We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, tired appearance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The location at the beach is very good. The hotel, however, is tired-looking. It needs modernization and a paint job. It is a rather typical beach hotel, and should be accepted for that. Staff were considerate and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

I appreciate you taking a few moments and letting me know your thoughts on the property. We are currently in the beginning phase of a 36 month renovation, and there will be may exciting changes coming up. Over the past few days we have had people busily painting walkways and the exterior, our pool has recently been resurfaced, and work is underway to expand our breakfast room. Hopefully next time you are in the area, you will come back and see all the improvements made to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 905 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a great place to stay. The price is right, fishermen this is a great place only 5 blocks from the fishing pier. Hotel is right on private clean beach. Right off the interstate. I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for the kind words, we are an ideal location for people who enjoy fishing since we are only about 2 miles from the Ocean View Fishing Pier. While we appreciate the kind words about the beach, we are not located on a private beach, but we do have private beach access. However being in a residential area, it is almost like being on a private beach because usually the only people on the beach behind the property are our guests or residents from the houses on either side of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

we have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years because we have family in the Norfolk, Va. Beach area. It is always very clean and well maintained.. We have meet several staff members as we check in and out and couldn't want more friendly, helpful employees. They make you feel welcome and make you feel like they truly want you to come back. Good job Best Western. If you want a nice quiet location this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

I am glad to hear that you have had several pleasant stays with us, and that my staff has impressed you and keeps you coming back. The staff here take great pride in not only keeping the rooms and property clean, but also making guests feel like they are at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Very easy to find! Great location! Great staff! Steven went above and beyond to make us feel like family and like we were at home! Steven with his pleasant personality and warm smile was very helpful on helping us find fun things to do for the week while visiting Norfolk area! Free breakfast was nice- Miss Patricia made it comfy and always made sure food was stocked! I would def stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank SilviaH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do have a wonderful staff, that try to go above and beyond to make our guests stay as fun, and inviting as possible. Hopefully if you are in the area again, you will choose us as your lodging destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for the last night of our vacation as the hotels in Virginia Beach were sold out. We were hesitant because all of the rooms are exterior and it had a "motel" feel to it. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was extremely clean and nicely decorated. We did not use the pool but we could see it from our balcony and it looked very nice and refreshing. The breakfast was pretty good for a free breakfast but the attendants taking care of the breakfast area were very hard working and kind. The only complaint is the breakfast area is a little cramped. All in all, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for stopping by on your last night in the area. I am glad to hear that my staff made you feel welcome from the moment you walked in the door. The beautiful pool that you did not get a change to enjoy was recently resurfaced and repainted. The breakfast room is currently in the process of being expanded, so hopefully if you are ever in the area and stay with us again you will enjoy all the exciting renovations we have in the works.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I had a very challenging day until I stepped foot into your lobby. I was greeted with a smile and the staff empathized with the day I was having, which was a very long day. Not only would I come back, but I will share my great experience I had. Steven went above and beyond when it came to customer service. I truly do appreciate the hassle-free check-in and your great customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for letting me know about your stay. I am glad to hear that one of my staff members helped to brighten your day. The entire staff here takes pride in making our guests feel welcome and at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Wonderful hotel.Staff very friendly and helpful.Footsteps from beach.Very clean pool and patio area.Breakfast was very good and hot,Staff was right there keeping area clean and fresh.Yhe only weak part was the sausage gravy/biscuits not as flavorful and we would of liked but still not bad. Loved the kitchen being stocked with all you need to prepare a meal and clean up.Will stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. We are glad that you liked our breakfast and think our breakfast staff did a great job of keeping things stocked. Our sausage gravy is a little more on the milder side to try to appeal to a wide range of tastes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $70 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing