We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable and clean; great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Virginia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean; great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Sheraton at Norfolk's Waterside is an ideal location for restaurants, shopping and business. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, but the parking is awful. The parking garage (for self-parking at $13 per day) is about a block away (in the Dominion Tower Parking Garage) and the parking spaces are only large enough for a small economy car. Parking and getting out of a SUV or minivan is almost impossible unless you can find 2 spaces together. It is also dark and uninviting for a single female arriving at night. If you are a female traveling alone, stick with valet parking… even though it is $22 per day. The hotel restaurant offers great food (I recommended the crab cake- it was delicious!) and a wonderful view of the harbor. My only concern with this hotel is the lousy service at the front desk. First of all, the front desk staff were not very friendly when I checked in (it was almost as if they were just smiling because they had to). Then, twice in one evening (at 2 separate times), the front desk clerk gave two of my colleagues the same room (# 952)... which was already occupied by someone else! The first colleague checked in around 4:30 pm, and found a man in the shower when she entered the room (a very uncomfortable situation for both of them)! The second colleague checked in around 6:30 pm, and was given the same (wrong) room, # 952… luckily the man was not in the shower this time! Apparently the front desk clerks were not paying attention when the first person was given the wrong room (and it was the same clerk both times). So, be sure to use the latch on your door so no one else can enter your room! The manager did give one of my colleagues a free room and complimentary breakfast. The other colleague rec’d a different room (not free) and complimentary breakfast as well (I don’t know if the man in room 952 was offered any consolation for his inconvenience). Overall, I do recommend this hotel because it is very clean and comfortable, and in a great location. Just beware of your safety in your room and in the parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, and the waterfront view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotrod_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your stay though we sincerely regret any inconveniences with our parking service. The safety of our guests is always our primary concern and while we can assure you that our hotel security works around the clock to ensure a safe environment for our guests, valet parking is always an available option. For any inconveniences, we truly apologize. It's disappointing that your experience with us was not reflective of the high standards of customer service that we've set and your review will be immediately passed along to the appropriate departments. We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience at our City Dock Restaurant and we're certain our chef will be delighted to know that you've recommended the crab cakes! Thank you for your detailed review and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    221
    190
    104
    93
See reviews for
159
160
49
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel every time we are in Norfolk
There has always been a history of terrible service at the bellman and valet
Management shows complete disregard for this problem and this visit it was worse than ever
Make a decision ...either offer bell and valet service and manage it properly or change the flag to Motel 6
We will never come back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imperious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It is truly disappointing to read about your recent experience with us. This doesn't reflect the high standards of customer service that we've set and your review will be passed along to the appropriate departments. We highly value the feedback that we receive and as a loyal guest to our hotel, we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to fully impress you in all areas. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went with women's ministry from church to do the Spirit of Norfolk. Hotel was perfectly located for this and had great resturants nearby. Didn't like that it was pet friendly as I have allergies. (I didn't book this hotel.) There was cat hair on the chair in my room so I couldn't sit there. Was especially displeased when someone's dog escaped their room to run the hall. Loved the valet parking - worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchess_of_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
While it was our pleasure to accommodate you after your Spirit of Norfolk cruise, we truly regret to learn of the inconveniences you encountered with your accommodations. Though our hotel is pet-friendly, we want each and every one of our guests to experience a comfortable stay and wish we had the chance to address these concerns with you at the time of your visit. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and can assure you that the head of our housekeeping staff will be looking over this review. Thank you for sharing and we hope that we get another opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Bluff, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you're visiting the Norfolk Waterside are this is the perfect place to stay. The rooms are large, comfortable, clean, and secure. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. Access to Waterside is so convenient, everything you want to do is within walking distance. I absolutely loved this place!

Room Tip: The corner suites are large and sunny, two walls of the room are windowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It's wonderful to read how much you loved your time at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. Learning that you consider us to be the perfect place to stay in the area is one of the best compliments we can receive. We're truly grateful that you've taken the time to share your recent experience and the next time you visit Norfolk, we hope you'll stay with us again. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I got a great night sleep on this one night visit.. The comfortable bed impressed me the most. The room was very clean and quiet. Unfortunately the two bottles of water that are provided in the room have a $2.50 fee. It's sad that something that only costs them $.12 can't be provided. They do have high-speed Internet and charge for it, but it's only wired there's no Wi-Fi available, however I carry a small pocket router which I highly recommend. For me it's about a good nights sleep, so a good bed and lots of comfortable pillows is important. Therefor I would recommend this hotel. Have a great stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that a good night's sleep is essential for our guests which is why we couldn't be happier to read that you were most impressed with our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. We regret any inconveniences with our charge for bottled water. Since it's always our intention for our guests to receive the most out of their stay, your feedback will be taken into consideration for the future. Keep in mind that complimentary Wi-Fi is available in our lobby's Link@Sheraton. Your recommendation is truly appreciated and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back for another comfortable stay at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there twice in one month for business. Nice location on the water to see navy ship. The bathtub had not been more than rinsed out in a while. White bedding looked comfortable but the matresses were not at all. Need to be replaced. No free wifi. Both times ordered an omelette for breakfast room service. 2 different omelettes same artificial eggs. Tasted terrible. I would never stay @ this hotel for a vacation. As I said, I was there on business.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterscotch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Though we are grateful that you've shared your recent business experience with us, we can't help but feel saddened that your stay didn't reflect the high standards we've set. Your feedback is more than appreciated, as it will give us the chance to make the necessary improvements for our future guests. We'd like to mention that complimentary Wi-Fi is available in our lobby's Link@Sheraton. We truly regret that you were not pleased with our breakfast room service and hope you'll give us another opportunity to welcome you back to provide you with the 5-star stay we know we are capable of. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our SGMP Convention was in Norfolk and this was one of the hotels we stayed at. It was very nice and really close to the river. I took my daughter with me and there was plenty to go do and see. The battleship Wisconsin is only a couple of blocks away. It is huge and really a lot of history there. The hotel was clean and we had no complaints at all. A really great place to stay while in Norfolk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We're glad to read that you and your daughter had a great time exploring the attractions in the area, as the battleship Wisconsin is certainly a must-see! We hope that you'll get another opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing