We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby, sketchy neighborhood, old building.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice lobby, sketchy neighborhood, old building.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is an old motel building that has been updated. The WIFI in my 1st room was broken, and I told the hotel staff repeatedly, and they did not seem to know about it every time. The thermostats were broken in both rooms I stayed in. These are basic rooms, bed, desk, tv, and bathroom. The rooms I was in were quiet. The ice makers on each floor worked correctly. There is a small indoor pool, and small limited workout room. There is a shared computer in the lobby available to guests. THe breakfast is standard Hampton breakfast which is good. The neighborhood is not a good neighborhood to be out by oneself alone at night. Panhandlers came up to my car in the motel parking lot when I pulled in during early evening, and the panhandlers were aggressively asking for money blocking my exit from my car, so I had to give them money to get rid of them, so I could get out and get into the motel. Other than that, the front desk service was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitikata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNNB, General Manager at Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences. I sincerely apologize for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. I've worked with our security team to ensure that issues like yours are not repeated in the future. Our guests' comfort and safety is our number one priority here and again I apologize for the issues. Thank you again for your honest feedback and hopefully you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    163
    80
    52
    30
See reviews for
229
76
37
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is nice and full of lovely and friendly staff members that truly make you feel like you are apart of the family. I always stay here when I am in the hampton roads area. The staff here always goes above and beyond I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNNB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I'd like to personally thank you for taking a moment to fill out a review of the Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base. Your positive words are greatly appreciated! Service is an art that is often forgotten in our hectic lives and I am glad to hear that our staff had enough of an effect on you to inspire this review. We may not be able to control the age of the hotel or the buildings that surround us, however we can always make sure that you are treated respectfully and courteously. We look forward to having you visit us again.

Barbara Barrington
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We traveled down to the naval base to see our son's ship come in and this hotel was fine for that. The room was cleaned daily and the staff were very nice and accomodating. The only problem we had was the handle on the shower had to be put to cold to get hot water and hot to get cold water. It is just down the road from the naval base and other amenities and that is the main reason we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommaof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNNB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Military Homecomings are always such a special event and we are delighted you choose to spend this personal moment at the Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base. Our staff truly enjoys meeting new people and sharing in their experiences and I'm pleased you felt the staff was attentive to your needs.

I also want to thank you also for your gracious review and your feedback. The Chief Engineer remembers receiving a maintenance ticket for the shower and has already made that repair.

We look forward to seeing you in Norfolk again soon.

Barbara Barrington
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

close proximity to everything in Norfolk, Barbara and the staff there are very eager to satisfy. The Norfolk Naval Base gates are just about in the back door so you are very close to getting on to the Norfolk Naval Base. Barbara and the staff have always been courteous and helpful to me every time I have to go to the naval base.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjo1638663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was travelling for business and could not find a hotel in downtown Norfolk, but this was located close enough. It was however, next to a lot of power lines, and the entrance /exit was a bit tricky during times of high traffic. The breakfast was very good, with lots of choices.
There was nothing spectacular about this particular place. My room was clean, decent ammentities. The desk person was nice on check-in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, PA
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am a business traveler for a large Corp. I needed to meet a naval officer returning from a mission. So proximity to the naval station was excellent. This property was clean and well managed. I even made a special request that was met with efficiency and a great attitude. I get tired of travelers punishing good hotels in their classes for not being the Ritz-Carlton. If you want a luxury hotel, pay for one. This hotel is fine for its price and class

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSUtraveler_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNNB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. As always, it is our goal to provide the best service and quality to our guests. When traveling we know that you have options and we appreciate you selecting the Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base. I always like to pass along good news and would like to let you know that hopefully by your next visit you will notice several new upgrades to the property, which will included higher bandwidth making our internet faster, and a complete renovation to be completed early 2014. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Barbara Barrington
Assistant General Manager/Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are visiting a family member stationed at Norfolk Naval Base or is about to be deployed or coming home, this is the place to stay just because of its locaiton.

The rooms were not clean--we found a pile of hair on the bathroom floor when we arrived and one half of the room carpet had not been vacuumed.
The housekeeper did not change the sheets or pillow cases as we requested but merely took them off and put them back on. We wanted new sheets and pillow cases because my didn't feel well.
The housekeeper also didn't thoroughly clean the bathroom, took the old soup and didn't leave any new soap, did not leave toiler paper or kleenex.

We got fresh sheets and pillow cases from another housekeeper and put them on ourselves. We also got more tp, kleenex and soap. So, a little self help and we were good to go.
Breakfast was ok -- the eggs were weird--kinda industrial lumps-- but the blueberry muffins were terrific.

Very very comfortable beds---just need clean sheets!

Security lock on the east outside door to the hotel was missing so no security in and out of the hotel. Have to ask why?

BUT, great location. We were on the base within minutes and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNNB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We're so lucky to have had the opportunity to serve you for such an important occasion and am glad you found the location convenient for getting to the Naval base. However, we want you to enjoy more than just the location. Service consistency and clean, comfortable rooms should be just a few of the many great experiences you have. I can assure you that your concerns regarding the housekeeping and poor service have been addressed. In fact, Hilton Worldwide has approved our renovation plans and we expect a complete remodel within then next 12 months. I am curious about the security issue, as the East facing door is our front entrance, which remains unlocked until the night hours. We hope that if you find yourself in Norfolk again, you'll think of us. We'd love to hear what you think of our improvements and would be happy to help make your next event even more special.

Best Wishes,
Barbara Barrington
Director of Sales
barbara.barrington@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
5.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Norfolk Virginia Beach
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
6.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing