We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bath” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    63
    57
    112
See reviews for
132
52
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I tried to get something cheap, close to the ocean and I did. Problem is this place was worth much less than the advertised price. When we walked in my wife saw fecal material on the toilet seat. The carpet and bedding was fair, but when a roach fell off the ceiling onto my wife that was it. This place is in a cheaper end of town and the other guests looked like drunks and hookers hanging out in folding chairs on the balcony. Police were in the parking lot when we arrived. My wife went down to tell the clerk we were leaving and she gave us our refund, but by time we went to check out the shift had changed and the gentleman we tried to talk to did not understand us and we couldn't understand him. I almost never write a bad review, you can check, so take this as a warning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a sincerely apology for your stay and the events described in your review. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deodorized between guests but in this case it would appear that we may not have achieved success. If you would like to call the hotel and speak to me directly I would like to further learn from your experience and invite you to visit us later this season and offer us a chance to redeem ourselves in your mind. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We reserved a non-smoking room, arrived at 1:15am and was given a smoking room with both locks on door broken. Desk manager was not accomodating. Would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to put the comment. Sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay, you had mde the reservation thru hotels.com and they had book the smoking room. And the lock you are talking about is not the lock was a latch and that was not broken it was safety latch and it will crack open the door not all the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norfolk hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
4.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#21 of 37 in Norfolk
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sleep Inn  Lake Wright
Sleep Inn Lake Wright
#20 of 37 in Norfolk
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
2.0 mi away
The Bay Inn
The Bay Inn
#15 of 37 in Norfolk
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay

Property: Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay
Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing