We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night in Norfolk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a meeting in Norfolk and this was the closest hotel. For the price I would have expected better. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable. Had my dog with me and they mad check in very easy. Parking was $22.00 per day for valet and $12.00 day for self parking. The self parking is a little walk away but not bad at all.

Room Tip: Floor 3 must have a function room because it was a little loud and a lot of people in the hallways.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your overnight stay with us in Norfolk. No matter how long or short of a visit, we always appreciate it when a guest takes the time to share their experience and perspective with us. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your dog at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 845 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a great location. We had a room that looked out onto the harbor and we could see several ships anchored there. It was a really pretty site at night. The room was comfortable and the dining room faced the water too. The buffet breakfast was quite good, fresh made omelets, Belgium waffles, fruit, breads. We would definitely go back. Also you could walk to the Outback Steakhouse and Joe's Crab Shack.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corrine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We'd first like to express our sincere appreciation for describing our breakfast buffet with great detail. We're glad that our breakfast and scenic views were the highlights of your trip. Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was in Norfolk at a business convention and our group was at the Sheraton Waterfront Hotel. The location was great because I had no car but many restaurants and attractions were in walking distance. The rooms were clean, the staff was attentive and the high speed Internet access was fast and reliable. I'd go back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Ask for a high floor to improve the view. The elevators were plentiful an...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We're always pleased to learn when our central location in downtown Norfolk works out so well for a guest's visit. Thank you for sharing your experience and kind remarks regarding our staff and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here during a week-long conference and can't say enough good things about the hotel. The staff was excellent, the restaurant onsite was very good. The hotel is right along the water in downtown Norfolk and close to several good restaurants and Nauticus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor to see the dry docks.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

It was a pleasure to accommodate you during your conference and we’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We're sincerely appreciative of your kind comments regarding our services and staff. No matter the reason for your visit, we hope your travels bring you back to Norfolk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

we checked in for harbor fest 2013. the front desk staff, Jason in particular was so sweet and helpful. he gave us a room with an awesome view of the harbour and festivities. he really was accommodating. as a germophobe I was a little freaked out about staying at Sheraton vs omni or Hyatt but it was very clean and the room was a nice size. the one complaint is that our room was above giant fans so we weren't able to leave the balcony for open because they were so noisy. we had access to the club lounge which was really convenient. there was a light breakfast and snacks each day. overall it was a fantastic experience because it was centrally located to the harborfest activities

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for Harborfest! It was a pleasure to accommodate you during the exciting event and we're pleased to learn you enjoyed your visit. We're always thrilled when our location works out so well for our guests and we appreciate you sharing your glowing remarks regarding our hotel and staff. No matter the occasion, we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a large hotel with great views over the water, and in a great location - walking distance to most of the attractions in Norfolk, including the naval museum, Pagoda and gardens, and walk to the historic district, art museum and downtown with its restaurants and the MacArthur Memorial. The hotel needs some attention, from service improvement, room improvements, and overall functionality. On check-in, we were allocated to a room already occupied by someone else, much to our surprise and of course the guest in the room! Not good. We had a club access room, which was available some of the time (and it is very nice with water views, drinks and a continental breakfast). However, when you pay for a club room and then find that some times it had a notice on the door "closed due to a private function" you do have to wonder about the commitment to hotel guests. The room itself was a water-view room. It does need some attention to overall repairs and stain spots on the walls, and some attention to more effective cleaning (paper and use water bottle still on the floor near the bed!) Internet access is very very slow, and not stable at all, and it is not free. It drops out constantly, and it did not matter whether this was the room, club level or lobby.

Room Tip: Check it out
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered while arriving to your room. This oversight from our staff has been addressed to ensure that the incident does not occur again. We are fully committed to high quality customer service and regret if our Club Lounge was unavailable at any time of your visit. The level of detail that you've provided for us is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The overall mood of the stay began with the teenage valets who were more interested in their conversations than their guests. With this crowd work was an interruption. It was not until the last morning at 6:30 (June 6) that they had someone on who wanted to work. The front desk staff were very efficient during check in and later when I came down to pick up a package.
6/1 - 6/6 My room was missing a curtain when I arrived and even after I reported it they never came up to fix it and I guess housekeeping never noticed. The other issue was the bed. The bed was much lower on one of the top corners then at the bottom and after a long night with very little sleep I found out the next morning that the frame was undone so I let the front desk know. They came to fix it on my last day there but did not make sure that the bed was even because then it rolled downhill side to side instead of foot to head which lead to another rough night.
I was there for an event and the biggest complaint was the lack of Coffee on the tables, they refused to put a pot on the table and when they filled the cups it was only halfway and if you wanted tea it was a long wait. This would not have been such a big deal except in the rooms they had an 8 cup coffee pack for a 1 cup pot. Every meal except for Breakfast was very good in the event room. I would also note that the hook for the towel on the back of the bathroom door has been torn off and the big splinter is still there. I really do expect more from a Sheraton and this does not deliver what it could with the location and brand.
I did eat in the restaurant a few times and the staff and the food were great.
I would stay there if there was another event but would not choose it for leisure. I would also not pay more for a water view room as you are overlooking a working ship yard.
The parking garage is not next to the hotel but next to the building next door, I did not feel all that safe going over there at night alone even though there was a guard in the lobby of the next building watching camera feeds. I did not feel like they could get help to me in a timely fashion if there was a problem unless I was parked right next to the door and the guard was watching the right camera. They do offer valet parking but it is $22 per day and the kids you give your car to will remind you of all the worst stories you have ever heard or seen.
They offer a shuttle that is run by the valets and the one day that myself and another person wanted to go to eat we asked for them to take us and they said that even though it was only 1.3 miles away there were to many lights and he did not want to deal with them. Really! But they are only untrained kids with no supervision so what do you expect. I had my car so we drove, it took me a whole 5 minutes.
You expect a lot of this from a lower brand or some independents but not a Sheraton... but maybe you should.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We'd like to begin by ensuring you that our guests’ comfort and safety are our primary concerns and we take great pride in offering a secure environment for our guests. For any inconveniences you may have experienced with our parking, we apologize. Thank you for sharing your thorough review with us, as it allows us the opportunity to get a clear perspective of your time with us. I'd like to apologize on behalf of our staff if your experience did not reflect the high standards of the Sheraton brand. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to provide the exceptional stay you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#2 of 37 in Norfolk
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Dr, Norfolk, VA 23510-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range: $177 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing