food we ordered was not overcooked or greasy. Their side dishes were creative & delicious, and the portions were unusually large. We had a relaxing, fun evening. I look forward to returning soon to try more of their excellent entrees.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The food here is always great. The one time my food needed to be a bit warmer, it was handled professionally and I received a $5 for my next visit. The seafood is literally fresh off the boat. The owner gets it delivered daily. Try the Wake Burger - a house burger topped with crab.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Once again...awesome!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Tonight I had the absolute best she crab soup. Huge chunks of crab! It was amazing. The portobello burger was delicious as well. So glad I decided to stay at Norfolk Beach instead of the usual Virginia Beach location!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt. Groovy's Grill and Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Capt. Groovy's Grill and Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing