We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do yourself a favor and keep driving by!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Pgh PA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and keep driving by!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had just enough choice points for the "6000" level which found us this "gem" I had low expectations being on the low point level and other reviews but we still gave it a chance. Its in a seedy section of town. I would'nt say bad section but its not a real nice section either.The way the property sits on the highway it very hard to even turn into. It is older, 2 story outside motel. We normally like outside access rooms because its easier load/unloading the car with the kids. I did feel safer with the car outside the door but the noise level kept us up a lot of the night. Many of the neighbors had no disregard they were at a motel and yelled all night. The person above us let their TV blair loud till the wee hours of the morning. I know some noise is unavoidable, but the crowd staying at this hotel was rude. I was glad the car was still there in the morning. A trip into the bathroom gave me a run-in with a 2' long "critter" I'm not sure what this guy was. My husband said grass-hopper but it never jumped, just crawled fast. That gave me sweet dreams the rest of the night...The place seemed a bit dirty and this proved true after I looked at all our socks and just pitched them. I didn't want to take anything out of there unless I had to. Didnt want to take any "friends" home with me! The shower strained to drain and gave an unpleasant shower experience. The free breakfast was juice and a few pieces of bread, that was it. The breakfast bar was only about 3-4 feet long. It was a joke! I would not even use points to stay here again let alone pay for this "beauty"!

Room Tip: Sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyRussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Econo Lodge, Norfolk VA. Your comments are one of the best tools we have for maintaining the highest level of comfort and service our guests expect and deserve. I apologize for the inconvenience you have experience at our hotel. Our Hotel had change of Ownership and Mangement in July 2012. We started to renovate the entire hotel in November 2012 and it should be finished by April 2013. Under new management and new ownership, you or anyother guest will not have to go through this again. we have renovated & redesigned our guest room and updated our aminities. We have put some of the new rooms pictures online on Choicehotels.com. We hope to provide you with the best possible guest satisfaction on your next visit. I hope this don't deter you from staying with us again in future. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience you experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    7
    3
    13
See reviews for
9
4
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I registered online and chose a doublebed, microwave, refrigerator, high speed internet, and safe.. As soon as I entered the room I noticed there was no microwave or refrigerator, I called the front desk to be told that not all the rooms had these and that none were available due to the amount of live ins they had there but to feel free to use the microwave in the lobby. I could'nt get my computer to work so I called back to be told that it should pick up in that room. Later when using the restroom the door knob was broke so the door wouldn't stay shut and the toilet would not flush, called again, the gentleman came in and took the tank top off and says you have to jingle the chain when it does that. No I don't think so, thank goodness it kept working. When checking out I went in for the continental breakfast only to be met by other angry guest who also wanted the breakfast but found out there wasn't any and one of the live in says there never is. There was mildew in the shower and people were outside all night making so much noise we couldn't sleep. This was indeed a nightmare

Room Tip: Please find yourself another hoted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Econo Lodge, Norfolk VA. Your comments are one of the best tools we have for maintaining the highest level of comfort and service our guests expect and deserve. I apologize for the inconvenience you have experience at our hotel. Our Hotel had change of Ownership and Mangement in July 2012. We started to renovate the entire hotel in November 2012 and it should be finished by April 2013. Under new management and new ownership, you or anyother guest will not have to go through this again. we have renovated & redesigned our guest room and updated our aminities. We have put some of the new rooms pictures online on Choicehotels.com. We hope to provide you with the best possible guest satisfaction on your next visit. I hope this don't deter you from staying with us again in future. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience you experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
4.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 37 in Norfolk
41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University

Property: Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University
Address: 865 N. Military Hwy., Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University 1.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Norfolk
Norfolk Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing