We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recently I stayed at the Holiday Sands in Norfolk Va. It is an awesome place to stay. We have been coming to this motel for a few years.This time we had a family reunion . I have 5 children and 4 grandchildren and all of us stayed in a total of 4 rooms. you could not ask for a better place to stay.My daughter has a 6 month infant a nd requested a crib it was already in the room when she arrived. the breakfast is wonderful.Also the private beach is clean and very accessible. Very pleased!

Room Tip: The tower rooms have a great view of the bay!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 871 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room had a really funky, unpleasant smell. And it was hot and humid out and the air conditioner barely worked. And this made the room miserable as the air conditioner was in the living room area and there was a separate bedroom, and the bedroom got no air conditioning at all. Compounding matters, the bathroom was in the bedroom and it didn't have a fan to vent the steam from the shower. This seemed to be a problem through out the hotel as the air conditioning did not work in the breakfast area either.

The beach was nice and the pool looked good. I didn't have a chance to swim in the pool, but I did go to the beach.

They were also very obsessive about counting towels. We had six people registered in the room and they gave us three towels. When I asked for more, they counted them and wrote it down before they handed them to me. Just didn't make me feel welcome on top of all the other problems.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We wouldn't think of reserving with another hotel. I know when one is looking for a clean, respectable, quiet MOTEL, one fears the worst. Motels are a dime-a-dozen, BUT - We've been staying at Holiday Sands since 2008. My Navy daughter has since moved on, but we still come here at least twice a year. The rooms are clean, functional, middle class rooms. We've only stayed in the "tower studio suites" building, but next week we have reservations for a 2-room suite (grandkids) so that will be a new experience. We've been here during Nor'easters (scary!) and the staff couldn't have been more attentive & helpful. I gave a "4" because obviously its not the Ritz - but the staff treats you like its the Ritz! Good down-home southern hospitality. Breakfasts are very nice and ample, in a 'continental' way. The bay is great for kids! Smooth bay waves and a surprisingly nice sandy beach for sun worshippers. We simply recommend it!

Room Tip: Only the studio-type suites have private balconies. These suites are in the adjoining Tower building...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colleengill1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent three nights here and the room was average as far as hotel rooms go but we were up on the 4th floor and the view from the balcony was absolutely beautiful. The private beach is just lovely and the pool is very nice but we spent most of our time on the beach. The bathroom was very small but it was clean and the water pressure in the shower was great. The fridge was handy as well as the small kitchen. This hotel is not in a resort area and that may be why we liked it so much. Quiet, low key and with so many restaurants within a 10 mile radius it was just what we were looking for. It was cheaper than staying in Virginia Beach, more quiet and more layed back. We had a great time and would return. There were lots of families staying there.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have that great view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Little mishap with checking in. Not a big problem and the staff was friendly. Room is definitely outdated. Air conditioning did leak on the floor and carpet felt dirty. It did have a full kitchen which was nice but the dishes were disgusting to say the least. We really enjoyed the beach which is right outside the room and the pool was great also. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We arrived at Virginia Beach ahead of schedule and were looking for a place just for the night - AAA 3 star rated motel- couldn't be that bad. Upon arrival the staff spent more time on how I had to leave asap the next morning and scolded me on proper procedures to avoid towing rather than actually welcoming me. The room - the carpet died about 15 years ago and there was a strong wet basement smell. It's inexplicable why the bed was placed so close to the air conditioner which blocked half of the badly needed airflow. The gap around the room door was at least 3/4 inch which permitted most sounds from the parking lot. Called for takeout and the phone was dead - I think you get the picture. Just avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFamilyMan-Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Recently stayed at the Holiday Sands Inn and Suites and was so disappointed. This was to be a relaxing pleasant end to a nice vacation. To start with the neighborhood was questionable, looked like government housing across the street. next, the door we opened into the lobby had a tainted almost urine like smell in the entry way. The lobby itself appeared clean but very out dated and a little daughty. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were given the ocean front room we requested. The view was beautifu and the very small balcony was large enough for 2-3 small plastic chairs. The room however was extremely small and in much need for refurbishing and updating. the kitchen was minimal without a glass or cup. The smallest bathroom in the world and really not a single place to put a suitcase to say nothing of 4 or more since the room was to accomadate atleast 4 ( 2 queen beds). The breakfast was okay, nothing exceptional but the seating was inadequate for the number of rooms. Definitely not worth the money. The only good thing I can say is that it was clean!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat2009Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $83 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing