We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arnold, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

For this class of hotel, the experience was fine - not five stars by any means, but for a Best Western, above average. About what could be expected for the room, which had a full kitchen. The cabinets were old and showing their age, but otherwise acceptable. Room was very clean. Wifi was not strong, but present. Good, solid breakfast served daily. Exercise room was downright frigid - unsure if they heat it, and in late November, it does get cold here. Be sure to ask for your safe fee ($1.50 plus tax) back on check-out - they tack that charge onto your bill whether you use the in-room safe or not. A considerable amount of road noise, but not excessive; not sure if you can find a room that would minimize this. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strouthesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    264
    124
    65
    52
See reviews for
389
188
50
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lecompte
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not a new hotel, BUT very quiet neighborhood, comfortable beds, all the staff, front desk, housekeeping, etc. are super nice and friendly!! I stayed here by myself in May 2011, then with my husband and 2 boys December 2011. Our older son left for deployment in May and returned in Dec. Loved that it was on the shore of Chesapeake Bay! Will definitely stay here again if needed!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a kitchenette! Has everything you need except a can opener!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaOutdoorWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Sands after our daughter finished Basic Training. I called them for rates and the receptionist did a fantastic job listening to our desires and matching us up with a perfect match. The apartment where we stayed provided us with plenty of room at a fantastic rate. We were so pleased with the hotel that when we discovered we had another night with our daughter, we drove back from Newport News to stay another night. The staff was super friendly and helpful.
A few minutes after we settled in the room, we received a call to see if there was anything we needed. Nice touch!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'manager's apartment' which had two bedrooms - each with tv plus a tv i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Holiday Sands is a reasonably priced lodging on the Chesapeake Baqy in Norfolk, Va. The nicest experience at the hotel was the COMNP Breeakfast whichhad everything from fuit to waffles. The Rooms are O.K. hotel is well maintained and clean. The front desk staff are first rate. You will enjoy a quiet nights sleep at this facility.

Room Tip: The Kitchenettes in the tower are a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIxiehollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford VA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've been staying at this particular location multiple times each year for almost 20 years, starting way back before when it was just Holiday Sands, and not a Best Western property. The location is perfect for families and couples of any age. A ten minute drive along Shore Drive to VA Beach, with its loud, large noisy crowds. You have a built-in well-maintained pool on the huge deck with deck chairs and tables with umbrellas. Beach chairs are available for the sand and towels for the pool. Each and every room has a full kitchen including fridge, oven and stove, microwave, cabinets complete with dishes, cutlery and pots and pans. The rooms in the tower have balconies facing the bay where you can see dolphins swim by daily along with pelicans and many other types of sea birds. The view of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel at night is beautiful. The beach is patrolled and usually clean, except for some times of the year when trash can wash up during the night. (And jelly fish!!) However, it seems like someone's out there daily cleaning up. You can also see the big ships and freight ships crossing nearby. (Bring your binoculars.) The last time we stayed, we took the newly available apartment located above the main office. It was large and had skylights, but no water view. There are two bedrooms, a huge master with walk-in closet and its own bath, and another bedroom with its own bath, as well. The living room has a sofa bed (which was old and not very clean, think it's time to replace it) and the living room and each bedroom had its own flat-screen tv. There is wireless access. There is a large full kitchen with full size appliances, fridge, oven, stove, microwave and dishwasher with plenty of counter space and cabinets, and a separate dining room with large table and five chairs. The cost at the time (late August) was $179 per night, which is what you can pay for a single room in other hotels. The full, hot breakfast is wonderful with a separate dining room with tv and local newspapers (which are also free in the lobby) located under the gym. Sometimes the dining room is filled to capacity, so you should time your visit. The only problem there, which has always been, is flies flying in each time the door is open, and they can be bothersome when you're trying to eat and they're landing on your food. I'd rather see fly paper in there than have flies on my breakfast. Lobby has free coffee and free use of computers. There was a bad time of transition when Best Western went in there, some problems with nasty personnel and their not providing services that long-time guests were used to receiving. But now the rooms have been renovated and the new personnel is THE BEST and you can look forward to great Best Western service and accommodations. I highly, highly recommend. On the day of our departure each time we visit, we take the short ride to VA Beach, park in a municipal lot or at the curbside meters and spend the rest of the day there. The new boardwalk, with many new statues and displays and artwork is not to be missed. Have a meal and then head home!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building can face the water or have a parking lot view, but all rooms in the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stopped here for one night at the start of a road trip. Arriving at the hotel quite late and without a reservation we asked if they had vacancies. We were offered a room at a price much higher than listed online and they wouldn't make the online rate available to us!

They did let us use the lobby computers to book online to get the rate but this is quite ridiculous. It was certainly the first time I'd booked a hotel online while I was there!

The location is good and is right bang on the beach. We didn't hang around for long but it seemed like a nice spot on the bay. Unfortunately the rooms were a bit dated and worn. Ours also smelt quite strongly of a strong cleaner or air freshener so we don't know what that was masking! The fridge in our room was also very noisy but this might just be all American fridges!

The main highlight of this stop was that the inclued continental breakfast was near the top end of the scale for what you encounter in motels and was a very good start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davideJ808VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I stay here several times a year! The staff are great and the rooms are spacious! The Chesapeake Bay is better yet! We will continue to come back. Only thing that could make it better would be to have a few pet friendly rooms!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing