We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Reviewed July 22, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank LCO22556
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 400 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We reserved a non-smoking room, arrived at 1:15am and was given a smoking room with both locks on door broken. Desk manager was not accomodating. Would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Let me thank you for taking the time to put the comment. Sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay, you had mde the reservation thru hotels.com and they had book the smoking room. And the lock you are talking about is not the lock was a latch and that was not broken it was safety latch and it will crack open the door not all the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This Super 8 was wonderfully located right next to the ocean! We watched the sunset from the second-floor balcony and took a night beach walk. The beach access is right in the hotel parking lot. The room was well appointed, clean, and well maintained, fitting our family of five easily. The breakfast provided was basic, including carbs, fruits, and yogurts. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on improvement and making guest experience the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an older hotel and the rates are very inexpense. The employees were very nice. If you are looking for an inexpense place close to Virginia Beach and local stores etc. this is the place to stay. It's older but you get what you pay for. No bugs, no problems and a nights sleep! We were able to walk the beach that night it's that close. I would go back for sure! I only wish they allowed pets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on improvement and making guest experience the best it can be. Hope to see you in future when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Zedrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PatelRick, General Manager at Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
5.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Old Dominion University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
2.0 mi away
The Bay Inn
The Bay Inn
#17 of 37 in Norfolk
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay

Address: 1010 West Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-1316 (Formerly Quality Inn Bayview/Naval Base)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Norfolk/Chesapeake Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Norfolk Chesapeake
Super Eight Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing