We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rooms are okay...but the first floor was very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rooms are okay...but the first floor was very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms were clean and smelled good and the staff were all nice. But, We stayed on the first floor and boy was I ready to leave the next day. The walls were thin & a lot of people were in & out of there rooms in the hall being extremely loud. I would probably consider staying there again if they had security to sweep the halls & assure everyone gets a good nights rest. I wondered if it would've been more quite on the other floors but we needed a non smoking room. At check in we received free breakfast tickets for the next morning but I was so ready to get outa there, that we just passed on that & went to IHOP.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful nights sleep...Maybe a room on the upper floors or at the end of the hall far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mailnmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments we appreciate you taking the time. We apologize your stay was disrupted by noise in the hotel. While that can be a problem from time to time, especially on the last summer weekend, it is not always the case. We hope you will give us another chance to be you hosts. Perhaps you will be able to take advantage of our full hot breakfast this time. Thanks again for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    63
    36
    15
    17
See reviews for
52
33
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
281 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've stayed here twice. The rooms are average. The room on the third floor was a little worse. The entire hallway smelled of smoke. There may have been smoking at the other end of the wing. I just don't understand why you have smoking and non-smoking rooms on the same floor. If that's not the case, someone smoked in the hall. It was really strong. I asked for an extension of an hour until noon. It was given. Cleaning people came pounding on my door at 11:15 asking if I was checking out or not. The breakfast is shared with the Quality Inn so it was packed. I was unable to get a seat.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast early or you won't get a seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you taking the time to comment on your stay. We apologize that someone was smoking in your area, this has been a problem from time to time that sometimes can we stop but we can't catch them all unfortunately. Yes, the free hot breakfast is very popular and timing is everything. On weekends we open an additional seat area but during the week it is all about timing. This is an issue that is always under review and we appreciate your feed back. Thanks for staying with us we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A really nice hotel with helpful and smiley staff. The rooms are spacious enough and clean. Very well maintained and everything was working. There is also a restaurant downstairs where you can eat if you like and the food is not bad. The waitress are really friendly and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. We appreciate you taking time to comment on your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a good choice for an overnight stay near the airport. The staff is very friendly and efficient, the room clean with all the essentials, the breakfast buffet was good. We had dinner in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food/price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marigold252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your patronage. We apologize for the road work at our entrance, as with most things like that we are at the mercy of the city and their contractors.
Thanks for your support, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times in the past, but it has been a while since our last visit. I find they have made a few improvements since our last time there. The rooms seemed cleaner. I was welcomed as a Choice Privilege Platinum member with 2 bottles of water and 2 bags of potato chips (nice gesture). The have a very nice breakfast buffet set up, but it was so crowded (including the overflow room), that I had to bring my food back to the room.

There is no shopping or places to eat within a reasonable walking distance from the hotel, so the restaurant in the hotel is an option for eating. There is much road construction going on outside the hotel. The entrance has changed since our last trip. You are now taken along a wide loop (beside the golf course) just to get to the room. The driveway is bumpy and had potholes.

All-in-all it is a pleasant place to stay, with reasonable rates (considering the season).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you noted breakfast is very busy, especially on the weekend. We do open addition seating but that doesn't always solve the problem when 400 people all decide to eat at the same time. Sometimes the only fix is patience. Thank you for yours. The new entry the city created is still a work in progress that we hope will finish soon. Again thanks for the kind words, we hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Be careful when you check in here. They charge you $1 for the room safe and don't even ask if you need it. The room was great, clean and beds were comfy!! Only complaint we had was that the rooms are not soundproof. Didn't get to sleep til 3am because heard everyone coming and going in hall because doors are not sealed and walls are thin as paper because we could hear the theTV in the next room til 3am. Had to turn shower fan on to block out noise. Breakfast was awesome!! Checkout was easy.Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you staying with us and thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the positive and negative, they help us do a better job for you. We are sorry that your sleep was disturbed by others, July is a big kids sports month and the kids will be kids. We do hope that you will consider returning to visit with us again. Just think of that breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is right off the highway, so it was easy to find.

We got in late at night and we were tired from the long trip. We were greeted at the front desk with a smile, which is always nice. The breakfast was delicious. There were plenty of options available and each as delicious as the other. Even my son enjoyed it and breakfast is not his favorite meal. I was happy to see a menu change the following day as well. Very unexpected

Our hotel room was clean, and there were plenty of towels. Everything in the room was in excellent condition.

I would definitely recommend this place for a short term stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STThomian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and are glad we were able to meet your expectations. We always try to do the right thing by our guests, it is great to have that recognized. Thanks again for staying with us, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.0 mi away
Quality Suites at Lake Wright
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Little Creek
Quality Inn Little Creek
#66 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
12.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Olde Town
Comfort Inn Olde Town
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport

Property: Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
Address: 6280 Northampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23502-5590 (Formerly Sleep Inn Lake Wright)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lake Wright Hotel Norfolk
Sleep Inn Norfolk
Lake Wright Sleep Inn
Norfolk Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing