We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third world country style?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My father and I stayed there for a week, because our church booked us there, as they are pet friendly, and we needed a place that would allow us to have our dog. The room was filthy; there was a half smoked blunt on the floor (this was a non smoking room), there was a used magnum condom under one of the outdated/over used mattresses, and the carpet was, well.... I accidentally knocked over the dogs water pail, and when I put a towel down to soak up the water, the white towel turned dark brown (the carpet was a hunter green color). The card lock was working, however, the mechanism's guts were falling out, and the handle wouldn't open the door. When we asked the front desk, the man (with broken English at best) put his shoulder into the door to pop it open, meaning the card key and handle were just for show I assume. There was no remote for the TV that had lines going through the tube screen, and was fuzzy at best.

There were cigarette burn marks all over the tub, and while I am writing about the bathroom, I would like to mention that the ceiling was falling apart, literally! The "pop corn" Spackle" was peeling?... that is the only way I can describe it. There was some sort of putty filling a hole that was in the shower insert, and the shower head was held in the drywall with similar putty fixing the hole in the shower insert. The dresser had a drawer that was falling off, the desk had no chair with it. None of the wall lamps worked but I will just assume that was because there were no bulbs in them.

Almost all the other rooms were being demoed and remodeled, and the rooms that weren't being worked on, were occupied by hookers, and their pimps, literally! I stepped out for a cigarette once, and someone from the apartments behind the hotel walked over and tried to bum one from me, and I most likely would have given him one, had he not told me that he hadn't had one all day, yet was smoking one while he was asking me. I asked him instead, if he had ever seen a Glock 40 up close, and he turned and ran away ( I was unarmed ). The continental breakfast consisted of cool coffee, that is, if you could get a cup after the employees.

We stayed for a week, only because the church had payed in advance and it was non refundable because of our dog. Don't bother putting the do not disturb/no service sign up, because they will knock until you answer anyway. The slide lock may have slowed their entry had it not been for the fact that one side was missing and the other was held kind of in, with a drywall crew into the stripped hole in the steel doorjamb.

The free WiFi? They had two routers, and both connect locations wouldn't work ninety percent on the time, and when I walked down and asked if they could reset their routers, they said "no". Perhaps that was just a language barrier, as I speak English, Spanish, and some Russian, but not Tibet-ten?

Since moved to the Red Roof Inn about 4 miles into Chesapeake; pet friendly with no extra charge, the room is literally twice as big, they are roughly $50.00 cheaper per week than Econo, the rooms are all new and updated even with flat screen TV's, WiFi that is lightning fast, the front desk help speaks and UNDERSTANDS English, unlike Econo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 6foot842098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

thanks a lot for review and you most welcome for your next stay at our hotel and we will try to make your stay than your last stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had just enough choice points for the "6000" level which found us this "gem" I had low expectations being on the low point level and other reviews but we still gave it a chance. Its in a seedy section of town. I would'nt say bad section but its not a real nice section either.The way the property sits on the highway it very hard to even turn into. It is older, 2 story outside motel. We normally like outside access rooms because its easier load/unloading the car with the kids. I did feel safer with the car outside the door but the noise level kept us up a lot of the night. Many of the neighbors had no disregard they were at a motel and yelled all night. The person above us let their TV blair loud till the wee hours of the morning. I know some noise is unavoidable, but the crowd staying at this hotel was rude. I was glad the car was still there in the morning. A trip into the bathroom gave me a run-in with a 2' long "critter" I'm not sure what this guy was. My husband said grass-hopper but it never jumped, just crawled fast. That gave me sweet dreams the rest of the night...The place seemed a bit dirty and this proved true after I looked at all our socks and just pitched them. I didn't want to take anything out of there unless I had to. Didnt want to take any "friends" home with me! The shower strained to drain and gave an unpleasant shower experience. The free breakfast was juice and a few pieces of bread, that was it. The breakfast bar was only about 3-4 feet long. It was a joke! I would not even use points to stay here again let alone pay for this "beauty"!

Room Tip: Sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellyRussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Econo Lodge, Norfolk VA. Your comments are one of the best tools we have for maintaining the highest level of comfort and service our guests expect and deserve. I apologize for the inconvenience you have experience at our hotel. Our Hotel had change of Ownership and Mangement in July 2012. We started to renovate the entire hotel in November 2012 and it should be finished by April 2013. Under new management and new ownership, you or anyother guest will not have to go through this again. we have renovated & redesigned our guest room and updated our aminities. We have put some of the new rooms pictures online on Choicehotels.com. We hope to provide you with the best possible guest satisfaction on your next visit. I hope this don't deter you from staying with us again in future. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience you experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I registered online and chose a doublebed, microwave, refrigerator, high speed internet, and safe.. As soon as I entered the room I noticed there was no microwave or refrigerator, I called the front desk to be told that not all the rooms had these and that none were available due to the amount of live ins they had there but to feel free to use the microwave in the lobby. I could'nt get my computer to work so I called back to be told that it should pick up in that room. Later when using the restroom the door knob was broke so the door wouldn't stay shut and the toilet would not flush, called again, the gentleman came in and took the tank top off and says you have to jingle the chain when it does that. No I don't think so, thank goodness it kept working. When checking out I went in for the continental breakfast only to be met by other angry guest who also wanted the breakfast but found out there wasn't any and one of the live in says there never is. There was mildew in the shower and people were outside all night making so much noise we couldn't sleep. This was indeed a nightmare

Room Tip: Please find yourself another hoted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Econo Lodge, Norfolk VA. Your comments are one of the best tools we have for maintaining the highest level of comfort and service our guests expect and deserve. I apologize for the inconvenience you have experience at our hotel. Our Hotel had change of Ownership and Mangement in July 2012. We started to renovate the entire hotel in November 2012 and it should be finished by April 2013. Under new management and new ownership, you or anyother guest will not have to go through this again. we have renovated & redesigned our guest room and updated our aminities. We have put some of the new rooms pictures online on Choicehotels.com. We hope to provide you with the best possible guest satisfaction on your next visit. I hope this don't deter you from staying with us again in future. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience you experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Antoine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
2 mi away
Quality Suites at Lake Wright
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chesapeake Conference Center
4.4 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University

Address: 865 N Military Hwy, Norfolk, VA 23502-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range: $41 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University 1.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Norfolk
Norfolk Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing