We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Norfolk
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I chose to stay at this hotel because of a wedding. After reading the reviews on this website I was thinking about changing my hotel and just driving in to the wedding from a different location. I have to say I am glad that I decided not switch and instead I stayed at this hotel. The reviews make it sound much worse than it is. The hotel staff was excellent and the lobby was very nice. The rooms could use some upgrading but overall were very comfortable to and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theh413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself at the wedding and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to have you as a guest again next time you are here in the Hampton Roads area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    80
    56
    77
    56
See reviews for
128
63
36
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I must commend Bobbie Jo Jones who is usually working the front desk when I check in. She welcomes me by name and has a room ready for me even though my check in is before noon 3 different times a week. She makes me feel like I'm home away from home. Over all the staff is friendly and seems to care about the guests. The free internet works well in most rooms and usually the rooms are clean and well stocked. I didn't like the "Sleep Number Beds" in the beginning but in time I learned if I dailed the number to a lower "50" I was comfortable enough... however sometimes there is a leak in the bed and it doesn't stay filled with air making an uncomfortable sleeping surface.

But to be fair in my review I must share the bad with the good. Sometimes the paper thin walls allow for noisey neighbors and TVs. Housekeeping seems to knock on my door just about the time I am falling asleep and the room is never very dark during daylight hours. A few times the bathroom has had mold, low water pressure or lack of hot water. But I'm sure if you stay in any motel as often as I stay here that there will be some disappointments.

The location is in the middle of the city close to everything; which is why I choose to stay here... that and again the staff. The breakfast buffet in the Black Tuna Lounge is really nice but dinner isn't anything to write home about. Over all this is a nice location to get your rest.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenCartwright2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to give your feedback about the hotel. We are always delighted when one of our associates is complimented on the service we all strive to deliver here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. We have also noted the issues you have had in the past and will be taking actions to correct those items for all future guests. Again, thank you for acknowledging our staff member, we will assure that she receives the proper recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Staff was very friendly, I needed a cab at 6:15 in the morning, was told they would call for me and have one there cab was there at 6:10. Clean room. Hallways clean, very nice lobby. Fridge/microwave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vershell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 6 nights and it was not what I saw online. Walls had viable holes, outlets hanging off walls which prevented me from using the clock. The halls and elevators looked like they haven't been vacuumed in days. The sleep number beds were broken. The restaurant inside the hotel was awful. The staff was okay but limited. Overall, I would not stay ever again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

A Wonderful experience for my husband and I and our three kids:) the staff was very helpful and courteous! All special requests were met and in a timely manner. The suite was very spacious with a good size kitchenette. Thanks so much for a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler0987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Customer service is horrible. The booking mistake that they made was a great inconvenience. They were unwilling to even fix the mistake let alone offer any other suggestion. The woman at the front desk was very sarcastic and unhelpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Badu1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests. I have sent you a message on here so that I get get more information about your stay. Please contact me so I can resolve the issue you had and ensure that the same issue does not happen to other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel suited our needs while we looked around Norfolk. Some minor issues with our room which were rectified by staff upon our request. Rooms were comfortable and staff were friendly. Wouldn't want to stay there for more than two nights, due to lack of amenities and things to do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KurtG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests to ensure the best possible stay for all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Property: Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Address: 700 Monticello Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-2517 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for visiting our TripAdvisor page! Our hotel was renovated in 2008 and we are located in the wonderful heart of Downtown Norfolk's famous Art District, with convenient access to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. We are accessible to the highway and located just 5 miles from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). Our rooms are newly furnished with refrigerators and microwaves in every room! We are delighted that you would take the time to visit us or if you have already stayed with our property, we invite you to tell us about your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing