We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go to place with our friends and their families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our go to place with our friends and their families.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We actually went here August of 2012 last year with two other families. We had such a fun time that we decided to make it our annual friends trip and went this June.

They have a nice kitchenette with stove, microwave, fridge and freezer. Our three families had three rooms and we had decided beforehand who would bring what food. It was great for cooking staying out of the restaurants since we all have lots of little kids all under 5....

The double rooms were great for my husband and I to separate from the kids and they provided a crib for my littlest one. The rooms are a bit dated but they have updated the bathrooms which are a nice and clean.

There are two televisions as well so we could watch what we wanted and put cartoons on for them.

The beach is just steps away. It is better than Virginia Beach for little ones. The water is calm and there are hardly any waves. You can walk way out and feel that they are safe. Ships pass by in the distance. Fighter jets zoom by overhead. The lights of the Chesapeake Bay bridge tunnel can be seen at night.

Our tradition with our kids is to get flashlights and walk the beach at night in search of crabs. We look silly with all these adults and kids with crazy flashlights chasing after little crabs. This year we got glow sticks and made "faries in a bottle" (thanks Pinterest!) we needed scissors and the front desk was more than happy to lend us theirs.

One of our friends loves to take long beach walks and collected a large bag of shells. We bought play dough at a nearby store and set the kids up at the table and let them create some shell artwork by sticking them in the dough.

The pool is just the right size for the motel and they provide towels. We spent most of our time at the beach.

Here, you get as much beach to yourself as you would like. It is not overcrowded like Virginia Beach. You can really stretch out.

Our friends who have only one child turned their room into the hangout room. The back bedroom had all their things and the front room we used to put all the fun toys on the floor for the kids while all the parents could hang out.

The breakfast is ok, but hey its free and it does the job!I loved the coffee. The staff was all wonderful but watch out, the other people staying there who are otherwise friendly by the pool and beach, become like pigs at a trough, cranky and pushy for their free/included breakfast!! One woman cursed at my two year old who (he is 2 and still learning manners) grabbed a muffin in front of her. Again it's not a 5 star hotel and breakfast brings out another side of hungry people :)

We have stayed at hotels all over the world and the Hilton directly on Virginia Beach. We honestly prefer this hotel just for its direct beach experience for the kids. Our group of friends were talking about going back again maybe sooner than next year... Maybe see this place again in August.... :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mex2ny2va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    258
    122
    65
    52
See reviews for
377
187
50
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one full week last week (June 2013), abd had an aswome time! Our room was very clean, we received full serivce room cleaning everyday that we were there. We loved the fact that the ocean was literally right behind the hotel. Our plan was to drive to Virginia Beach, but there wasn't a need to do that with the beach being right there. It felt like we had our own private beach. It wasn't crowded at all. The only thing negative I would have to say is that their complinmentary breakfast selection could stand to be a little better, and that they need some type of slip resistance mats in their showers. All in all we had an amzing time, and have already decided to use this hotel again in the future! :)

Room Tip: We loved our oceanview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPittsburgh412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama, Usa
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Location, right on the beach, was amazing. Close enough to all sorts of attractions. Good service. Easy parking. Design and condition of our particular room was a little dated, but that was about the only negative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jmfergu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delbarton, West Virginia, Usa
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The employees were extremely nice and very helpful. Room size was perfect. Loved the location! My kids want to come back next year! The only problem was the sofabed. It was uncomfortable for the kids, but we bought an air mattress the second day & that fixed the problem. The Chesapeake Bay was much better than Va. Beach! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Orville R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia, Usa
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here 10 days n it was great. I have 3 little kids n wish we on the bottom .Didnt have any complaints but had to be sure my kids weren't too excited.Other than that we really enjoyed it n we most definitely will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Demond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We live on the West Coast, so virtually any property that is perched on a beach is unattainable for the mere mortal due to insane pricing. This Best Western has all the stuff that I love about traveling; most importantly, a room with a balcony and the luxury of sleeping next to the sound of the waves crashing.

The staff is super friendly and got us checked in a couple hours early. The room itself was in the tower on the 5th floor and facing the bay. Despite all the "non smoking property" signage, the room smelled like smoke. A few minutes of airing out took care of the problem! Our suite had a small kitchen and a mini-fridge. The bed was comfy, clean and had a ton of pillows of various thicknesses.

The Ocean View area seems like it is ripe for gentrification. Its a bit off the beaten path, which is very cool. There 905 Cafe is just a ten minute walk from the property and serves up an eclectic menu of dishes and drinks. We were told that the area stays generally "chill" even during the peak season; (Virginia Beach is close by). It was nice and quiet on a Sun/Mon night!

If we are ever out that way again, we will stay at this spot. Its super close to ORF airport and everything else in the Norfolk area. The view is incredible, and when its warm enough, the pool is probably an amazing place to hang out. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I love Best Western as I believe it caters to families. This is an EXTERNAL property. That means you go OUTSIDE for everything. Breakfast, Gym, Office, Laundry, vending machine. For a family of 5, sleeping accommodations were fine. HOWEVER, main room and secondary bedroom have issues with ventilation. They use a fan above the secondary bedroom to pull air from the main room. This means the main room will either be freezing or too hot while the other room is the opposite. Let me quickly summarize:
Family of 5 with teens will find these suites too small. (especially bathroom)
Maintaining temperature is a nightmare
curtains block ac/heat unit at all times
Everything is OUTSIDE (as this is an EXTERNAL property) - vending, gym, breakfast, laundry, office)
on the plus side:
Full kitchen, spacious main room, clean, good parking.
Cost was good, breakfast was decent. Staff was EXTREMELY pleasant.

Room Tip: Internal corner rooms have no view. Bathrooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cthreeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing