We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one can beat the location at this price..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No one can beat the location at this price..”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

A very nice hotel to start with if you are planning for a trip to Virgina. The hotel location is just amazing it's is ocean facing. And like I said its value for money. The breakfast is kind of okay not very exotic but then the kitchen they provide has everything(juz in case if you guys plan to make some exotic fud like we did). Staff is nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aalok43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    275
    127
    67
    55
See reviews for
407
191
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

After an unpleasant experience dealing with a rude front desk person at a nearby motel we decided to leave there and find somewhere else to stay for the evening. We had arrived at our destination late and after leaving the previous motel it was midnight. We saw good reviews for this place on tripadvisor and called. They were friendly on the phone and had rooms available. Upon arrival we were greated by two friendly, polite, smiling men at the front desk. They were very curteous and we immediately felt we made the right decision to come here. When we went into the room everything appeared very clean. I checked for bed bugs as I do everywhere I stay but found no signs and the mattress appeared to be very new and I slept very well on it. In the morning when we checked out we were greated by more friendly and curteous staff. The woman at the front desk in the morning even went out of her way to find us q-tips which she ultimately found in the first aid kit. The only down side to the hotel is that the ocean view was a small window looking out to the water but considering the cleanliness and kindness of the staff it was an overall great stay!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in mid-March 2011 and were disappointed. Based on the reviews here, I expected a nice hotel in a not so nice area. We got a not so nice hotel in a really not very nice area. We were checked in promptly and given a room with a balcony and a fantastic view of the bay and bridge/tunnel, but that was the best part of the stay. The room was large, but not up to Best Western standards in my opinion. The toilet kept making the strangest noises and at one point, I expected it to blow up or something. The bed was comfortable. The road noise was annoying and the bathroom fan was really loud and had to be on when the light was on, so at night it was disturbing and it took forever to get hot water. The room had a pretty decently stocked kitchen and working fridge and microwave which was nice. The area is really not very nice and we had to drive a few miles to get to a decent restaurant (the Ship's Cabin was good). When checking out, we asked the charge for the safe be removed from the bill, but the woman charged it anyway and so that had to be redone. We didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment on that. For the price, the stay had too many annoyances. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejboldt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This is a nice hotel.

It seems more expensive than other hotels in the area, but it wonderful, and worth every penny.

The staff was the best.The rooms were clean and romantic...A bay view room is lovely.

I would recommend this hotel to any travellers, single ,couples, friends, young & old , and families with kids.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The hotel is located very close to sea. excellent view from room. we were in a suite, nice kitchen too. nice breakfast and friendly staff. Goo place to stay if want to spent time at beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slidell, la
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We recently stayed in the Best Western Holiday Sands Inn for 6 nights while buying a sailboat in the area. This hotel presented the best selection of accomodations in the immediate area. Our king room was a very good size, with a sofa bed and small efficiency kitchen. The furnishings and fixtures are dated, but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had been refurbished with granite surround and counter in the sink area. Restaurants in the area are limited. We were able to fix simple light suppers from the grocery deli and used the refrigerator and stove fairly often. The room was cleaned very well every day. As we were visiting in February, occupancy was low. The breakfast offered sweets in the form of muffins or make your own waffles and savory with scrambled eggs and sausage and biscuits. I booked through the internet at around $55 a night, but when I went to extend the stay the price mid-week was $70. That is too much, but the AARP discount brought the price down to $63, plus tax. We payed up, since there is not really anywhere else. The area is a bit seedy, with vagrants hanging out in front of the 7-11 and grocery, hustling for cigarettes and cash. The access to I-64 is good, and about 45 minutes to an hour from Williamsburg-Jamestown-Yorktown Colonial area. The staff at the hotel is very nice. Actually, everywhere we went the locals were friendly and helpful. Internet access is available in the lobby and wi-fi in the rooms. TV channels are limited, but the balcony view of the ocean is great. We had snow during our visit and that was a treat.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gabbygigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, NY
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

After speaking with the hotel themselves 5 weeks in advance special request for disabled person was forgotten and pretty much ruined the vacation. Everything else was really nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseyC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1330 E Ocean View Ave, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing