We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel I have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“worst hotel I have ever stayed”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I had to book this hotel for a trip on business. Everyone else on our team had booked this and I was asked to book this hotel for some corporate discount reasons. Its one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed. the carpets are old and dingy, bathroom floors are not clean and the worst part NO HOT water and i wouldn't eat that breakfast even if its free.

so after we checked in, I stepped into the shower and there was no hot water and i thought may be i should let the water run for sometime. no better results. so i take a cold shower and later call the front desk and complained that there is no hot water. I was expecting to hear "oh, sorry, we will get you another room" . but guess what i heard " oh, sorry about that, we have hot water issues with some of our rooms. you have to let the water run in the sink and tub for some time and then you will get hot water".

i was like ok.
next morning i let the water run for like 10 min .. .10 min from both pipes and still no hot water.
another member of our team had the same issue.

the worst part is, they are still make those rooms available for booking without resolving the issue. am never going to stay at a hampton again.

Room Tip: if you end up booking at this hotel for reasons like mine, i would suggest you call them ahead and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    156
    75
    52
    29
See reviews for
213
72
36
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
251 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Not a great neighborhood and hotel is run down. Appears that Hampton attempted to upgrade, but still an old hotel. Breakfast was not put out at the identified time. We were on a bus tour and needed to leave at a particular time, but hotel staff did not have the buses loaded on time which delayed our departure by nearly 30 minutes. Would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad062_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The front desk staff at the Hampton, in Norfolk were efficient and accommodating. I had arrived in Norfolk, two hours earlier than, my scheduled check in. Even with a local college basketball tournament in town, they were still able to accommodate, my early check in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gracet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was a nice room but the heating system was very loud. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. There isnt a lot of space to eat breakfast but the food was okay. It was located in a great area with lots around you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 549nataliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was visiting my brother at Norfolk Naval Station and this hotel was perfect. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure my stay was perfect. The breakfast was awesome. They had a wide range of options; cereal, eggs, home fries, sausage, yogurt, bagels. The indoor pool area was very nice and quite; its too bad they have recently filled in the hot tub. The only problem I had on my four day stay was the showers took a while to get warm water. I noticed when I was checking out that a company was their to fix the problem. This hotel is within a mile from the Naval Base and probably 15 minutes from Downtown Norfolk!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jatracy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great hotel and staff very accommodating. I had family come into town and the staff went out there way to make sure their stay was comfortable, I will definitely use this hotel againfor many reasons. I am in the hospitality business and like this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is in a convenient location to the Navy Base, the staff college, and Fleet Forces Command. It has all the necessary amenities, a pool, and a very good complimentary breakfast. It makes an excellent business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ernest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
6.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
11.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing