We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed March 4, 2007

Clean, comfortable room and bathroom, nicely updated. Warm cookies in the lobby, free wireless internet and free breakfast. Hampton Inn, as a brand, does it right for business travel for a good price.

I've not been disappointed w/ Hampton Inn since I started staying at them several years ago. This one is like all the others - exactly what I wanted/expected. Conveniently located - about 1/2 mile from the Naval Base in one direction and ODU in the other.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nomadeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 581 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Honolulu, HI
24
Reviewed November 5, 2005

Hampton Inn on Hampton Blvd
Stayed there based on location for a meeting at Norfolk Naval Base. Location for that--great. About a 10 min/$15 cab ride into downtown otherwise.

Facilities--Fair. Room cleanliness OK, but desk had two damaged legs (making it tilt significantly toward the wall, TV had fuzzy image, hot water took a long time to get going no matter what time of day, Wi-Fi did not work in my part of the hotel. On the plus side--great bed, good service of the room and at the desk. The included breakfast was more than adequate and the convenience could not be beat. I would stay there again when driven there by price/availability.


2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2004

Stayed in this Hampton Inn, August 2004. Great friendly staff in what looked like a recently renovated hotel. Very nicely done, in the usual Hampton Inn style, clean and well kept. Directly on Hampton Blvd, but did not notice any street noise. Will stay here again in the future.

2  Thank Travelten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Florence, SC
13
Reviewed September 10, 2003

I had a wonderful time at the Hampton Inn! The room was great! Next time I go to Norfolk, I will be staying there. When I went, there were a couple of Navy ships returning from the Gulf, and the staff was swamped. But, they were very kind and gracious to my whole group that was traveling. Two thumbs up!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2003

I visited the Hampton Inn because a close friend is stationed at the Norfolk Naval Base. I arrived a little before check-in time and was informed that I would have to wait in the lobby. The clerk was beyond rude to me and paid no attention as I waited for about 3 hours after a 7 hour flight. The room was dingy at best. The bed was uncomfortable and food was left in the refrigerator. The pool/jacuzzi were broken and the water green. The staff was consistently rude and the accomodations were the worst I've had in a long time. I would never visit this place again and recommend that you don't either. Try the Holdiay Inns in Norfolk they looked alot nicer.

8  Thank AlwysL8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank massimozaccheroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mickael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
6.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $91 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing