We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angelo Economou, Catering Manager did outstanding event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Angelo Economou, Catering Manager did outstanding event”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

EVMS Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciances just did our Holiday Party at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel. Angelo Economou, the Catering Manager stepped in and made this an outstanding event for our Faculty and Staff. The arrangement of the ball room was beautiful, functional and visually Stunning. His staff prepared a cocktail buffet of all freshly prepared Heavy Hors D'Oeuvres that had a wide veriety of wonderful combinations. Angelo's staff made us feel welcome and appreciated. He helped us bring in Premier Events that provided Casino Tables that added another demention ot our party. Angelo Economou coordinated a wonderful event that my people will talk about for years and he put it alltogether at a very affordable rate. Angelo is truely a great assett tothe Norfolk Plaza Hotel. If you are planning an even, talk to angelo. He will take care of you an your event.

Room Tip: let Angelo make the arrangements for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshall n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    95
    64
    82
    65
See reviews for
152
71
46
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel for anyone to stay there its very unprofessional, unorganized, and clueless of what they are doing. We stayed at this hotel because it was a business trip for my husband, which turned out to be the one of the worst stays ever. There was a banquet for his job at the hotel, we never got any food because the food ran out before even half our group ate the food. The staff was very unprofessional it showed in their language and demeanor. I remember one female actually dancing with customers while working so unprofessional. The sleep number beds did not work, rooms very a mess and the staff has absolutely no professionalism. I personally believe they hire every uneducated or person who drops out of high school based on their vocabulary. All i heard from the staff was vulgar language, and obscenities all night. The staff didn't even set table correctly for a formal dinner. I thought it was common knowledge that the forks are set on the left side in a formal dinner. Hear my warning if you plan on scheduling an event at the Norfolk plaza. DON'T SAY YOUR SELF THE TIME AND MONEY.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altavista, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Norfolk plaza hotel early October 2013 my room was ok had a problem with wifi in my room late one night and the night security guard came to my room and fixed it his name was mr daniel he was very polite and helpful...

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We strive to provide our guests with the best of everything, and our staff is one of our biggest assets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was booked through my company for an overnight stay in Norfolk. Went to check-in at the hotel and it appeared as though my presence had taken the clerk (Shawnadra) away from her 'work'. The attitude was poor to say the least and rather unhelpful. The general decor of the building is like something from a bad 80's movie. The rooms are also noisy..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We do strive at The Norfolk Plaza to offer the best service possible to our guests. I will ensure that our staff is coached on how to make sure that every guest realizes that they are the first priority for all of our staff members.

Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently I stayed five nights at this hotel. My ro was not clean. There was no soap in the bathroom except tge dried chunk at tge bottom of the tub. The ceiling plaster was falling down in my room and in the shower. On a minimal note, there are multiple different attempts at decor going on givin this place a creepy brothel type of vibe. Also, the onternet is free because you can only access it in the lobby- it never worked in my room. I was so releived to check out!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poesfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at the Norfolk Plaza hotel. The level of service that you received during your stay is not the standards that we strive for here at the Norfolk Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My experience at the Norfolk Plaza, is not great because the wifi sucks, the water in the showers doesn't get very hot, and neighbors are noisy. The good thing about this hotel though is that the staff are nice, and Cheyrel who cleans rooms on the 8th floor does an amazing job. My room got dirty after a long week, and I was really impressed by how well it looked when I came back to it after she cleaned it. If it was not for the staff I would so to not even bother with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmafia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate the kind words you had for our staff. As any business person can attribute, the staff is what makes any business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocracoke, NC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located next to the Scope downtown, the location is convenient to all the downtown amenities. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful on the phone when making the reservation and upon arrival to check-in. I'm not certain why but it did appear that only one elevator was working, of the four they had, so trips to and from the 8th floor were somewhat slow. Our room was clean, beds comfortable, though some room amenities were dated, such as the old television. Overall a good choice especially downtown!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience here at the Norfolk Plaza. We appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#5 of 37 in Norfolk
149 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Property: Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Address: 700 Monticello Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-2517 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for visiting our TripAdvisor page! Our hotel was renovated in 2008 and we are located in the wonderful heart of Downtown Norfolk's famous Art District, with convenient access to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. We are accessible to the highway and located just 5 miles from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). Our rooms are newly furnished with refrigerators and microwaves in every room! We are delighted that you would take the time to visit us or if you have already stayed with our property, we invite you to tell us about your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing