We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worst Stay Ever, complete waste of $$” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst Stay Ever, complete waste of $$”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I am not someone who normally complains about rooms and such. You normally get what you pay for, but this room wasn't cheap! We paid for our room ahead of time, booking a King room. Upon arrival they insisted that they did not have any Kings available and we would have to settle for a Double room! We insisted on what we paid for. They somehow found a King room--The first room was dirty, as in not cleaned from previous guest...hair and dirt in tub, old towels and key cards. The second room not much better, discovering no towels after getting in the shower. They said they were bringing them right away and never did until hubby walked down to front desk to again ask for them again. We had to ask for the lights to be turned on in the pool area. The indoor pool was FREEZING and smelled. The board in pool area indicated the levels/temp/chemicals/etc had not been checked/updated in 4 days. There were no towels in pool area, and after asking front desk for towels to be restocked, they brought two towels with approximately 10 ppl in there. They said they were giving us dinner, but instead gave us vouchers for appetizers. WILL NOT BE BACK!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    132
    96
    74
    36
See reviews for
118
63
25
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Hill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very pleasant experience and outstanding service checking in and out. Overall stay was value received. I would recommend this hotel without question. Location was a key factor for our visit to Norfolk. The hotel was centrally located and convenient to shopping areas and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us!! We are striving to be the best and our location is in the heart of everything in the area!! I look forward to meeting you the next time you are in Norfolk!

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Excellent location and cleanliness of hotel rate it among the best I've visited. Close to Norfolk Naval Station and all major freeways. Located on a busy street, but you would not know it due to the quietness of the hotel. Would stay here again without hesitation. And the cookie was warm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so very much for your positive feedback! We have spent Millions on our conversion and the dedication of our staff is tremendous. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Norfolk!

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Address: 1500 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-1800 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Located in the heart of Hampton Roads, this DoubleTree property features complimentary shuttle service to and from Norfolk International Airport. This hotel’s prime location off I-64 offers guests easy access to local attractions from the Norfolk Naval Base to the Virginia Beach oceanfront.Our newly renovated hotel features all of the comforts you expect with DoubleTree. Indulge in our signature DoubleTree cookie when you arrive, make yourself at home in one of our comfortable, stylish guest rooms, check emails with the complimentary WiFi, and settle in for a great night’s rest in our Sweet Dreams bedding. Enjoy the convenience of being just a quick drive from major military installations including Norfolk Naval Base, Little Creek Amphibious Base, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. In addition, our corporate partners nearby include CMA CGM, Zim American Shipping, Wellpoint, Virginia Oncology, and Sentara Norfolk General Hospital.Visit our onsite restaurant, Max & Erma’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Or opt to order room service and dine in the comfort of your own guestroom. If you are looking for a site to host your next meeting or social event, consider the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Our elegant banquet space can accommodate up to 300 guests in the Commonwealth Ballroom or 120 guests for a more intimate setting in the Willoughby Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Norfolk Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing