We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheaper than Virginia Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheaper than Virginia Beach!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this Best Western August 16-19. We were extremely happy with our stay. The hotel was clean and they were painting the outside and the place was well maintained and the rooms were very clean. We stayed on the 5th floor (the last room) and it was perfect!!! The view was amazing and it was extremely quiet. We also pretty much had the beach to ourselves. If you don't like the beach, they also have a pool that is very well maintained as well. And of course because it is a Best Western, there was a free hot breakfast every morning which we ate outside on the large patio overlooking the Bay. I would highly recommend this hotel if you don't want to spend the big bucks for staying in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formersquidjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    253
    120
    61
    51
See reviews for
367
183
50
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

me and my husband,booked this hotel three weeks ahead of time,when we got there the folks at the front desk,was so sweet and kind.really made us feel wecome,we got our room,and it was very nice and clean,everything work great,the pato area was the best i have ever seen for a hotel,and so was the pool,the views of the ocean was alsome,housekeeping did a great job,any thing i needed was given with a smile.we really had a great time just hanging out there.the beach there cant be beat,not alot of people,very quiet,we cant wait to go back there again.we stayed 6 nights.thanks pat blevins,dayton,ohio

Room Tip: a king suite is great,lots of room.its on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The veiw from our room was great. If you didn't know it was the Chesapeake Bay you would think you were looking out at the ocean. Dolphins would surface the water right in front of our room. Ships and Naval vessels would go in and out of the water way for the bridge tunnel. We had an oversized King room with king bed, sofabed, kitchen and balcony with a great Ocean veiw. The beach was never over crowded and it was endless. Free breakfast every morning started our day off great. Razzo's Restaurant just a few blocks away was a real good find. A must try if you are in the area.Only about twenty minutes away is Virginia Beach. We went to see the Fireworks on the boardwalk. Every Wednesday and Sunday during the summer months.Everything is just a short drive away but to know you can come back and have such a great place to stay is really wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Middle rooms ,fifth floor of the Tower. Great water veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to save a little money instead of being right in Virginia Beach. Staff at the front desk are very nice and helplful. However, I don't think this should be a Best Western PLUS, it's more like a motel. We had a room with an ocean view which was a little disappointing: the window was at the end of the galley kitchen and was about 2 feet wide... but you could see the water, if you stood there. Room cleaning was hit and miss: one day they emptied the garbage, changed the towels (but didn't leave soap) and cleaned the dishes but didn't make the bed. The next day they made the bed but didn't clean the dishes...The included breakfast was fine: cereal, breads for toast, 'make your own' waffles, eggs, biscuits... However, the A/C can't handle the amount of people going in and out of there, making it unbearable and the room is way too small. We brought ours back to our room to eat. Also being in the bay, there were NO WAVES and the water was quite brown and fishy smelling. It was more like being at a lake than the ocean. My daughters (6&7) got bored quickly and wanted to go back to the 'real' beach. It is great for kids under 5. I have been disappointed with Best Westerns 3 times in a row now, I think I'll try a different chain next time...

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you really want to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn and Suites for 3 nites. The ladies at the front desk, Michelle & Heather were so nice and accomidating. We showed up at 7:30 am after driving 12 hrs. and as soon as housekeeping arrived they cleaned our rooms and had them available to us by 9:30am! The rooms were nice, the sofa sleeper definatly needs to be updated, stained and a spring mattress that was very uncomfortable. The beds were very nice! The beach, pool and patio are very nice. There is a nice continental breakfast, although the room it is in is extremly hot. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recently I stayed at the Holiday Sands in Norfolk Va. It is an awesome place to stay. We have been coming to this motel for a few years.This time we had a family reunion . I have 5 children and 4 grandchildren and all of us stayed in a total of 4 rooms. you could not ask for a better place to stay.My daughter has a 6 month infant a nd requested a crib it was already in the room when she arrived. the breakfast is wonderful.Also the private beach is clean and very accessible. Very pleased!

Room Tip: The tower rooms have a great view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room had a really funky, unpleasant smell. And it was hot and humid out and the air conditioner barely worked. And this made the room miserable as the air conditioner was in the living room area and there was a separate bedroom, and the bedroom got no air conditioning at all. Compounding matters, the bathroom was in the bedroom and it didn't have a fan to vent the steam from the shower. This seemed to be a problem through out the hotel as the air conditioning did not work in the breakfast area either.

The beach was nice and the pool looked good. I didn't have a chance to swim in the pool, but I did go to the beach.

They were also very obsessive about counting towels. We had six people registered in the room and they gave us three towels. When I asked for more, they counted them and wrote it down before they handed them to me. Just didn't make me feel welcome on top of all the other problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing