We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“awesome stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
why, United States
1 review
“awesome stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

this hotel is great!!!!!!!! at check in Penny and the person she was training did a fantastic job and was very professional and made me feel very welcomed to the property!!!!!!!!!! the breakfast is AWESOME considering its free, they have hot items and MANY, MANY other things to choose from. the staff is GREAT

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    133
    66
    47
    25
See reviews for
181
65
34
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel and room were very clean. The breakfast was the BEST continental I've ever seen- eggs, bacon, french toast sticks, waffle maker, oatmeal with toppings, a variety of fruit and yogurt and the list goes on! My only complaint is that the beds were a little lumpy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWARK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was extremely clean, king size bed was comfortable, house keeping was good as well as people who worked at the service desk. Breakfast was good, nice pool. My son had a room with a jacuzzi in it, he loved it. Very convenient location to navy base, fast food restaurants and grocery store right next to hotel. Money well spent staying there.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have refrigerators and microwaves, hotel will accommodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metuchen,nj
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Easy to travel from to go to local places. All employees were extremely polite and helpful. Somewhat dated but totally acceptable. Note that pool is off front entrance and open to viewing by anyone walking into hotel. Breakfast was fully stocked constantly. Only one elevator but no long waits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayo622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was in a very convenient location and had every amenity I needed (fitness center, business center with working printer, full breakfast) for a trip near NOB Norfolk or Ward's Corner, and near downtown Norfolk. Short walk to a good Thai restaurant and lots of fast food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank rpjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is right next to the naval base and close to the airport, but the location is questionable and the roads to get there from the highways go through questionable neighborhoods. The lobby was a little dated and the hallway had a large whole in the ceiling and elevator was questionable. Room had a bit of a smell. Hilton properties still very happy with, just not happy with this one

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff was excellent. Very helpful customer service. Building needs some work. Overall great stay, but fix the elevator and get some A/C pumping into the humid hallways. The front desk clerk went out of his way to secure a micro fridge and microwave for my room (I called ahead). Also, one of the most friendly staffs I have encountered in a long time (I stay in hotels frequently for work).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing