We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgettable.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Forgettable.....”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I checked into this location for one night; exhausted after driving down from Fredericksburg in a storm so I opted for room service. Room service was promptly delivered and was very good. The room was just ok. Big water issue and I gave up trying to get hot water out of the sink faucet. The shower was fine. I opted for breakfast in the am in the on premise Max and Ermas and barely enjoyed breakfast because it was so stifling hot in the restaurant. There is a refrigerator in the room and a safe. Cherie was helpful at check-in. Basically, a forgettable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyinmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments!! Unfortunately we were experiencing difficulties with our Restaurant AC, that situation has now been rectified. We have checked the room that you stayed in and have repaired the hot water situation as well. Even though you have stated that your stay was forgettable, please contact me directly the next time that you are in town and I will make sure you have a rewarding experience!

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    158
    117
    85
    48
See reviews for
146
74
29
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Double Tree/Hilton was very clean and quiet. For the price it was good or a little above average. The only breakfast available was in the restaurent which takes too much time. Also the only coffee available was in the restaurent at the restaurent prices. This is nearly disqualifying. Overall clean, quiet, very courtious staff. Pleasent stay except for the coffee witdrawal symptoms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I appreciate your review! As we offer a full buffet for quick access for guests that are in a rush, we have also rolled out a cook to order omelet station so that you can get your eggs any style immediately. We additionally have a complimentary coffee station at the end of the bar for our guests’ enjoyment to ensure Caffeine withdrawal symptoms are minimized. I look forward to meeting you in your next visit; I will make sure there is additional coffee in your room upon your arrival.

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Galilee, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

was not impressed that the house cleaning just walked into the room and did not knock. we had to ask for some clean towels and the trash cans were never emptied. the downstairs restroom were VERRY Dirty. we were locked out of our rooms for our 2nd night stay and had to have them turn our keys back on. will think twice about using the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I appreciate your review; I cannot make a difference without these types of details. I have discussed the lack of knocking and your cleanliness concerns with my Director of Housekeeping. We have counseled the individual(s) that entered and reiterated the importance to the team! As you are unsure as to if you would stay here again, I could only ask that you do try us again in the future!

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed one night to be closer to the airport before leaving on vacation to avoid base traffic. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was slightly small. The shower was nice and the towels large. The front desk staff were professional & polite.
The problem we encountered (which is typical of most hotels) is the walls are PAPER THIN. Our "neighbors" were extremely loud (it sounded like there were 6-10 people in one room) until well after mid-night. This did not bode well for us since we had to be up at 2:30 a.m. to be at the airport by 3:30 a.m. We could hear conversations from the room beside us & above us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I apologize for your lack of sleep! We have made changes to our overnight coverage to ensure a peaceful nights rest. Our staff will immediately respond to any concerns as well as the standard floor checks. Please reach out to me directly the next time that you are in town and I will make sure that you have a room at the end of the corridor and on a floor that does not have groups.

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend for a nearby family gathering, and traveled alone. Having flown all day across the country, I was very pleased with the warm and professional greeting by the Front Desk personnel. They were helpful and efficient. And I got my cookie.

I was less pleased with the overall hotel. I'd booked the hotel's best room/suite, which was admittedly huge but sparsely furnished. The mini kitchen was great, nice fridge and decent coffee. I liked having an in-room safe and there was plenty of closet space. The flat screen tv easily swiveled from the living area to the sleeping area.

But the overall look and feel of the room was mediocre and cheap. This hotel did not have the standard two-room suites I am used to with the Doubletree brand. The bathroom was barely big enough for one, much less the four people that my room was advertised to hold The bathroom door could not be closed if the toilet seat was down (not kidding, i think it was due to round bwith matched w/oval seat). The king bed sagged at the edge of the side everyone apparently sleeps on. Two lights were out when I arrived (they were quickly replaced). I had to call twice for foam pillows that had been requested online prior to arrival.

The biggest problem was the front door. It opened outward, which meant I could not use a doorstop or even use a chair to prevent entry. When fully closed, the double door had an open space of at least 1/2" -- I did NOT feel safe. The noise from the hallway was unrelenting (WHY do so many vacationing parents allow their children to run wild through the hallways of hotels?). I might have asked to be moved but I knew the hotel was full for the first two of my three night stay.

The food options were also problematic. The room service menu sounded delicious, but the first three items I selected were unavailable. The poor girl on the phone eventually gave up and brought me a menu from the on-site restaurant, Max & Erma's. My eventual order from that menu was very good. In the morning, I wandered downstairs rather than trying the room service menu again. I found a standard buffet and helped myself --not realizing that the price of the buffet was not included with my room. My fault, i was happy to pay -- but I thought $15 was exorbitant for what I got.

Unfortunately, I would not recommend this hotel due to the safety issues I had with the room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellipooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Loved the room with the fridge and safe, but the hallways did not have air. Debbie at the front desk was very nice, but obviously had too much to deal with. I desperately needed to borrow a pair of scissors, went to the front desk three times, apparently someone else had borrowed the only pair and not returned them. A man who seemed to be in maintenance, and he also drove the shuttle, stepped up and helped me by going upstairs to the offices to find a pair. The shuttle is a nice service. The restaurant has absolutely horrible service. We ate their for lunch and it took forever to get our salads. Then at dinner our table of five sat down and we waited at least twenty minutes before our waitress came over to offer to take our drink order. She had been too busy clearing tables in the other room. She just caught us before we walked out. Better management is needed here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very nicely renovated facility. Formerly a full scale Hilton, the staff & management still treats the guest as such. Rooms are very well furnished and maintained, From the moment we arrived until we departed the staff provided top notch friendly service. The entire hotel is very well maintained, neat, clean and it was a pleasure to stay there. We were attending a Ship's Reunion, as such the services provided to our group was above and beyond the call to duty. On our 1st full day upon returning from our tour of the Naval facilities, we were welcomed back to the Hotel by the staff waving flags and giving us a hardy cheer "Thank You for Your Service". (Photo attached). The hotel provided local van service to both the airport and close-in shopping/eating establishments. Mac & Erma's Restaurant on site (separate review)

Room Tip: I booked 3 rooms - 1 family 2 Queen beds on 2nd floor & 2 adjoining King rooms on the 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uss-tanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
5.0 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Airport
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Address: 1500 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-1800 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Located in the heart of Hampton Roads, this DoubleTree property features complimentary shuttle service to and from Norfolk International Airport. This hotel’s prime location off I-64 offers guests easy access to local attractions from the Norfolk Naval Base to the Virginia Beach oceanfront.Our newly renovated hotel features all of the comforts you expect with DoubleTree. Indulge in our signature DoubleTree cookie when you arrive, make yourself at home in one of our comfortable, stylish guest rooms, check emails with the complimentary WiFi, and settle in for a great night’s rest in our Sweet Dreams bedding. Enjoy the convenience of being just a quick drive from major military installations including Norfolk Naval Base, Little Creek Amphibious Base, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. In addition, our corporate partners nearby include CMA CGM, Zim American Shipping, Wellpoint, Virginia Oncology, and Sentara Norfolk General Hospital.Visit our onsite restaurant, Max & Erma’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Or opt to order room service and dine in the comfort of your own guestroom. If you are looking for a site to host your next meeting or social event, consider the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Our elegant banquet space can accommodate up to 300 guests in the Commonwealth Ballroom or 120 guests for a more intimate setting in the Willoughby Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Norfolk Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing