We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Norfolk
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
411 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I wasn't sure what we would find based on other reviews but I can tell you I was pleasantly surprised. When we arrived they were busy and even though we were there after 5 one of our rooms wasn't ready. The front desk clerk was very apologetic and comped our parking as well as provided us with a late checkout. The beds were Very comfortable. We had a room with a waterside view and a balcony the view was perfect. With the ferry to Portsmouth just outside the hotel and the nautilus/USS Wisconsin/harbor cruise a quick walk down from the hotel you couldn't ask for anything better. I would recommend it to my friends as well as stay here again if I happened to be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenmarsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Being right on the Norfolk waterfront, it’s always a pleasure to hear our much our guest’s enjoy the benefits of our location. We appreciate your patience and understanding while we prepared your accommodations and we’re delighted that your stay was a comfortable one. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you’ll visit the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    220
    186
    104
    92
See reviews for
156
158
49
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night on 10/13/2012 before leaving on a cruise out of Norfolk on the following day. I was a little hesitant to book because of some of the previous reviews that I read, but this hotel was great. The hotel seems like it was recently renovated. Our room was very comfortable and very quiet...Two nice comfy queen sized beds and ample room for our bags! We also had a balcony overlooking the city.

Breakfast in the morning was also very good! There was a buffet style breakfast and you could choose the full breakfast (eggs, potatoes, bacon, etc.) or just the continental style. We had the full breakfast, and everything we had was yummy!! Restaurant staff were A++, very friendly and eager to make sure you had all you needed.

Would definitely stay here again if in the Norfolf area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We're thrilled to have been able to exceed your expectations upon arrival and truly appreciate that you chose the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel before your cruise. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed your breakfast at our City Dock Restaurant, as your kind comments will certainly be passed along to our restaurant staff. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

After booking this hotel via Priceline's website I was a little worried based on some of the reviews but honestly, the hotel was perfect for the price. It is in a wonderful location right on the water and steps from some of the best places to eat or drink in Norfolk.

The rooms are a bit in need of a 'face lift' but they were clean and the bed was comfortable. The parking is just a bit annoying but the parking garage is less than a block away, you walk through a building with 24 hour security and the hotel validates your parking for a massive discount. What more can you ask for when parking in a city?

This hotel is a great deal and I would without a doubt stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. For the most part you will have a great view whether it's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, as we're always thrilled when we can exceed our guests' expectations upon arrival. It was our pleasure to comfortably accommodate you during your visit to Norfolk and we're glad that you were able to explore the many great dining options located just steps away. It seems like you truly made the most out of your trip with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the prices were better than I had expected. One of the most shining parts of my stay, was the honesty and integrity of the staff they employ. Upon my departure, I had left behind a cup that was FILLED with ALL my jewelry- 14K gold, diamonds, etc. When I returned home 9 hours later and unpacked, I had realized my mistake. I called the hotel, and much to my surprise,- I was told that the maid had turned it in to her supervisor. Who in turn, per my request, had given it to my friend who hadn't checked out yet.
BRAVO to the Sheraton, for their excellent picks on employees!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We'd first like to express how happy we are to learn that your valuable belongings were quickly and safely returned to you. We are most proud of the integrity of our staff at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel and it truly warms our heart learning that your experience was reflective of the high standards we've set. We will be certain to pass your gratitude along to our housekeeping department and would like to thank you for taking a moment to share your experience regarding the customer service that you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great stay, comfy beds. I agree with the other reviewers; valet parking was expensive, self parking was a little inconvenient and the free WIFI was really weak. Other than that, I had a great 4 day stay, I even treated myself to the breakfast buffet and it was delicious.

Room Tip: Higher floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Photog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback though we truly regret any inconveniences that you experienced with our parking. If you take a moment to visit our website, you'll find that a few of our savings packages offer complimentary valet parking. We appreciate that you've shared your concern regarding our complimentary wireless Internet and can assure you that this will be addressed to the appropriate departments. Thank you for your review and we hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Added another night to our vacation. We had been in VA Beach at the oceanfront and wanted more family time. Used points to stay here. Only had handicap room and it was right at the elevator. I was a little concerned but shouldn't have been. Comfy bed and heard no noise from hallway despite being almost full and having wedding guests. Loved watching the boats coming and going. You can valet park for $22 or self for $13. They will give you a $5.00 stamp toward your $13. The parking garage it a bit of a hike, especially if the weather is bad. Did not eat at this property or use any of the special areas. It is right off the Interstate at the waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We're happy to learn that your accommodations exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed a comfortable night's rest during your stay. Thank you for sharing your review, as well as the helpful information that you've provided regarding our parking services. The next time you are in the area, we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to try one of our signature dishes at our City Dock Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
405 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights on business, rooms were very average (really need a face lift), staff was friendly, parking is a challenge and valet was $22 per night, restaurant is a bit out dated with a limited menu however the crab cakes were very good and room service was outstanding. My "harbor view" was looking onto an active shipyard where they are repairing a ship or something, hardly what I was expecting but not there fault. As a regular at Starwood I give it an average all things considered

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rfamily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Whether staying with us for business or pleasure, we always want to ensure that each and every one of our valued guests receives an exceptional stay in all areas. While we appreciate your perspective, we truly regret that your view of the harbor didn't meet your expectations. As a loyal guest to the Starwood brand, we hope that you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. With a variety of rooms available, we trust that our staff will be able to find the perfect accommodations with a view. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Address: 777 Waterside Dr, Norfolk, VA 23510-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing