We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely unpleasant front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I just called to change a 7-night stay to a 6-night stay and was treated to the rudest, most uncaring snap I have ever been exposed to. Instead of 'I am sorry you will have to shorten your stay," I was told, "well if you change your reservation our rates go up."

I said thanks for the good news and Steven told me "you're welcome."

Fabulous customer service.

And now my poor family will go and hopefully not receive extra poor service because of this exchange.

Room Tip: cross your fingers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 905 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel thru Priceline as the BW website was having issues. Missed out on reward points but glad we stayed. The staff were all super friendly, everyone was on their toes.,I booked the king one bedroom suite, but found out its not a true one bedroom. They have a doorway between but no door. This appeared to be "adjoining rooms" converted to a room. I asked if we could change to something w:/ a door. We were put in a one bedroom w/ a queen bed and sofa bed in the living area and a separate queen bedroom. There was a kitchenette but we didn't use it. The kitchen window could use curtains as the flood flood light was very bright (#224). The breakfast was full of variety and tasty. More than we expected. Beach access was good and the place was not crowded at all. Good location between Norfolk common and Virginia Bch.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

For this class of hotel, the experience was fine - not five stars by any means, but for a Best Western, above average. About what could be expected for the room, which had a full kitchen. The cabinets were old and showing their age, but otherwise acceptable. Room was very clean. Wifi was not strong, but present. Good, solid breakfast served daily. Exercise room was downright frigid - unsure if they heat it, and in late November, it does get cold here. Be sure to ask for your safe fee ($1.50 plus tax) back on check-out - they tack that charge onto your bill whether you use the in-room safe or not. A considerable amount of road noise, but not excessive; not sure if you can find a room that would minimize this. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strouthesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not a new hotel, BUT very quiet neighborhood, comfortable beds, all the staff, front desk, housekeeping, etc. are super nice and friendly!! I stayed here by myself in May 2011, then with my husband and 2 boys December 2011. Our older son left for deployment in May and returned in Dec. Loved that it was on the shore of Chesapeake Bay! Will definitely stay here again if needed!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a kitchenette! Has everything you need except a can opener!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaOutdoorWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Sands after our daughter finished Basic Training. I called them for rates and the receptionist did a fantastic job listening to our desires and matching us up with a perfect match. The apartment where we stayed provided us with plenty of room at a fantastic rate. We were so pleased with the hotel that when we discovered we had another night with our daughter, we drove back from Newport News to stay another night. The staff was super friendly and helpful.
A few minutes after we settled in the room, we received a call to see if there was anything we needed. Nice touch!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'manager's apartment' which had two bedrooms - each with tv plus a tv i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Holiday Sands is a reasonably priced lodging on the Chesapeake Baqy in Norfolk, Va. The nicest experience at the hotel was the COMNP Breeakfast whichhad everything from fuit to waffles. The Rooms are O.K. hotel is well maintained and clean. The front desk staff are first rate. You will enjoy a quiet nights sleep at this facility.

Room Tip: The Kitchenettes in the tower are a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIxiehollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've been staying at this particular location multiple times each year for almost 20 years, starting way back before when it was just Holiday Sands, and not a Best Western property. The location is perfect for families and couples of any age. A ten minute drive along Shore Drive to VA Beach, with its loud, large noisy crowds. You have a built-in well-maintained pool on the huge deck with deck chairs and tables with umbrellas. Beach chairs are available for the sand and towels for the pool. Each and every room has a full kitchen including fridge, oven and stove, microwave, cabinets complete with dishes, cutlery and pots and pans. The rooms in the tower have balconies facing the bay where you can see dolphins swim by daily along with pelicans and many other types of sea birds. The view of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel at night is beautiful. The beach is patrolled and usually clean, except for some times of the year when trash can wash up during the night. (And jelly fish!!) However, it seems like someone's out there daily cleaning up. You can also see the big ships and freight ships crossing nearby. (Bring your binoculars.) The last time we stayed, we took the newly available apartment located above the main office. It was large and had skylights, but no water view. There are two bedrooms, a huge master with walk-in closet and its own bath, and another bedroom with its own bath, as well. The living room has a sofa bed (which was old and not very clean, think it's time to replace it) and the living room and each bedroom had its own flat-screen tv. There is wireless access. There is a large full kitchen with full size appliances, fridge, oven, stove, microwave and dishwasher with plenty of counter space and cabinets, and a separate dining room with large table and five chairs. The cost at the time (late August) was $179 per night, which is what you can pay for a single room in other hotels. The full, hot breakfast is wonderful with a separate dining room with tv and local newspapers (which are also free in the lobby) located under the gym. Sometimes the dining room is filled to capacity, so you should time your visit. The only problem there, which has always been, is flies flying in each time the door is open, and they can be bothersome when you're trying to eat and they're landing on your food. I'd rather see fly paper in there than have flies on my breakfast. Lobby has free coffee and free use of computers. There was a bad time of transition when Best Western went in there, some problems with nasty personnel and their not providing services that long-time guests were used to receiving. But now the rooms have been renovated and the new personnel is THE BEST and you can look forward to great Best Western service and accommodations. I highly, highly recommend. On the day of our departure each time we visit, we take the short ride to VA Beach, park in a municipal lot or at the curbside meters and spend the rest of the day there. The new boardwalk, with many new statues and displays and artwork is not to be missed. Have a meal and then head home!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building can face the water or have a parking lot view, but all rooms in the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#1 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $70 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing