We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dale City, United States
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

FABULOUS stay! Was at VA Beach for a regatta, and are hoping our Sailor gets stationed here so we can come back!! WONDERFUL staff, yummy breakfast! would be a great place to stay for more than a night or two- cute little kitchen

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If your sailor does get stationed here, we are just minutes away from Norfolk Naval Base, and Little Creek Amphibious base, and less than a 30 minute drive to almost every military base in the area, so we are a perfect beach locale for visiting family and friends in the Armed Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    250
    116
    58
    51
See reviews for
364
178
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancleave, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great beach motel. Convenient to NOB Norfolk. Great value for your money spent. Room was comfortable, breakfast was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. I had to travel to Norfolk for business and was aware from living here previously about traffic to NOB Norfolk. This place has easy access to the air station side through gate 4, right off First Vew.

Room Tip: The king mini suite is a good choice. Has a sleeper sofa. 2 adults and 2 kids would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Our centralized location does make for a great resting place for contractors having to do work at one of the local military installations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a king room with kitchen in the towers building on the top 5th floor. Beautiful location and views. Right on the bay. Friendly staff. Clean and quiet rooms. They even have a beautiful grassed fenced in yard off the beach for dogs!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I am glad to hear that you had a great stay here at our property. The view you had from your 5th floor bay front balcony room is one of the best that the Ocean View area has to offer…being able to see beautiful sun rises, ships in the bay, and from time to time, even dolphins playing just yards from the shore line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

While traveling in Norfolk VA there is no other hotel i would stay. Holiday sands is my home away from home overlooking the Chesapeake Bay. Comfortable bed, great views, friendly staff, You just can not go wrong .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
It is great to hear that you feel like our property is your home away from home when you are traveling, our staff does take great pride in trying to make each and every guest feel like family. Thank you for choosing us as your bay get-a-way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a last minute whim, coming to the beach. The staff was great the management has great control. The hotel was centrally located and not far from the beach. The Manager Chad, was a perfect gentlemen. He was very well versed in the area and attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for the very kind words, but I do have to admit that part of the ease and flow you contributing to good management, also needs to be recognized that having a great team makes all that so much easier and my team here is the greatest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time my family and I come to Norfolk. We have stayed in a variety of different rooms but this room was the nicest with a balcony. The view was wonderful being able to drink my coffee and watch the ships in the horizon and the waves Vishnu up on to the beach. Only issue we had was the balcony door did not lock so glad we were on the third floor so no one could access the room when we were out our sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprkle824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are glad to hear that you have had yet another nice stay with us. The balcony rooms are really great and I could not describe the view any better then you did. It does concern us though that you have an issue with the balcony door not locking, thank you for bringing that to my attention. We strive for our guest’s comfort and safety, and we will definitely look into this and get the issue resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

After being disappointed with our options for pet-friendly hotels in the hampton roads area (usually you're stuck with super-8 types), we were pleasantly surprised to find that this bay-front hotel allowed pets and even had a fenced in pet area in the back. The dog fee was $20/night plus a refundable $50 deposit which we got back at the end of our stay. You pay extra for the ocean facing room but it is worth it! There is a beach access point near the pool area, and a convenient rinsing station. We went during the off season but the weather can stay warm in Norfolk well into the autumn - we pretty much had the beach to ourselves. Also the beds were super comfortable and there was a kitchenette/mini-fridge which we used alot. The A/C was nice and cold. The only downside that I can think of is that this part of Norfolk could use more restaurants/shopping. But if you're here mostly for the beach, it's perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
It's great to hear that you and your K9 traveling companion had an enjoyable stay with us. Many of us on the staff here are pet owners, and know that dogs sometimes need to run off some of their pent up energy so we felt that having a safe secure place for our guests' furry friends to play would be a great idea, not to mention that any dog owner knows that they love to run in the sand and play in the surf, and the calm waters of the bay make this the perfect spot for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing