We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Nearby Hotels
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$232
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$112
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$107
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
149
84
32
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
84
32
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsfront deskkeurig coffee makerliving roomlove stayingnext morningturkey sausagegreat place to stayking suitewater pressurerental carthe location is perfectflat screen tvvirginia beachcomfortable roomexercise roomgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 279 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our company employees and myself have stayed here now for over three weeks and we made the right decision to stay here. The facility is very clean, the staff very cordial, and the breakfast a nice treat for in the morning. The rooms (suites) are very nice and clean as well. The traffic in the area is robust, but once you park at the hotel, several restaurants within walking distance. Check out the Itilian sub shop across the street! The only draw back, plenty of construction workers stay here and they like to "get together" outside at night and if you on a lower level, you might as well join the party! Overall, a very nice hotel with a nice pool and great work out facility.

Room Tip: Try to be on the higher level, more quiet there! Call Lewis for great group rates as well.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Greetings Traveler!

Thank you so much for your review of our property and know that we are extremely happy that you and your company chose to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and creating a welcoming environment with our staff. The traffic can be a bit much at time, but luckily as you pointed out, there are many options to eat within walking distance, so no need to battle the traffic.

I do apologize that the construction workers were loud during your stay with us and will bring it to the attention of management as to how we can curb this from reoccurring. We appreciate your continued patronage to our hotel and look forward to better serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent 4 nights at The Holiday Inn Express while attending an event in Virginia Beach. The traffic in the area was a bit of a problem but the staff at this hotel were very accommodating. They helped with printed directions to restaurants, convention center, etc. The rooms, pool area, and breakfast area were clean and neat at all times. If you like separate sleeping/living quarters with a door in between, this hotel would be perfect. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the fifth (top) floor. We did not hear anyone or anything.
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank jdmWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Greetings Traveler!

Thank you so much for the positive review! It means absolutely everything to use to hear the feedback of our guests and hope that in the future when your with us, we can continue to shine! It is our No. 1 goal to always go the extra mile and assist in any way that we can to make your stay with us and the city a pleasurable and memorable one.

We look forward to seeing you again next time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent the night at the Holiday Inn Express as our flight left at 6am. the next morning. Front desk folks were warm and welcoming, our room was clean as could be and well appointed, Pete the driver took us to a fabulous restaurant (the Aberdeen Barn (shuttle service is free any where within a 5 mile radius of the hotel), wake up call was on time and the airport shuttle was ready to go when we arrived. Only complaint, and it is a small one, is that the bar was out of white rum - smile. I must also add that of the 4 hotels in the same area, the Holiday Inn was the least expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolyCrossSanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Greetings Traveler!
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. It is great to read the experiences that people have with us and to be able to share them with other visitors to the site about how amazing our hotel is to stay at when in the area. I am glad to know that we were the most cost effective for your stay and that you found the shuttle service pleasing. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here to greet our sailor coming in on leave. (Norfolk Naval Station is about 30 minutes/$53 cab ride away) The hotel is clean, appealing and nicely appointed. The spacious suite effect was perfect for our family, giving my nephew a bit of privacy after being at sea for 8 months! The rate was reasonable, everything we needed was within walking distance. (Walgreen's is right at the end of the parking lot!) The breakfast buffet was simple (breads, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, etc.) but fresh. The pool is indoors and appears rarely used. We noticed a number of Navy personnel staying which is a testimonial to a decent stay since there are many hotels to choose from that are closer to the base. (No, they weren't all on leave!) Good value for the money! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Greetings Traveler,

Thank you so much for your kind words in regards to our hotel. It is our number one goal to provide an outstanding hotel experience when you choose us as your "home away from home". We are glad that you found our hotel rooms to be spacious and allow your nephew his privacy after being away for so long.

You would be correct about Navy personnel in our hotel, we consistently host a heavy government market in our hotel and believe, as you have mentioned, that is is due to our customer service and overall hotel environment.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

this location is ideal for easy access to the airport, Hampton, virginia Beach, newport news, chesapeake, portsmouth area. Traffic builds up about 3;30 pm. easy to get to shopping such as (walmart_across the street, kmart, Target). fast food areas, and downtown Norfolk.. The hotel is a two room suite, updated with 2 flat screen tvs, countertops, separate bedroom, indoor pool-spa,bus center, exercise room, lobbby eating area which is kept clean. Ample parking and next door to Walgreens. I did not go to the city beaches, but i did go to Virginia Beach front which is really only a 15-10 minute easy drive. I would suggest going to the beach on the less crowded non- resort area where you can find free parking.

Room Tip: higher floors are preferable
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blessed7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Greetings Traveler,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Nothing means more to use then to be able to read the words of our guests expressing their positive or negative experiences with our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you found our accommodations to your liking and we were able to give you a great alternative to the pricier oceanfront properties. I hope that when you return to the area, you will continue to show patronage to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews