We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular ol' diner”
Review of d'egg diner

d'egg diner
Ranked #15 of 712 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: breakfast and lunch in downtown norfolk in front of the convention center
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Regular ol' diner”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have visited twice, once with coworkers once with family.

Typical diner food, atmosphere and service if that is what you are looking for.

I would say the downtown location has better everything than the other location.

Helpful?
Thank bazrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    101
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Service was good; food was not”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Butter everywhere and on everything--inside and outside the biscuits, top of and in the grits. The bacon was chewy not crisp; the eggs were cold.....you get the idea. People were nice but honestly--when it comes to breakfast, tough to replace decent food with personality.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast at a great price”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Unique fruit mimosas and really great breakfast food in a charming traditional diner. The place was packed when we went, so we ate at the counter. All of the wait staff was very kind and quick to get our food out to us.

We will be very happy to patron them again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tough Review”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I would not hesitate to eat here again. However, I was not overwhelmed. My eggs were cooked to order. Sausage was a little overcooked, Coffee was refilled regularly. My fellow dinners has a sausage omelet, sausage gravy with biscuits, and eggs benedict. The grits were done well. The hash browns which I had were simply shredded potatoes you can buy in the freezer section of the grocery store. This is the "place to be" in Norfolk's morning crowd. Simply, I was not wowed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayB1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to check them out. Good and friendly service. Orange juice was weak and not fresh squeezed and the coffee was average. Sausage was overcooked and tried twice to get lightly scrambled eggs. Hash browns were not fresh cooked or good. Pancakes were big and good with thick syrup. Wife had French Toast and she liked it. Biscuits and gravy were really exceptional. Would not go back.

Helpful?
Thank brobob1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed d'egg diner also viewed

 

Been to d'egg diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing