We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had a great stay! Thanks Wanda! Nice bathroom, nice bed, very quiet. As mentioned staff was excellent. Would stay here again. Most likely will be back on business again. Parking is good and access to the lobby is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    13
    6
    18
See reviews for
22
19
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here one night recently and was very pleased.The staff was very friendly ,thanked me for being a club member and gave me a 5 dollar coupon for the cupboard,very nice.Room was very clean as was whole building,AC system worked well,spotless bathroom,bed very comfortable.
Used the exercise room ,very clean and all equipment worked.Washers ,dryers free use (you pay for detergent) they worked great.I have stayed in quite a few Candlewoods in my travels and found this to be one of the cleanest and most comfortable. Rates were also reasonable,highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Don't book through Hotels.com b/c the Candlewood Suites will play the stupid hotel vendor.

Arrived 27 September to a suite that smelled like urine in room 119. I was then directed to room 319 which had a worn carpet spot and also smelled like urine. After 5 minutes everyone was sick to their stomach. A small issue but the room came with one bath towel and upon a request for more towels one more was sent.

We checked out immediately after fleas were discovered. The desk staff said they could issue a refund b/c it was booked through Hotels.com but would would not refund any funds even though I left (2 day stay). Rather than deal with crooks I plan to sue the hotel and they can explain to a judge how they can charge a room and not provide accommodations.

This hotel appears to be occupied by homeless folks from the Salvation Army just one block away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernVirgin1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear NorthernVirgin1a,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Norfolk.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is, by far, one of the best extended stay-type hotels I have ever stayed in! Staff was friendly. The room was very nicely decorated. One of the nicest bathrooms for this class and the kitchen was really nice! Very comfortable stay! Proximity to the airport and shopping was good, too.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitQueenbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff at this hotel makes you feel like family - They greet you as you walk in by name and really do everything possible to make you feel at home. Elsie and staff really go out of their way to accommodate all needs of travelers. Drew and the front desk are always pleasant and willing to help- They have great amenities as well - Full laundry , full size fridge in room as well as oven top and microwave. Again Home away from home at great value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

A pleasant and comfortable stay as expected from a Candlewood Suites. Love the pantry options, the large (clean!) suites, and the comforts of home. Everyone here is friendly and professional. My only gripe is that the shower curtain was actually too short for the shower (not long enough to tuck inside the tub), so water went everywhere. But for a one-night stay with a friend, it did the job very nicely. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable room and beds. Not really a suite, but had a kitchenette. Close to some shopping and restaurants. Good service. No pool so there are limited options for kids. Hotel felt safe. Backs to an industrial area but hotel was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triphappy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsie C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport.
The staff here pride themselves in providing the best for our guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
Address: 5600 Lowery Rd, Norfolk, VA 23502-2233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Hotel Norfolk Airport (ORF) - Hampton Roads, VA. The Candlewood Suites Norfolk - Airport is a member of the IHG family brands of hotels including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express and Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites is the perfect hotel for the long term government travelers, project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites - Norfolk Airport Hotel is centrally located 2 miles from the Norfolk (ORF) Airport on Military Highway between I-64 & I 264; minutes from VA Beach, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Portsmouth. Our hotel is close to Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, USAA, Portfolio Recovery, Keane Inc., General Dynamics, Naval Station Norfolk, Naval Amphibious Base Little Creek, Naval Air Station Oceana & Norfolk Naval Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to meet your extended stay or short term hotel needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio and one bedroom suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, Flat screen TVs with DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing