We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellently comfortable sleeping, conveniently located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellently comfortable sleeping, conveniently located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

You really cant get any closer to Gate 1 at the Norfolk Naval Base and have such a comfortable bed to sleep on with great in-room amenities for this price.

I must say tho, that with it being a primary 'target' for military and military families/friends to stay there, I was surprised at it being as expensive as it was. I got a room with a jacuzzi tub for $129+tax/night on a Saturday/Sunday night in September. I didnt have access to a military discount, so perhaps they do offer something better for those who need it most.

There were alot of military personnel staying at the hotel, most transitioning in or out of the base, but they are all very courteous and well mannered. I was rather pleasantly impressed with how quiet, clean, and secure the hotel actually was. The staff were highly professional and very courteous as well. I have no complaints.

Everything worked, everything was well stocked, everything was clean. The bed was most comfortable and the room was .. roomy :) internet was included, and the jacuzzi tub was huge (compared to other hotels I've stayed in that had them). Ample hot water and good water pressure. Lots of plush pillows, fluffy towels and plenty of shampoo/soap .. more for the asking if needed, housekeeping was great!

They had complimentary newspapers, local calls, and breakfast in the lobby too. I didnt use the pool or spa tub but the facilities looked impeccably clean and very well maintained. the lobby was spotless and pleasingly designed. Complimentary tea/coffee near the front desk as well, and free parking

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekendTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    132
    61
    41
    25
See reviews for
176
55
31
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We were headed the Naval Base for the homecoming of a deployed ship. We just needed a room for one night and this hotel was perfect for that. It is right next to the base. Super easy to get to! So convenient for visitors of the base needing a place to stay. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. Our beds were comfortable. The bathroom clean and roomy. A nice little continental breakfast was available. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vcb219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

The pool and hot tub were nice and clean, plenty of towels sitting around, desk attendant was extremely friendly and helpful, room and bath were decorated very nicely, super linens, had regular tv but big flat screen tvs were being installed starting the day I got there. The continental breakfast was a full breakfast, with something for everyone. Just a super place to stay for the price, and convenient to the bases and beaches, plus shopping.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhead369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Norfolk for two days, I chose this hotel because I know the Hampton Inn brand, and always know what I am going to get.

Other then the TV that bearly worked (I saw a note on the day of my departure, that stated new 32" plasma tv's were coming the following day), everything was fine.

The breakfast was hot, hotel staff were pleasant. Exactly what I have come to expect .... no matter which Hampton Inn. If I had one wish....the Hampton Inn's would offer ceramic coffee mugs...those little plastic cups seem like a waste, and not envoronmentally friendly.

And, I did end up skipping my morning workout....the treadmill was older and not in tip-top condition.

Overall, if I were coming back to Norfolk, VA...I would stay at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This hotel has been the best Hilton stay I have ever had! It is close to the base and Interstate, and in a safe part of town. If you are coming to visit you family in the Navy or Marines, this is the place to stay!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnluriejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Arrived at the Hampton Inn last night for a one night work stay. The front desk attendant seemed a little distracted and I'm still not sure that he wasn't the only person working that evening. Got my room and it was okay. View was of the containers and the Hardee's. My colleague had bigger problems as the clerk kept giving him keys to rooms that were occupied.

My biggest gripe was the layout of the bathroom. The towels didn't hang and I found them under the sink. I'm sure it was to save space, but a pain when you're getting out of the shower. I also noticed that the desk and the chair were totally different heights. So be aware that if you're planning to do work here, you'll want to put the laptop on your lap, otherwise you'll feel like a puppeteer. And the business center is essentially out in the open right across from the front desk, which I found odd.

I like Hampton Inns. A lot. Just not this one. If you have business at the Naval Base, then this might be okay. If not, keep on looking. I know I'm going to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCC14173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I arrived at the hotel around 10:30 PM. From the outside it doesn't look grand but the lobby was clean and inviting. The desk attendant was very friendly and accommodating.

The room was great! Very clean and homey. Even the smallest details like the air vents and the grout in the shower were spotless! The room was comfortable with a nice AC unit.

The only very small negatives I have with this property were that there weren't too many actual sit down restaurants close by and that there were very few channels on the tv.

Fantastic property overall.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckhammett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
7.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing