We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very nice HI Express that seems to be pretty new and nautical themed. Rooms are huge two-room suites and very clean plus free fast wifi.Bathroom has high water pressure. Staff very friendly all-around. Breakfast has yummy warm cinnamon rolls and location is convenient to I64. Would definitely return if back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernHotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
HI PlateMan! Thank you for the review. I appreciate you taking the time to share with the world that this hotel is a "great place." I'm glad you enjoyed the cinnamon rolls, free fast Wi-Fi, and the great water pressure in the shower. Your feedback is very important to me.

Thank you!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    76
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
79
37
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you are looking for beach front, or middle of the city then this is not the place. If, however, you are looking for something close to the airport (7 minutes), close to restaurants, gas stations, stores, and other points of interest then this is a great location.

I have stayed here multiple times and comparing the value, rooms, and offerings this property can compete with the downtown locations as well. Internet is free and very functional, desk staff has been helpful and freindly.

The rooms are all two room suites with a pull out couch, large bathroom, refrigerator, microwave, seperate bedroom and large tv's. Great beds / bad pillows.

Some things to note...
Breakfast is average and what you would expect for inclusion with your rate. The coffee is hot and good and the cinnamon rolls a good start to the day. The remainder of the breakfast offerings are adequate to include yogurts, cereals, fruit and usually some type of egg and meat and gravy.

A higher floor affords you some reprieve from the plumbing noises in a hotel like this. You can here flusjing toiletes and showers running on the lower floors. As in many properties today the noise cancelling insulation is either inadequate or was never planned to be what is really needed. You can here slamming doors and people in the halls so be prepared for that.

Room Tip: As discussed in the review; a higher floor on the ends is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello sdf1kks!

Thank you so much for your generous review of our property!

Nothing means more to us than hearing the feedback from our guests and we are delighted that you have continued to stay with us. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I can't say anything bad about the hotel, aside from the normal bad Holiday Inn breakfast. The staff was helpful and the exercise room was well equipped. The decor is interesting. It's a mix of 70s and modern but it looks good. Overall it was a good stay and the bed slept well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hrearding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Greetings Travelers,

Thanks so much for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was only there for 1 nite and I had a good nite sleep hot pressure shower(shower curtin kept opening) staying there made my early trip to the airport so very easy as well as my return with the shuttle to & from....arrived late & left very early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Traveler!

Thanks for your review, we are glad to hear that you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay for a short notice stay. Looked up availability and made my reservation online through website with no problems at all. Room was superb, laundry facilities were good, and the breakfast was up to the usually high standard. I always prefer HI Express and this one is another example why.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Timm S!

WOW, Thank you for your review and your continued patronage of the IHG Brand and especially Holiday Inn Express as your choice hotel. I am glad to hear that we were able to deliver the experience that you've become accustom to when staying with the Express hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent location close to airport, eating places, zoo, convenient to interstate, downtown Norfolk. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was very clean and comfortable. Bed very comfortable. Free shuttle to light rail is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Greetings Mel F.

Thanks so much for your recent review of our property! We pride ourselves on being close to what you need, but far away enough to let you relax.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pros: The location of the hotel is great. Close to various restaurants and plenty of shopping. Also it was a fairly short distance to the popular attractions, i.e. beach, zoo, etc. The hotel was clean, although the shower in one of the rooms look dated.

Cons:
AC seemed to have a mind of its own, temp seemed to creep up overnight and I had to keep getting up to turn it down.

Breakfast was not what I expected. I stayed at another Holiday inn express in May of this year and the breakfast was great. This place... not so much. No waffles,no bacon, sausage. They served precooked omelets, cinnamon rolls, sausage gravy, biscuits, and fruit. They did have yogurt and instant oatmeal/grits and coffee. Not the best , but it was free.

When I arrived I found that the door on my room would not lock . If the dead bolt was not on, you could just push on the door and it would open, no key card needed. I reported this to the front desk. They sent the maintenance guy, but he could not fix the door. I had a double queen suite, with a pull out couch in living area. I was asked to move to a king suite, which had only 1 king bed and a pull out sofa, no bathtub for 4 small children...I had to request a cot to make sure we all had a place to sleep. (3 adults, 4 children). The room was very crowded with a cot in the middle of the floor., but at 11 pm we did not have a lot of options, as they were sold out. The next morning I asked to be moved back to a double suite. I was told that they had a room available. Long story short, went to the room, and it was still occupied. We did finally get another double suite later that morning after the rooms were cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello T M,
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are sorry that our breakfast is now what you had expected. I am also sorry to hear that you were moved into a room that did not exactly meet the needs of your family and that the engineer was unable to fix the door on your original room. I will make sure that this is addressed and looked into further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Address: 1157 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-2434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#4 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Norfolk hotel near Norfolk International Airport offers a free airport shuttle! We are three miles from Norfolk International Airport. Centrally located in Hampton Roads with easy access to Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Chesapeake, Newport News, Williamsburg. Whether you are coming to Norfolk on vacation or to meet with business prospects, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers brand new accommodations to give you the best possible stay. A convenient commute for the business traveler, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers easy access to many local businesses: Norfolk Industrial Park, Lake Wright Executive Center, CHKD, Virginia Wesleyan, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion University, NAB Little Creek, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station, Naval Station Norfolk. Leisure travelers can enjoy a hotel that embodies the spirit of Norfolk and the mermaid legend. Atargatis welcomes you to the city of art, entertainment, culture, and natural beauty! Favorites include: Nauticus, Virginia Beach Ocean Front, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens, Norfolk Zoo, Chrysler Museum, Scope, The Norva, Verizon Amphitheater, Battle Ship Wisconsin, Norfolk Cruise Port. Then journey to Historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Norfolk International Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing