We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Express Inn(Norfolk)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Inn(Norfolk)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
348
288
143
70
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
288
143
70
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewchesapeake baybeach accesssmall kitchenfull kitchenclean roomsfamily vacationwould stay here againva beachthe breakfast areafree breakfaststaff was very friendly and helpfulgreat roomone night staynice staynorfolk areabalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 910 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked online( not knowing anything about this hotel) and drove 10 hours for our vacation and all the while wondering what kind of room did we book? it was scary not knowing all the way if we would have to look for a different hotel but to my surprise this place was awesome.The front desk staff were so nice and anything we didnt bring or couldnt buy they had it,Our room was great we had a beautiful ocean view from the big window and from the kitchen and bedroom too,the room was clean,the kitchen nice and the pool was great...we did not want to leave the staff was wonderfu,l the veiw was beautiful we will be back next year for a week we have found our new vacation spot,thank you

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aflowers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great location to stay when visiting the Navy Base functions. We were there for a homecoming from our sons deployment. Having a kitchenette and washing facilities on the location was certainly a plus. The pool and beach was a great way to relax and reconnect our family. A good restaurant "Ships Cabin" about 2 miles down the road on the beach was wonderful. Stores were close by. We will stay there again.!.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leazl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We checked into this hotel and were greated by a courteous staff. Got our room keey and proceeded across the sahara they call the parking lot. Arrived to our room..... or lack there of. Opened the door to our gorgeous 3 diamond ocean view with balcony room. Or so they said. It was a 1 cubic zirconia rated room. The appiances were straight out of the 80's. Our ocean front view was blocked by the dune outside. Walking out on to our balcony we noticed it was ground level. Isnt a balcony elevated? If its on the ground its a patio, correct? There were so many stains on the floor I was starting to think it was a hobo inspired carpet scheme. There were dirty finger prints all over the wall and dirt on the window sills. Im not going to even talk about the bed! It was so gross we didnt even lift the comforter to see what was underneath the sheets. We had traveled 8 hrs to get there. Thnking we were in for a 3 diamond stay... It was just a waste of the day,. The breakfast was in a converted motel room from what we could gather since we were provided directions on how to find it. We immediately asked for a refund and found another hotel that was much nicer and actually cheaper. Only sacrificing the ocean view that we never even had to begin with... Whoopie!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roaming_gnome05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a great stay at the Sands Inn. The view from the balcony was excellent. There are all kinds of interesting ships going by day and night. The kids loved the beach and the pool and we could watch them from the room. The room itself was quite spacious with kitchenette. Very good location for touring the area which was our main objective. The beach was fairly private with only guests using the strip near the hotel. There is a complete lack of places to eat in the area, the waterfront place to the south is nice and we went there twice. Breakfast room was better than most as was housekeeping. Hotel WiFi was strong, AT&T not great inside the room.

Room Tip: Get one of the waterview balcony rooms - they all have the same view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank GulfSider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The location,the beach, the pool and the check in counter was very nice but the room was awful. I found hair on the night stand and it smelled horriable. They offered free internet in the lobby which was nice but the accomodations were not, we checked out early. I feeled out a comment card and went online and feeled out a survey but I never heard ANYTHING else from them. Never Again staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelly1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews