We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We all enjoyed our stay here at The waterside,especially the bed. The check- in process was very smooth,but traveling with three other couples we had all requested rooms on the same floor, and my room was different ,however the check-in person changed it. We were there for a special week-end and enjoyed breakfast and a formal dinner at the hotel. The hotel was very close to the Sandler Performing Arts Center where were attending a concert, so it was very convienent. The only thing that we didn't like about the hotel was the parking arrangement.

Room Tip: Choose a room witha view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taylove2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are delighted that you chose the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel for your special weekend getaway. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your group during your visit and we apologize for any inconveniences that you may have encountered at check-in. We are pleased to learn that our staff was able to quickly resolve any issues to ensure the best possible experience. We hope to welcome you back soon for another comfortable stay in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    207
    176
    95
    88
See reviews for
147
152
49
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

staff nice, waterfront rooms have great views. Located on working river, fun to watch the tug boats and the big ships come by while having breakfast in the restaurant. Ferry out back goes to Portsmouth, great ride and scenery. Next door is Waterside, shops and restaurants and entertainment. Town field is close walk and has concerts all summer. Good location to jump in car to VA beach for day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
The morning views and breathtaking scenery can certainly make the perfect backdrop while dining with us for breakfast. Thank you for sharing your story at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you'll visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
422 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I got a great deal with Priceline for this hotel but I was hit by too many fees!!!

$12 self parking in garage nearby, $10 for Internet... Only drink the free complimentary water bottle ;-)

First room I was assigned to was occupied !!! Yes someone was still in the room... Very inconvenient when you have a cart full and you need to go back to front desk to ask a new, hopefully clean and unoccupied room... And no appologies, no discount on services or for my trouble... I guess it's normal here...

The room I got was very nice (finally) and spacious and I got a fridge upon my request... Nice touch...

Internet was very slow considering the $10 fees!!!

Nice small Flat Screen TV...

Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I'd like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconveniences with your assigned room. This oversight from our staff is unacceptable and we deeply regret any frustrations that you experienced as a result. Please know that it is never our intention to mislead our guests and all of our extra charges are clearly stated on our website. We regret if you experienced any inconveniences with any of our services. Complimentary Internet is always available in our lobby. Thank you for your detailed review of your stay and we hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean, big rooms. Did not use much of the services at the hotel, but the staff that we did interact with were courteous and friendly. Close to local attractions/restaurants and about 20 minutes to Virginia beach. I used a Hotwire hidden deal and scored a very good price. Overall a really nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budgywas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive impressions of our property. We are very pleased to learn that you found us to be of good value and we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit with us again to enjoy all of our services at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It's an average hotel. Here is my bucket list:
1. Staff try to help guests, but they have zero sense of urgency. It's very frustrating.
2. Rooms are clean and semi updated, but walls are thin! There is no balcony that anyone would have any interest in hanging out on. Don't spend extra money for that.
3. Floor 10 has an excellent continental breakfast for guests that includes cereals, bagels, oatmeal, fruit, full drink refrigerator and coffee/espresso machines.

Would we stay again, yes. For the price it's "ok." I'm sure the Marriott across the street is nicer and newer but not sure how the price point compares.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We aim to provide an experience that is unmatched by others. It is disappointing to learn that you've rated your experience as only average, as we do strive to exceed our guests' expectations at every turn. As Norfolk's only waterfront hotel, we are excited to offer our guests stunning views from our balconies. Many guests find this to be a highlight of their stay and it is disheartening to learn that this was not the case for yours. We take all guest feedback seriously and will keep your constructive comments in mind for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just had a wonderful Labor Day visit at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. The hotel was exquisite, clean, and catered to its guests. We enjoyed several late nights in their onsite restaurant. The bay views were wonderful. It is in close proximity to many popular restaurants (Outback, Joe's Crab Shack) and a great mall. If you're in the Norfolk area, this is the place to stay. The only downside was the parking lot for the hotel was a little jaunt and not right onsite.

Room Tip: If you like rooms closer to the elevators, choose lower numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are delighted that we had the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel during the Labor Day holiday. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and experience in your City Dock Restaurant. Many guests find that the views of the water create the perfect backdrop for their dining experience. We are pleased to know that our central location worked out so well for your stay. Please keep in mind that valet parking is always available, as we want to ensure a convenient stay from beginning to end. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
375 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I am staying at the Sheraton for an event in Virginia Beach. The rooms are nice and spacious. The bathroom is a decent size. The rooms are kept clean and the location is convenient to a lot of things. The banquet food was great. We were served salmon and chicken along with vegetables and salad. I don't usually eat much salmon but theirs was delicious. The staff is courteous and helpful. I recommend this hotel if you are in the area. Our room has a balcony and harbor view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaplace49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel for your event in Virginia Beach. Thank you for sharing your kind remarks regarding our food and amenities. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the salmon. We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll consider visiting with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Address: 777 Waterside Dr, Norfolk, VA 23510-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Starwood and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing