We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, new hotel, exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice, new hotel, exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a night. Excellent front desk clerk. We loved the decor and the hotel was extremely clean. Room exceeded our expectations ,very comfortable bed and great quality of furnishings. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Casie123,
I am very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for the nice comments for our staff and hotel. We look forward to you visiting us again!

Jesse Hemphill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    79
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
40
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here over Christmas. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly (even with 14" of snow), and breakfast was excellent every day (stayed 5 nights). The pool was clean and enjoyed by everyone.

The rooms are true suites with a bedroom with two beds and a "living room" with hideabed couch, and TV. Very convenient when traveling with small children/infants.

The hotel is conveniently located close to Janaf and Military Circle. During the snow storm, the hotel staff recommended a nearby pizza place that was excellent. We plan on staying here every time we come to Norfolk.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLUdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our First night of Being Married. Our room was a King Suite, with a Jacuzzi. We enjoyed our stay. It was nice and quiet, and its surrounded by alot of good places to eat and shop.

If we ever decide to stay in Norfolk, we would love to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

When we arrived late with our three children, the front desk already had our keys made and ready to go, check in was an absolute breeze. Our suite was HUGE. Incredibly comfortable beds, classy bathroom, just very spacious. Breakfast was top notch, and the staff member there was very friendly to my children when they needed help. The indoor pool was warm and well taken care of - my kids and I had a ball. When we requested more bath towels, the nicest woman came and brought them up to our room for us. Really, besides the fact that housekeeping had missed a paper plate on the floor behind the couch when we arrived, I'd say it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crayolabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I think the title says it all, this is a great place, in a great location, with restaurants close by, immaculate rooms, great bed and linens, I could keep going.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixelvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

First, this hotel overall was clean and well maintained. I would stay here again... we only had one complaint and the manager on duty was fast to respond in a way we were pleased with.

The good:
The staff was incredibly helpful. The hotel and room were decorated nicely and the beds were SOOOOO comfortable that we will most likely buy one for our home.
The shuttle from the airport was complimentary and was really unique (reminded me of a stretch limo inside.)
They provided a complimentary breakfast which we did not partake of but it did look like a good variety of options.

The bad:
We arrived late at our hotel so we went straight to bed. The room was very clean but when we got up to shower in the morning I noticed there were a few hairs in the tub. However, I called the front desk and they sent someone up right away to clean it. In addition, as we checked out a few hours later the manager took 10% off our stay, which we didn't ask for. I could tell by the appearance of the hotel and the wonderful service that this was most likely an incident that is rare.

*** I didnt care for the color of the room (ugly hospital green)..but that's a personal thing. I felt it to be very cold and not cozy at all. The entire hotel has an aqua/water theme going on but after a while it feels a bit sterile. Having said that, it's just a personal preference. The furnishings were nice, though.

We would have stayed there again despite the minor tub issue... but since the management were so quick to respond and so wonderful to us, we will definitely be back if ever in the Norfolk area.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KRBatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Great place to stay. All the rooms have been emaculate. Staff are friendly and helpful. Good location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProjectMan212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Address: 1157 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-2434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#4 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Norfolk hotel near Norfolk International Airport offers a free airport shuttle! We are three miles from Norfolk International Airport. Centrally located in Hampton Roads with easy access to Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Chesapeake, Newport News, Williamsburg. Whether you are coming to Norfolk on vacation or to meet with business prospects, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers brand new accommodations to give you the best possible stay. A convenient commute for the business traveler, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers easy access to many local businesses: Norfolk Industrial Park, Lake Wright Executive Center, CHKD, Virginia Wesleyan, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion University, NAB Little Creek, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station, Naval Station Norfolk. Leisure travelers can enjoy a hotel that embodies the spirit of Norfolk and the mermaid legend. Atargatis welcomes you to the city of art, entertainment, culture, and natural beauty! Favorites include: Nauticus, Virginia Beach Ocean Front, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens, Norfolk Zoo, Chrysler Museum, Scope, The Norva, Verizon Amphitheater, Battle Ship Wisconsin, Norfolk Cruise Port. Then journey to Historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Norfolk International Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing